We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a lifetime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Myself and my partner have travelled fairly extensively and we were both unbelievably impressed with the reserve, staff and the entire experience at Elandela Game Reserve. Throughout the trip we were totally spoiled and were thoroughly looked after at all times. This place is absolutely amazing and I would recommend it to any couples looking for a safari holiday that has a personalised touch.

Food
Never have we eaten so well for so many consecutive meals. The food was absolutely amazing for all meals and you could see that the chef- Kovas (apologies for spelling?!) took utmost pride in the presentation and combination of foods and flavours for every meal. Both breakfast and dinner consisted of various courses that were really well thought out and delicious! The staff even laid out breakfast one morning under the marquee by the pool and on another evening laid on a barbeque, which was spectacular. Out of all of the meals and courses that were served we enjoyed every single one of them and could not find fault with both the quality and quantity of food offered during our stay! We both really missed the food upon our return!

Accommodation
The rooms were spacious, tastefully decorated, comfortable and cleaned regularly throughout the day. They had every amenity you could require such as aircon, hairdryer, powerful shower, etc.

It was a wonderful experience being able to hear the lion’s roar in the morning and evening and wake up to see giraffes walking not far from our room to get to one of the watering holes that our room overlooked.

Experience
On every game drive we saw many animals and the experienced informative guides (Jacques, Coleman and Chantelle) ensured we had a varied experience on every drive. If you mentioned that you wanted to see a particular animal they would do their best to track that animal. What was particularly interesting to see was the difference between the way the animals behaved on the reserve compared to at Kruger National Park; at the Reserve the animals behaved inquisitively towards the vehicle and ran a little distance away if you got too close, compared to at Kruger National Park where the animals barely react to the cars that stop near them due to the frequency of visitors at Kruger. It was good to see the animals behaving naturally at Elandela and at no point did this hinder us from being able to photograph the animals in a more natural environment.

On our stay we were even invited to feed the baby rhinos, who were sadly orphaned due to poachers. You can see that the owner Yvonne and the guide Jacques are really passionate about protecting these endangered animals and are doing an amazing job at caring for these rhinos and raising awareness of the extent of the poaching problem. Feeding the rhinos was a particularly special experience for us.

We always say that its not usually the big things that makes your stay special but the added thoughtful touches that can really make your experience complete. Elandela do this by providing warm towels and a drink upon returning from a game drive, by providing various drinks during the game drive- including a champagne to enjoy whilst watching the sunset over a watering hole, and we even arrived back from dinner one night to a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolates in our room. All of these added touches made our experience amazing.

Overall the experience at Elendala is one of a luxiourious resort but with a homely and personal touch- a balance that I can imagine is extremely hard to achieve but Elandela does with perfection.

Thank you so much to all of the staff who made our stay at Elandela truly one of the most special experiences of our lives. We would love to come back one day, maybe even for our honeymoon!

Claire and Matt, UK.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    37
    17
    7
    9
See reviews for
92
191
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012

What an amazing place! You are treated like royalty!! The owners, the staff, all top notch! The game drive is exceptional, the animals we saw were amazing! The highlight for me was being able to touch and bottle feed the baby rhino!!! The room we had was tastefully decorated, it was surreal lying in bed, listening to the lions roar, it felt like they were outside the bedroom! We awoke to the sounds of baboons barking, we watched them playing in the trees from our patio! What more could you ask for! We saw the white lion lying about 5 metres away from the car! I wish i could've stayed longer!!! Thanks to Rocco and Yvonne for the experience of a lifetime, it was unforgettable and we will be back!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which was ideal as we had 2 children with us had a good view of the morning babo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I have visited a half dozen game reserves throughout Southern Africa and Elandela is the best in terms of comfort and service. The staff were very friendly and informative, especially Jacques and Coleman. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the grounds are immaculate and tasteful. The only drawback was small lunches. I burn a lot of calories in the heat, so I would like bigger meals.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandersnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We spent 3 nights at Elandela in November 2011 and were treated as though we were special, all of the staff, bar none, were determined to make our stay there pleasant and enjoyable. During our stay my husband was feeling ill and genuine concern was shown to us both so that we did not feel as though we were a nuisance. Although our stay was short we will remember it forever.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilymary99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed at Elandela Lodge in mid December.Our stay was fantastic in every way.Rocco and Yvonne picked us up and our guides Jaques and Juan were great.The staff at Elandela made us feel completely at home.Thank you Rocco and Yvonne for your hospitality.Reval and Cristina

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reval11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
14.0 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
398 reviews
10.7 km away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
189 reviews
217.3 km away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#52 of 174 in Kruger National Park
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 km away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
103 reviews
12.5 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
615 reviews
35.1 km away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#1 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elandela Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elandela Private Game Reserve

Property: Elandela Private Game Reserve
Address: Casketts KU 65 Portion 35, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 174 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 30,548 - ₹ 47,940
Hotel Class:4 star — Elandela Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elandela Lodge is an owner managed Private Game Lodge adjacent to Kruger National Park.This is big 5 country and we offer you opportunities to view African wild life and bird life from up close! Very Private Elandela Game Reserve has no incursions from other game drive vehicles and this makes for undisturbed game viewing! The Elandela free roaming White Lion prides - in the area from whence all White Lions originate - as well as our project to care for young Rhino orphans, allow our visitors an unique opportunity to experience an environment where animals are all important. Elandela is fast becoming famous for incredibly relaxed Leopard sightings! Elandela Lake View and Elandela River View Lodges are sculptured on the game rich banks of the Klaserie River and offers spectacular sunset views of the nearby Blyde River Canyon! Our 20 different rooms cater for all different tastes, demands and pockets. The purpose designed River View Family Rooms, with more beds per room and huge lawns, confirm our child friendly reputation! For the discerning adult visitor Elandela Lake View Lodge offers immaculate and luxurious Honeymoon Suites with five star quality and comfort. The Deluxe Suites are priced in between the Honeymoon and Standard Suites but all rooms receive the same warm, friendly, Elandela service! The mouthwatering fine dining cuisine and traditional Boma barbecues are prepared from the freshest local in-season produce! Included in your stay of two days or longer is one free afternoon visit to adjacent world famous Kruger National Park. Elandela Lodge is the right choice for those visitors who have game viewing and a love for nature as deciding factor to determine their South African photo safari destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Elandela Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elandela Private Game Reserve Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing