We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and clean to stay a night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Polokwane
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Good room, clean amenities, working well for a quick stay-over for a night. Certainly not a holiday destination or resort, but very good for an overnight stay for travellers. I battled to get the WiFi going and information provided does not match actual encountered. Second storey room with stairs access only was against the request I made during booking.

Room Tip: Get a room facing West, away from the highway. Also double check that you get mobility preference re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jaycee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Protea Hotel by... P, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Jaycee K,

Thank you for your feedback, it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued GUEST's.

We truly appreciate your kind words on the property. It's definitely great when we receive positive reviews such as this, and know that we were able to assist our GUEST's.

We have taken measures to ensure that you do not receive an unpleasant experience again, with the WiFi nor allocated room on your next stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon!

Best Regards,
Anthony Da Silva
General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark
T: (015) 225 8100 | F: (015) 225 8236

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2017

I live in hotels 365 nights a year as I travel year round. I am a (young) retired professional, originally from Sydney, Australia.

Throughout my life of travelling over 34 years, I have visited over 126 countries ( only 70 to go ) and have stayed in hotels from backpacker level, to so-called 6 star hotels and everything in between. Currently, I am a Diamond member of Hilton and Best Western. I am a Gold Member with Starwood, Marriott and IHG. I am a member of Choice and Wyndham. I mostly choose these chains so I can build status with them which of course gives me additional benefits like upgrades and additional points.

I like reviewing hotels on Trip Advisor, because TA is the first place I resource before I make a booking.

But it was taking a crazy amount of time doing detailed reviews so I have decided to streamline it into specific categories. I have rated each category 1- 5.

1 being “Appalling" through 5 being "Above expectations". I hope in a small way this helps you in your decision if this hotel is suitable for your own personal circumstances. I am a firm believer in always looking for the good stuff. But when it’s really bad, you need to know. We all need to know.

Always honest. Always fair. Always fair-dinkum.

Location:
4/5 Away from Polokuwane, 8 kms or so.

Check-In:
4/5. Friendly, professional.

Room Number / Room Decor:
#142, drive up motel-style, twin double-beds,

Room:
3/5, average size, old style, but OK

Bed:
3/5, double beds x2, very comfortable

Linen:
4/5, White doona and sheets, very fresh and new, towels medium size, bit old

Storage:
3/5, one cupboard

Safe:
2/5, had a safe but couldn't use it

Room Cleanliness:
2/5 Left a bit to be desired, not detailed, but liveable

TV:
3/5, Flat screen, 20 or so channels including Sky UK

Wi-Fi:
2/5, you get 500Mb free per day, and it's very slow. SLOW SLOW SLOW.

Desk space:
4/5. Had a massive desk which is great if you want to be on your electronics

Power points:
1/5, only 1 US style powerpoint apart from local style, really need to have adaptors for tourists from Europe, Australia etc.

Bathroom:
2/5, Very old, shower head over a bath, very dirty, mould evident

Water pressure:
3/5, Water was reasonable pressure and very hot, nice

Toiletries:
2/5, Standard Protea, no conditioner, but adequate for everything else

Fridge:
1/5, didn't have one

Air-Conditioning:
3/5, an old style wall mounted, noisy at night, but did the job

In-Room Dining:
N/A

Gym:
N/A

Restaurant/s:
N/A

Parking:
4/5, Motel style at your room door, well-lit, free parking

Transportation:
N/A

Security:
5/5, Completely surrounded by security, all guests must check with front gate, felt very safe

Check-Out:
4/5, Quick, professional, friendly

Staff Rating:
4/5, People could not do enough to help and make stay easier

Value for money: 4/5

My Personal Star Rating: Overall a 3/5

Summary:
The rooms are a bit dated but overall I liked it. Staff were very friendly, location out of the city was great, nice quiet area, security superb. Priced just right in my opinion, surprised rooms did not have refrigerators, needs to improve wi-fi speeds, too slow in this day and age, power points are an issue, need more international and nothing I like more than a clean bathroom. Bathroom needed a good scrub.

Room Tip: Any room is probably OK, thee is peripheral traffic noise from the highway outside but hardly notice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robdubluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Protea Hotel by... P, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Dear Robdubluu,

Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We greatly appreciate your comments about each aspect of our property.

It is a pleasure to announce that we will be updating our rooms in the coming year, and much more! Taking great care of our GUEST's is our main priority and to be able to meet and exceed their expectations.

We hope that we can convince you to change your mind about another visit to our property. Please reach out to me directly at gm@phlandmark.co.za if you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around.

It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our new and improved hotel, as soon as it is done!

With much appreciation

Kind Regards,

Anthony Da Silva
General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark
T: (015) 225 8100 | F: (015) 225 8236

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

My mother had her booking messed up in this hotel that left her without a room for the night and had to share a room with a friend. It was a bad situation but the Operational Manager Duran was so helpful the following morning and ensured that her stay was free and breakfast. This is the kind of customer service that I expect when I travel.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Glacier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I was attending a conference at this place. the place itself is kept clean and it looks so beautiful. The pool is kept warm and clean. The conference hall was good looking and the atmosphere was good. The staff is friendly and prepare things in time. The food was delicious. I loved this place and i won't mind going back.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M9196XQchrisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Protea Hotel by... P, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear M9196XQchrisn,

Thank you for your kind review!

We truly appreciate your kind words on the property and service delivery. It's definitely great when we receive positive reviews such as this.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon!

Best Regards,

Anthony Da Silva
General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark
T: (015) 225 8100 | F: (015) 225 8236

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

I went there for Business, which is paid from my account.

Check in for was 14:00, I arrived at 12:00 and they were able to assist me which really helped me.
Staff was great and Unit was clean.
I would definitely use this again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Protea Hotel by... P, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Rafael D,

Thank you for your positve review!

We truly appreciate your kind words on the property and service delivery. It's definitely great when we receive positive reviews such as this, and know that we were able to assist our GUEST's.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon!

Best Regards,
Anthony Da Silva
General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark
T: (015) 225 8100 | F: (015) 225 8236

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Polokwane hotels
15.9 km away
Bolivia Lodge
Bolivia Lodge
#12 of 17 in Polokwane
37 reviews
14.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Ranch Resort
4.0 km away
Town Lodge Polokwane
Town Lodge Polokwane
#5 of 17 in Polokwane
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Polokwane
8.4 km away
Fusion Boutique Hotel
Fusion Boutique Hotel
#3 of 17 in Polokwane
102 reviews
9.3 km away
Mosate Lodge Polokwane
Mosate Lodge Polokwane
#11 of 17 in Polokwane
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark

Address: N1 Northbound | Next to Shell Ultra City, Polokwane 0700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Polokwane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Polokwane
Price Range: ₹ 2,846 - ₹ 4,398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Landmark is a three star hotel, situated 8.2 km South of Polokwane, on the N1 Northbound next to Shell Ultra City. Protea Hotel Landmark has 80 comfortable, spacious rooms of which 75 rooms are double rooms (ideal for family or two people sharing); furnished with two extra length double beds, the other 5 rooms are furnished with a king size extra length bed, and one room is wheelchair accessible. Our air conditioned rooms have, electronic safes, LCD televisions with a bouquet of DSTV channels and an en-suite bathroom with an overhead shower. Ample parking is available on the property.Protea Hotel Landmark has six, air conditioned venues for conferencing, exhibitions, and events such as weddings, graduations, matric farewells as well as year end functions. • Landmark 1 - Seat up to 75 guests cinema style, 70 guests school room style and 60 guests U-shape.• Landmark 2 - Seat up to 75 guests cinema style. 70 guests school room style and 60 guests U-shape.• Landmark one and two can be combined and seat 150 guests cinema style, 130 guests banquet style.• Landmark 3 – Seat up to 50 guest’s cinema style, 40 guest’s school room style and 30 guests U-shape.• Gazebo - can seat up to 235 people cinema style, 140 guests school room and 100 guests U-shape.We serve wholesome meals in the restaurant or on the patio in good weather.Have a drink and relax in our bar after a long day in the office or take a dive in our sparkling blue pool to cool of during hot summer days. Protea Hotel Landmark is out in the countryside, close enough to the city for business but quiet enough to escape from the city. Bring your children and enjoy a relaxing weekend with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing