We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“descent accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Polokwane
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Was given a room with 2 double beds (space too big). There was no stand-alone shower (my preference).I enjoyed the food - complement to the cook
staff was friendly and we resolved the travel agent voucher challenge with ease (9-10 June)
Descent hotel; peaceful and did not regret sleeping in.

Room Tip: Be mindful that the hotel is next to N1 freeway, trucks to Zimbabwe and Botswana pass even at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Majoro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JienieMPC, Marketing Plan Coordinator at Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Dear Majoro P

Thank you for your kind review!

We truly appreciate your kind words on the property and service delivery. It's definitely great when we receive positive reviews such as this. We will be sure to let our chef that he made an impact during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2016

The rooms are spacious, well managed and homely. The room management is excellent and customised for a business traveller. Parking is convenient, close to the hotel door and security is heightened at all times.
Meals are well prepared and the variety caters for all tastes.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tsepom863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JienieMPC, Marketing Plan Coordinator at Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Dear Tsepom863

Thank you for choosing Protea Hotel Landmark for your recent stay in Polokwane.

We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at Protea Hotel Landmark, Polokwane. We are always pleased to be your second home when you're in our area.

Jienie Meiring
Marketing Plan Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

This 3 start hotel is more expensive with drinks and food than any 4 star hotel I ever been to. Service is horrible and the hotel is right between an active railway and the N1 Highway. this causes constant noise and I was overcome by the noise several times especially when the train passes. On the one side a train passes every now and then and on the other side there are almost constantly cars passing on the highway. The noise is disturbing. Very uncomfortable place to stay.

Rooms were not neat and dirty. response from personnel was disappointing. I asked the restaurant one day to make up a lunch box for me and ordered a burger for lunch and an incredible amount which regretted doing. Instead of a burger, I got a patty place between 2 sandwiches of bread, nothing else at an expense that I cannot correctly recall now, but was very expensive. I one evening ordered a coke only find out it was an outrageous price, more that any other place I have been to.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KirstenPTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaRDM, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2016

Dear KristenPTA
As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the discomfort and inconvenience that you experienced during your recent stay. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure that this was an isolated issue that is corrected moving forward.
Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Polokwane.
Sincerely,
CLAUDIA NEL
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

Booked and paid a non-smoking room online. Came there and non-smoking was not available. Waited for them to 'shuffle' rooms around. And finally when we opened our room with our card... there was another couple already sleeping there. And of course no one knew what went wrong where...would not even rate you one!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Desire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinettempc, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Good day Desire,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience that you experienced during your stay.

Thank you for taking our call where we managed to resolve the matter and that you where willing to accept our apology.

We are looking forward in your next stay.

Kind regards;
Reinette van Heerden
Marketing Plan Coordinator


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016

I don't know what people expect from a hotel next to a motorway. That in my books is a Motel, and I have to look at it from that perspective. Yes, the rooms are nothing to write home about but everything works and is functional. The bed I found very good, as were the pillows, and check-in and check-out were smooth. I didn't hear any traffic noise at night, I found it rather quiet to be honest. And the on-site restaurant, while it has a bit of an end of days atmosphere when it is empty, gave me an amazingly good burger at very reasonable prices. Breakfast was good, good selection and all tasty and well prepared. Ah, no filtered coffee which is a big no no for me but then it is a Motel and all is relative....

Room Tip: I preferred the first floor room, and the ones further away from the motorway (the higher numbers) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Volker H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinettempc, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Good day Volker H,

Thank you for your feedback of our hotel.

We are also pleased to inform you that since your stay we have done many upgrades to the hotel.

We can not wait to show you on your next stay.

Kind regards;

Reinette van Heerden
Marketing Plan Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Polokwane hotels
15.9 km away
Bolivia Lodge
Bolivia Lodge
#11 of 18 in Polokwane
40 reviews
14.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Ranch Resort
7.5 km away
Town Lodge Polokwane
Town Lodge Polokwane
#5 of 18 in Polokwane
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Polokwane
8.4 km away
Fusion Boutique Hotel
Fusion Boutique Hotel
#3 of 18 in Polokwane
108 reviews
9.3 km away
Mosate Lodge Polokwane
Mosate Lodge Polokwane
#9 of 18 in Polokwane
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark

Address: N1 Northbound | Next to Shell Ultra City, Polokwane 0700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Polokwane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Polokwane
Price Range: ₹ 3,189 - ₹ 4,528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Landmark is a three star hotel, situated 8.2 km South of Polokwane, on the N1 Northbound next to Shell Ultra City. Protea Hotel Landmark has 80 comfortable, spacious rooms of which 75 rooms are double rooms (ideal for family or two people sharing); furnished with two extra length double beds, the other 5 rooms are furnished with a king size extra length bed, and one room is wheelchair accessible. Our air conditioned rooms have, electronic safes, LCD televisions with a bouquet of DSTV channels and an en-suite bathroom with an overhead shower. Ample parking is available on the property.Protea Hotel Landmark has six, air conditioned venues for conferencing, exhibitions, and events such as weddings, graduations, matric farewells as well as year end functions. • Landmark 1 - Seat up to 75 guests cinema style, 70 guests school room style and 60 guests U-shape.• Landmark 2 - Seat up to 75 guests cinema style. 70 guests school room style and 60 guests U-shape.• Landmark one and two can be combined and seat 150 guests cinema style, 130 guests banquet style.• Landmark 3 – Seat up to 50 guest’s cinema style, 40 guest’s school room style and 30 guests U-shape.• Gazebo - can seat up to 235 people cinema style, 140 guests school room and 100 guests U-shape.We serve wholesome meals in the restaurant or on the patio in good weather.Have a drink and relax in our bar after a long day in the office or take a dive in our sparkling blue pool to cool of during hot summer days. Protea Hotel Landmark is out in the countryside, close enough to the city for business but quiet enough to escape from the city. Bring your children and enjoy a relaxing weekend with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing