We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We loved this lodge. The hospitality and service levels rivalled the best we have had - and we have been to many so called '5 Star' lodges. The food was superb and the service excellent. Our only disappointment was that we had only booked for one night!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    32
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
105
185
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Outstanding service, food and game drives. Great location. We were there just before the rainy season (before the bugs) which suited me just fine! Dani was an outstanding ranger, Sean has the perfect demeanor as a manager, and the food - I can't say enough about how superior the food was. But of course, the reason why we go there is for the game and they did not disappoint. Dani was so knowledgeable and he loves sharing it about the big animals, the birds, the trees and vegetation, even the frogs and bugs. What a great experience!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rene b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Wow! What a place. I'm a bit lost for words as this place exceeded our expectations. Sean and Shelley were wonderful hosts at this lodge and made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. It is simply amazing to be able to gaze out upon the wildlife ranging in the savannah just outside your very private, separate hut. Sean was both our host and an exceptional driver too who really knew his stuff about the African wild life and his way around a 4x4. The wonderful thing about this place, aside from the wonderful setting was that the staff seemed to truly enjoy their jobs at this place and the service matched such an attitude. I know we will all never forget our experience at Lukimbi and are full of amazement for the amount of wildlife we witnessed, seeing lions at a kill was a highlight and not to forget the rarity of finding a cheetah and her cub! I would recommend this lodge to any who are seeking to stay in the Kruger National Park for a safari.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aar0n76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

From the moment of our arrival till the morning we left, everything was perfection. Sean and Shelley and the entire staff were warm and welcoming, and very professional. Our room (actually a separate hut) was luxurious to say the least--private pool and outdoor shower, amazing game viewing from the virtual wall of windows looking out onto the bush, excellent bed, and gorgeous bathroom. The food and ambience of the dining room was lovely.

The moment we arrived, we saw elephants in the water just metres away from the lodge itself. Our ranger, Zane, was knowledgeable about every aspect of the animals (and plants, which was a nice surprise) and very friendly and approachable both during and after the drives. Hot water bottles and blankets were appreciated on the cold mornings, as well as moist towels upon our return.

Overall, this was an incredible experience, and we intend to go back at another time of year to see how different it will look when green. (We were there at the end of winter).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eskygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lux
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We spent 2 days at Idube and 2 days at Lukimbi. Both lodges are fantastic. Idube has the best game view and Lukimbi the best location for elephants and rhinos and because of the close river also for hippos and crocos!

In both lodges we had great ranger and tracker and in both lodges we got wonderful meals and a very special and individual service! Both teams are very nice and smiling all day!

Our stay at Lukimbi and Idube was definitively one of the most impressive we ever had!

I suggest to stay first 2 nights at Lukimbi and then move to Idube!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto_Beltramini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,595 reviews
0.0 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
372 reviews
0.0 km away
Idube Game Reserve Lodge
Idube Game Reserve Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#24 of 171 in Kruger National Park
534 reviews
0.0 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
208 reviews
0.0 km away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lukimbi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lukimbi Safari Lodge

Property: Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Address: | Malelane Area, Kruger National Park 1320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 49,229 - ₹ 63,998
Hotel Class:5 star — Lukimbi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lukimbi Safari Lodge is a stunning luxury safari lodge situated in the easily accessible southern portion of the Kruger National Park, South Africa. Kruger is home to the Big Five and a wide variety of other animals and birds, which roam freely in their natural habitat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Lukimbi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lukimbi Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing