We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
$107
View deal
Expedia.com$106
Hotels.com$106
Travelocity$106
eDreams$107
Orbitz.com$106
ZenHotels.com$107
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,068)
Filter reviews
1,068 results
Traveller rating
621
330
74
18
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
621
330
74
18
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paul kruger gate sabie river pool deck game drives day safari breakfast and dinner log cabin every morning stayed longer beautiful place out of this world elephants lodge accommodation tents luxury bush
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,068 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2022 via mobile

Yet another return to the one favorite places sharing it with the Sabine River,we’re animals come totally uninvited. The unique staff are always ensuring you enjoy the hospitality weather your there for one night or a week, food is fresh, good, perfect. Don’t miss out on this slice of Africa.

Room tip: There’s always good, different options to suit your requirements, but book early and don’t miss out.
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kloffusjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 November 2022

The Lodge is small and very nice.
From the Pool Area we could see Hippos in the river, as well as Elephants passing by.

Amazing Place with good food, friendly staff and nice Tents which give you some Safari Feeling (we had Tent Nr.4)

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mayer_Manuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 November 2022

After reading so many great reviews about this property before booking and after seeing its high rating, my family and I were sorely disappointed with our stay at Sabie River Bush Lodge.
The issues began right from them not answering the phone when we tried to call several times for enquiries before booking and finally we would get a response to our emails after 2-3 days! We were four adults, including my husband and I and his aged parents and we had booked for 3 nights from September 21-24, 2022.
Despite requesting for vegetarian meals for his parents, every single night, we had to go and remind the kitchen staff about it again - and on the last night of our stay, they completely forgot to prepare a vegetarian meal for him, despite reassuring us they would earlier - so he was forced to have only the sides from the other mains for dinner. The dinner and breakfast menu was also very limited – one night we were forced to choose between game meat and pork - both of which we don't eat.
We had also booked a full-day safari with the property, which included a voucher for lunch - however, the guide was not informed about this at all and we had to pay for our own meal, despite it being included in the cost earlier (we were later paid the amount in cash when we complained at the reception on returning, but it was disappointing that there was zero communication between the lodge and the field guides they send with guests) - and of course when the field guide tried to call them while we were on the game drive to ask about the voucher, they never picked up the phone (again)!
Despite booking as a family, with two rooms - one room was much smaller than the other and both rooms were so far apart. Our room was not cleaned daily either, neither were we given fresh towels daily and there was no extra soap provided either, despite staying for three nights. We had to physically go to the reception every time we needed anything and ask them several times for towels and such, which they would take ages to bring to our room - there is no phone to call the reception. We were also not provided with any drinking water.
During the day, the only lunch options available are two kinds of salads or two kinds of sandwiches, despite them saying they have a restaurant which works all day! And this is all despite paying a huge sum of money for our stay totalling nearly R 18,000!!
The only good thing about the lodge is that they wash all the guests' cars daily, which was much appreciated and the staff are courteous and friendly, even if not efficient. Definitely NOT returning or recommending this property to anyone else!

Room tip: Please don't book this property if you are travelling as a family or have any vegetarians in your group.
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 811berylm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 November 2022

We spend the last night of our Kruger trip at Sabie River Bush Lodge and it was another nice stay with friendly people, good food and the hippo sound in the background. We looking forward to our next trip and stay at Sabie River Bush Lodge

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Riccardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 31 October 2022

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in Oct 22 having booked a package direct off their website. As has been noted the lodge is not actually inside the Kruger National park but does overlook the Sabie River which forms the park boundary, this might be a problem if you wanted to do early morning game drives or walks in the park. As we had booked a further 4 nights at park rest camps this didn't matter for us. Our "luxury river front bush tent" was just that - comfortable, clean, air-conditioned with inside and outside shower and a fantastic view over the river and into the park, form our quite private viewing platform we were able to spot wildlife in the river and in the park - not just limited to the Hippos. Staff were friendly and helpful, food was good - nothing special but more than adequate for this price point, our driver/guide, Morello was knowledgeable and seemed well respected by other guides,. on one morning game drive he showed us all of Africa's "big 5" and more. Overall we're very pleased with the place and would certainly recommend.

Room tip: we had tent 5 - it's a little further from the restaurant and pool areas than some others but good for privacy and peace
Date of stay: October 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews