We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I actually cried when we had to go!!”
Review of Jock Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jock Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I actually cried when we had to go!!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

What can I say? I am in love with Jock Safari Lodge! Five Stars for this lodge for sure and TEN stars for it's staff! Everyone was more than wonderful to us during our six night stay and we enjoyed them for the great personalities they were! Lyle, our guide was humorous and incredibly knowledgeable, testing us at every corner and sharing in our excitement over seeing the Big Five (several times) and even seeing 5 out of the 'Secret Seven'! We were so lucky to see everything we did! Lyle is a true gem and great fun as a guide!! Naomi, the massage therapist was professional and funny to chat with, not to mention the treatments I indulged (tri-scented Shea Butter massage and a mud wrap) in were fantastic! Jayvee (Sp?) was a wellspring of knowledge about the history of the area and a riveting storyteller when he told us about the story of Jock of the Bushveld. We were so riveted, if fact, we even ignored the call to dinner! The buildings at Jock were clean and well laid out, the grounds impeccable and the rooms were beautiful and cozy. Edward, another host to us like Jayvee, treated us like best friends and was genuinely sad to see us go, as I felt from other members of the staff. The food was excellent and the service was divine. Everyone who works at Jock is truly some of the best people we came across on this trip. This was an unforgettable experience that left me a changed human being and I'm going back to my regular life with more understanding, education and a hunger to see more of Africa. Jock Safari Lodge was the shining highlight of our South African trip. I would recommend this wonderful place to anyone and also ask them to be a stowaway in their luggage!!!

Room Tip: It's my understanding that 'Little Jock', a short distance away from the main Jock, is e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muralgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    45
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
137
323
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed for three nights in former Little Jock (they changed the name to Fitzpatrick) and it was just amazing. We had great game drives with Dave, who was Ranger and property Manager in one person and he did it absolutely great. There are just three rooms with totally 6 guests and the staff gave you the feeling to be one big family. The food was absolutely great and the rooms very comfortable with a wonderful terrace with spectacular views to the river, sometimes you could see Buffalos and Elephants.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klagenfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Jock for my 40th birthday. We were there for 6 nights on a deal that I bought through Jetsetter. This was simply one of the best holidays ever! We arrived and they had a bottle of wine and a birthday card waiting in our room. We went on our first drive that day and saw 4 of the Big 5 in just about 30 mins out of the gate. When we got back for dinner they sang me Happy Birthday and made me a cake. This place is pure class! I cannot possibly say enough good things about the staff. The rangers are all great people. We had Lyle as ours for the weeks and he is the awesome! We had what many of the other people staying there referred to quickly as the "fun vehicle", because we were all a very laid back group and Lyle was so great at catering to our collective and individual senses of humor. We got very lucky as well and not only saw the Big 5 (several times), but also quite a number of other very rare and hard to find creatures including 5 of the Secret 7 animals (serval, genet, wildcat, civet and porcupine). The animals just seemed to be coming out of the woodwork for us! It was such a joy and adventure! We got so lucky that the rangers in training and the chef started coming out with us when some of the other guests in our group had left. The other staff, from the spa to the kitchen are all wonderful people! We were so sad to leave and we got a genuine sense that they were sad to see us go. The rooms are excellent and so comfortable. The grounds and the main lodge areas (reception, bar, dining room, and bomas) were wonderfully laid out, clean, and had the most welcoming atmosphere. We'd come back again and again!

Room Tip: I'm not sure that there are any bad rooms. We liked the rooms next to the river (when the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jedburgh392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent 24 hours here at the beginning of our honeymoon on the way to Mauritius. It was always going to be a bit of a whistle stop tour but it was excellent and definitely worth the money with the 2 included game drives. The accommodation was lovely and in a perfect location - we saw 3 of the Big 5 without even leaving the main deck and the staff were very sweet and helpful. I totally recommend Jock Safari Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katinahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Our visit to Jock was part of a "Retirement" holiday, with Cape Town and Mauritius providing very chunky bookends to our four nights in the Kruger. This was the first time for us in this sort of place, and our memories of our time there are wonderful.
I will admit that when we arrived, loaded down by luggage and after a flight from Cape Town and then a long drive to the Lodge, with half an hour before our first game drive, we were just a little bit bemused and slightly disorientated, but then on the last morning, after seven wonderful drives, we knew we had been very fortunate to be at Jock.
Other reviewers have spoken about Dave Olsen, one of the rangers at Jock. There are 12 lodges at the main Jock site, 24 people in all, divided into parties of 6, and that party has its own ranger throughout the stay. You have breakfast with him/her, usually dinner as well, so you get to know the ranger very well, and also the other members of your party so long as there are not too many departures, and thus changes of faces, during your own stay. We considered ourselves extremely fortunate to be allocated to Dave. He has an encyclopaedic knowledge, he is passionate about what he does and he is also a very accomplished semi-professional photographer, which for a camera fan like me was great.
You have to understand that a visit to a place like this is about the game drives. You are up by 5.00 a.m., back for a late breakfast, and then off again by 3.00 p.m., so there isn't much time to change for dinner when you get back: slightly joking there as this is a very informal place! But what you will experience, in a very small party and with a dedicated ranger, is stupendous.
The lodges themselves are not really "luxurious" in the manner of a top 5 star hotel. But they are very comfortable, very private, and cover a lot of ground, with spectacular views. You aren't at Jock for that anyway, although comfort (which you certainly get here) is a bonus. The food is very good, the staff are really friendly, and you are pampered from start to finish, although that pampering does involve making an effort because you won't get the full benefit unless you get yourself involved properly.
For us the highlights of our stay were the evening drives, and stopping in the middle of the bush as the sun went down in a spectacular way, and standing around the truck sipping gin and tonics! Absolute heaven!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter, all the lodges are pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FORRES33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
27.3 km away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
372 reviews
313.1 km away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#56 of 171 in Kruger National Park
139 reviews
37.0 km away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 171 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
312.9 km away
The Outpost
The Outpost
#30 of 171 in Kruger National Park
243 reviews
0.0 km away
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
#13 of 171 in Kruger National Park
394 reviews
30.4 km away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#6 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jock Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jock Safari Lodge

Property: Jock Safari Lodge
Address: Nearest Town Skukuza | Inside Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 2060, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 52,662 - ₹ 81,064
Hotel Class:5 star — Jock Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jock Safari Lodge is nestled where the Mitomeni and Biyamiti rivers flow as one, situated in the South-Western corner of the Kruger National Park. The lodge offers 6,000 hectares of exclusive traversing rights in an area of the park which is celebrated for its big five game viewing. Jock of the Bushveld, the legend that was, served as an inspiration for the aptly namely Jock Safari Lodge. The tale, linked to Sir Percy Fitzpatrick, highlights the canine devotion and stories of African adventures that have excited exploring travellers.Accommodation offered:Main Jock LodgeCarefully screened by lush trees and reed walls, the 12 individual thatched rooms at Jock Safari Lodge, impart a sense of aloneness and oneness with the landscape.Fitzpatrick’s Lodge, offers personal service in an intimate atmosphere. Perfect for small parties and families.The lodge is easily accessible by road, just over 5 hours drive from Johannesburg, or 1 hour Skukuza and 2 hours from Kruger International airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Jock Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jock Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing