We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jock Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$ 1,062
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$ 781
US$ 764
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$ 2,359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
US$ 2,089
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$ 997
US$ 743
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (617)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveller rating
548
53
10
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
548
53
10
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsday bedplunge pooloutdoor showerour honeymoongame drivesthe riverdry river bedevening drivewild dogshis knowledgewake up callamazing experienceprivate concessionspot animalshigh teablack rhinowonderful memories
Filter
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 617 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed for three nights in former Little Jock (they changed the name to Fitzpatrick) and it was just amazing. We had great game drives with Dave, who was Ranger and property Manager in one person and he did it absolutely great. There are just three rooms with totally 6 guests and the staff gave you the feeling to be one big family. The food was absolutely great and the rooms very comfortable with a wonderful terrace with spectacular views to the river, sometimes you could see Buffalos and Elephants.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelfreek1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Jock for my 40th birthday. We were there for 6 nights on a deal that I bought through Jetsetter. This was simply one of the best holidays ever! We arrived and they had a bottle of wine and a birthday card waiting in our room. We went on our first drive that day and saw 4 of the Big 5 in just about 30 mins out of the gate. When we got back for dinner they sang me Happy Birthday and made me a cake. This place is pure class! I cannot possibly say enough good things about the staff. The rangers are all great people. We had Lyle as ours for the weeks and he is the awesome! We had what many of the other people staying there referred to quickly as the "fun vehicle", because we were all a very laid back group and Lyle was so great at catering to our collective and individual senses of humor. We got very lucky as well and not only saw the Big 5 (several times), but also quite a number of other very rare and hard to find creatures including 5 of the Secret 7 animals (serval, genet, wildcat, civet and porcupine). The animals just seemed to be coming out of the woodwork for us! It was such a joy and adventure! We got so lucky that the rangers in training and the chef started coming out with us when some of the other guests in our group had left. The other staff, from the spa to the kitchen are all wonderful people! We were so sad to leave and we got a genuine sense that they were sad to see us go. The rooms are excellent and so comfortable. The grounds and the main lodge areas (reception, bar, dining room, and bomas) were wonderfully laid out, clean, and had the most welcoming atmosphere. We'd come back again and again!

Room Tip: I'm not sure that there are any bad rooms. We liked the rooms next to the river (when the river was almost dried up), because you could often see wildlife just walk by.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jedburgh392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent 24 hours here at the beginning of our honeymoon on the way to Mauritius. It was always going to be a bit of a whistle stop tour but it was excellent and definitely worth the money with the 2 included game drives. The accommodation was lovely and in a perfect location - we saw 3 of the Big 5 without even leaving the main deck and the staff were very sweet and helpful. I totally recommend Jock Safari Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katinahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Our visit to Jock was part of a "Retirement" holiday, with Cape Town and Mauritius providing very chunky bookends to our four nights in the Kruger. This was the first time for us in this sort of place, and our memories of our time there are wonderful.
I will admit that when we arrived, loaded down by luggage and after a flight from Cape Town and then a long drive to the Lodge, with half an hour before our first game drive, we were just a little bit bemused and slightly disorientated, but then on the last morning, after seven wonderful drives, we knew we had been very fortunate to be at Jock.
Other reviewers have spoken about Dave Olsen, one of the rangers at Jock. There are 12 lodges at the main Jock site, 24 people in all, divided into parties of 6, and that party has its own ranger throughout the stay. You have breakfast with him/her, usually dinner as well, so you get to know the ranger very well, and also the other members of your party so long as there are not too many departures, and thus changes of faces, during your own stay. We considered ourselves extremely fortunate to be allocated to Dave. He has an encyclopaedic knowledge, he is passionate about what he does and he is also a very accomplished semi-professional photographer, which for a camera fan like me was great.
You have to understand that a visit to a place like this is about the game drives. You are up by 5.00 a.m., back for a late breakfast, and then off again by 3.00 p.m., so there isn't much time to change for dinner when you get back: slightly joking there as this is a very informal place! But what you will experience, in a very small party and with a dedicated ranger, is stupendous.
The lodges themselves are not really "luxurious" in the manner of a top 5 star hotel. But they are very comfortable, very private, and cover a lot of ground, with spectacular views. You aren't at Jock for that anyway, although comfort (which you certainly get here) is a bonus. The food is very good, the staff are really friendly, and you are pampered from start to finish, although that pampering does involve making an effort because you won't get the full benefit unless you get yourself involved properly.
For us the highlights of our stay were the evening drives, and stopping in the middle of the bush as the sun went down in a spectacular way, and standing around the truck sipping gin and tonics! Absolute heaven!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter, all the lodges are pretty much the same.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FORRES33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just got back from 4 days at Jock Safari Lodge in the Kruger National Park. A great example of "you get what you pay for". There were 8 of us in the group (4xadults, 4x >12 years olds). Perfect combination of early morning rises, late afternoon tours and mid afternoon gym or siesta's. We had the good fortune to have David as our guide/ranger. He know's his stuff - wildlife, photography...and any other subject of you want to get engaged in a discussion about anything.

Dave educated us, with a passion, not only on the Big 5, but every other bird, reptile, animal, insect or flora that exists in the park - just ask away and he will enjoy the discorse.

Remember you are in the wild, so do not expect up market city hotel style, but do expect the best you can find on safari.

We all loved it and look forward to a similar trip in the not too distant future

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramsay1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews