We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice half day”
Review of Elephant Sanctuary

Elephant Sanctuary
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We did half day there and it was just fun to learn about the elephants, do some stuff with them and to have the opportunity to really experience them.
The staff there was great and kind and we really recommend to visit this place for people that simply love animals :)

Thank עדי ה
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tongue"
in 13 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 20 reviews
"one at a time"
in 3 reviews
"these gentle giants"
in 11 reviews
"these beautiful creatures"
in 6 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 9 reviews
"whole experience"
in 9 reviews
"close encounter"
in 5 reviews
"love elephants"
in 5 reviews
"african elephants"
in 7 reviews
"take pictures"
in 7 reviews
"educational experience"
in 4 reviews
"small group"
in 3 reviews
"whole family"
in 4 reviews
"early morning"
in 3 reviews
"south africa"
in 4 reviews
"kiss"
in 23 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to this attraction because it is a sanctuary. The two elephants we met had been rescued. They have become friends and cannot be separated. It was so much fun to see their behaviours and walk with them. They have learned to trust those who work with them and have as close as possible way to live their lives there. Lots of land. Not like being in the wild but better then some places where forced to do tricks and chained most of the time. Sad in a way but better than being rode and in circuses.

Thank 368donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The elephant sanctuary in Hazyview is a little haven for the elephants that have been rescued. Both Kasper & Kitso have found a place to call home where they are safe.

Thank naeemc1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryManagerHazy, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us.
We are pleased that you came to visit and share in the experience with our gentle giants.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a walking and interactive experience. The ranger was very informative and it was a pleasure to interact with the two resident male elephants.

Thank Iain_Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryManagerHazy, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Day

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with our two boys.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2018

So good to get up and close to the Elephants with an explanation of their anatomy and their habits. So big and yet so gentle. Well worth a visit.

Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryManagerHazy, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Good day.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us.
We are pleased to hear that you had an amazing experience with our gentle giants.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elephant Sanctuary also viewed

 
Hazyview, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Elephant Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing