We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Holiday of a lifetime !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jock Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jock Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Holiday of a lifetime !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Being a wild life junkie and regular Kruger Park visitor it has always been a dream to visit one of the upmarket private lodges. The wife and I decided to take the expensive plunge - and boy was it worth it ! Superb accommodation with private pool, five star service, great food & wine and a delectable spa experience. From the first moment to the last, there was never a moments disappointment.

Lucky to get the ranger manager, Lazarus as our guide - what a guy ! We saw the big 5 on our first game drive, lions kill a buffalo on day two, and a leopard unsucessfully stalking a family of warthogs on day three. Game viewing in private safari vehicles with professional rangers is a whole new game. The teams communicate with each other, track animals and have acess to private land not available to regular park tourists on which the are not bound to roads - and their knowledge of the bush is astounding.

Tip: Stay at least 3 night and if you are from SA - there are special packages avaialble for locals which make it more affordable.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, but the ones on the Byamati river have much better views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DieterKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    41
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
124
294
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berne
Level Contributor
288 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed at Jock Safari Lodge last september for 2 nights and really loved it. The Suites are amazing - the plunge pool, the outside shower, the sala with a great view over the dry river bed. The amazing bedroom and bathroom. All really fantastic. I also liked the "order what you want" lunch, the upstairs bar with great views, and the "everybody sits together" dinners.

the most important part of a stay in the wild is definitely the ranger, and JV is fantastic. he knows and shares so much about the wildlife, the birds, the park - just great. in the sabi sand and timbavati, its easier and quicker to see animals up close. in the kruger its a bigger challenge. and so, when we spotted a leopard, and for a long time "chased" her, it was much more rewarding and amazing than simply driving up to a leopard - which can sometimes happen in the sabi sand (but is still amazing).

Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank nathalieyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

stayed two nights four game drives fantastic, our ranger Dave was great what he didn't know about wildlife,nature etc, also great with tips on photography.
We loved the layout of the lodges very comfortable also very private,food was really good too.Unfortunately my huaband left his medication in the lodge, after contacting jocks ,the manager very kindly air freighted them onto our next stop along the garden route.
All in all it was a fantastic holiday,would love to revisit sometime.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 940Kevinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Québec
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Safari:
We stay 3 nights /4days and we went out on Safari 6 times (4 hours each).
Our safari was better than our best expectation because of our ranger JV.
JV is so knowledgeable about wild life,birds,snakes,galaxy........
The most important condition on a safari is your ranger, he is always with you ,so if you choose Jock ask for JV and will be assured of a 1er class safari with a one of a kind ranger!!!
Food;
The food was 5 stars,every things was perfect.
Lodging:
The layout is perfect,very intimate,big bedroom and bathroom,outdoor shower,
camp bed outside for day rest,plunge pool,and sun bath long chairs.
The only complain is that it's need maintenance to be 5 stars.The pool has to be paint,the camp bed sheet was stain and appearing not very clean. It is not so wear off that it's a no go but to be call 5 stars you need to be impeccable!!!
But the layout and room are well thought of and have potential to be easly 5 stars.
Getting there:
We flight for JoBurg to Skukuza air strip with Bateleur Air a private chartered air.
Small 8 seats plane landing directly in Kruger Park at 40 minutes very slow driving to the lodge and able to see on your way some animals.
For us it was wroth the money since the other option is to commercial flight to an airport outside Kruger Park and commute for 1.5 to 2 hours drive to lodge.
Booking;
All our airport transfer from JoBurg to BateleurAir and the Jock Lodge booking has been done by Rudie of Felleng Tours who is a very very good and experienced private tour operator in JoBurg.(go see on TripAdvisor-Felleng Tours)
All went very well and was one time because of Rudie.

Recommendation:

Yes ,yes go and book with Rudie (Felleng Tours)and ask for JV ,it's a must!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yves48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed here in April 2011 with a small family group for 2 nights. It was great hotel in the middle of the national park. The rooms overlooked the plains with a small plunge pool outside. All meals and drinks were included, all of which were delicious. As a vegetarian, I often struggled in South Africa, but special dietary requirements were not a problem at all. During the day we had the pleasure of doing several safari tours with Jaques - a highly personable and professional guide that ensured we got the most out of our time in Kruger. So much so that we managed to see the Big 5 for 2 days in a row! It was an awesome experience and made the very early sunrise starts all the worthwhile. Highly recommend this hotel and would easily stay here again if visiting Kruger again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
0.0 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.0 km away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#54 of 166 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.0 km away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.0 km away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#75 of 166 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jock Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jock Safari Lodge

Property: Jock Safari Lodge
Address: Nearest Town Skukuza | Inside Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 2060, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 50,085 - ₹ 68,426
Hotel Class:5 star — Jock Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jock Safari Lodge is nestled where the Mitomeni and Biyamiti rivers flow as one, situated in the South-Western corner of the Kruger National Park. The lodge offers 6,000 hectares of exclusive traversing rights in an area of the park which is celebrated for its big five game viewing. Jock of the Bushveld, the legend that was, served as an inspiration for the aptly namely Jock Safari Lodge. The tale, linked to Sir Percy Fitzpatrick, highlights the canine devotion and stories of African adventures that have excited exploring travellers.Accommodation offered:Main Jock LodgeCarefully screened by lush trees and reed walls, the 12 individual thatched rooms at Jock Safari Lodge, impart a sense of aloneness and oneness with the landscape.Fitzpatrick’s Lodge, offers personal service in an intimate atmosphere. Perfect for small parties and families.The lodge is easily accessible by road, just over 5 hours drive from Johannesburg, or 1 hour Skukuza and 2 hours from Kruger International airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Jock Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jock Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing