We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 133
US$ 129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 196
US$ 177
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreamfields Guesthouse(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$ 113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thulamela(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$ 103
US$ 97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rissington Inn(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$ 88
US$ 83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 294
US$ 227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 58% below average rates

The price you found is 58% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 546/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hippo Hollow Country Estate(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$ 170
US$ 144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Highgrove House(Hazyview)
US$ 320
US$ 228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 268/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sanbonani Resort(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$ 72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 21/07
US$ 344
US$ 294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
12
3
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
3
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed at Rock-a-Bye at the start of our holiday, using it as a convenient base to visit Blyde River Canyon and Kruger Park. The owner was really friendly and helpful, providing us with maps and advice on trips and restaurants when we arrived. Breakfasts were served out on the deck looking over the beautiful grounds, and were delicious with lots of choice. We were told when we booked that we'd get a packed breakfast on Sunday, and ended up being given so much food it lasted for both breakfast and lunch! The rooms are really cool and it was nice to have the kitchen area. As one of the other reviewers noted, they're round so the bathroom doesn't have a door but is tucked round the back behind a partition wall. It was pretty private and didn't bother us. The only thing which was slightly annoying was that the owner's many dogs barked a lot during the day - although not at night so it didn't keep us up.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tori010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My friend and I stayed at Rock-a-Bye at the end of our South African vacation. The location is beautiful with lovely grounds, perfect for a nice walk. It’s a working farm, so the presence of a few cows, sheep and numerous friendly dogs just adds to the charm. Breakfast is served outside, on the deck of the main house. The breakfast was very filling and tasty and the view from the patio was a great way to start the morning. A garage is also provided for overnight parking. The rooms were nice and clean, but a word of warning: there is NO door to the bathroom in the Rondavels. The wall just curves around a bit and there you go. The walls don’t go all the way up to the ceiling either. This might be fine for some, but we prefer a greater degree of privacy and found this layout awkward and uncomfortable. We booked this accommodation based on the Tripadvisor reviews, so we were surprised none of the other reviewers mentioned the lack of a bathroom door. Perhaps we Americans are accustomed to more bathroom privacy. Fortunately for us, we were the only guests and were able to pay a little extra for the use of another rondavel.
The Ant & Elephant restaurant is a short drive down the road and it didn’t disappoint. The food was great with reasonable prices (highly recommend the French Onion Soup). It was a great last dinner in South Africa.
Overall, it’s an affordable and convenient place to stay, with a beautiful location and easy access to Kruger.

Room Tip: The rondavels are lovely, but the bathroom doesn't have a door.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Layla1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We booked Rock-a-Bye B&B for the 9th February 2012, after searching the internet for a convenient stopover before heading into the Kruger National Park for 10 days. The proximity to Hazyview from Hartbeespoort Dam, then on to the Paul Kruger entrance made this an appealling option. We booked a rondavel self-catering, which we did not use as we went to a nearby resturant, the Ant and Elephant for dinner, recommended by Warren, the owner of Rock-a-bye. We enjoyed the meal and being less than 5kms away we could indulge in a few pre-dinner drinks.
We were warmly welcomed by Warren and shown to our accomodation. The room was very clean and comfy. The beds ensured a good nights sleep, before an early full breakfast provided by Lynda. Then it was off to the Kruger Park. Thank you to Warren and Lynda for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cramSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Rock a bye Bed and Breakfast consists of several lodges stashed away in the bush. We had the self-catering cottage on the left (when entering) with a private garage and (very small) pool. The cottage is very spacious (two bedrooms, dining room, living room, outside deck on the first floor) Shortage of kitchen utensils, blunt knives and a smudged oven are not very inviting to execute the self catering concept we had in mind. Also a bit worn and torn with large stains in table cloths and on chairs. The pool was filled with leaves and dead (large) insects which does not feel as a warm welcome. The outside shower on the first floor was great. Night life in terms of screaming and yelling animals too. We had an overnight staying gang of monkeys who thought walking on the roof was the best way to wake us up. All 'n all it wasn't that bad and it gives easy access to the Kruger.

Room Tip: This cottage is suitable for a large family
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DouweMinkema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed there in January 2012, the units were great, all clean and well equipped. Breakfast in the morning with the view from the deck was a nice touch. Value for money and I will be hard pressed staying anywhere else again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wenzel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews