We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for Paddy and the FAB FIVE!!!”
Review of Jock Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jock Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2012

A buddy of mine suggested we go here on a safari for his 40th birthday, and as part of my 'bachelor party tour' lol. We arrived at the end of February and stayed for 3 nights - unbelievable!! All I can say is, forget the 'Big Five' - ask for Paddy and the 'FAB FIVE'! You will not see anything like it anywhere else - trust me! Paddy is an amazing guide - he spots things that everyone else looks right past continuously. We told him things we wanted to see, and others said we probably would not see it - Paddy found them! Trust me - it is worth every penny, and this is coming from someone who usually goes to islands for vacation to party or scuba dive. The food is excellent, accomadations are great, and the people all go out of their way to help with anything you ask for. This is before you even consider the animals and environment you are in the middle of - an experience that everyone should have at least one time. Trust me - book with this company and ask for Paddy - super cool guy and amazing skills in finding animals, etc. This is the first time I have ever gone on Trip Advisor and written a review - I use it quite often to read reviews, but have never gone somewhere that convinced me to write a review until this trip. Just remember if you book - ask for Paddy and the 'Fab Five' - and bring extra memory cards and batteries for your camera - you will need them!
The massage therapist did a great job - ask her about her little 'mascot'.
A couple of tips - there are no worries with Malaria - we were told by some people we needed Malaria tablets, but found out when we got there that it is perfectly safe in this part of the park. Bring a sweatshirt, even in the summer, as it gets pretty cool on the drives early morning and late evening.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fbfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (572)
There are newer reviews for Jock Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 404 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

We spent 5 days at The Jock Safari Lodge, in the middle of February. We have to say this is the best 5 days holiday we have ever experienced.
We arrived somewhat jet lagged after travelling from the UK and had to decline the first evening Safari from exhaustion, but we were met at the door with a welcoming drink and shown around the complex and to our very welcoming room.
The room was beautiful and the decking outside with the plunge pool and the double mattress view over the river was outstanding, the outside shower was great - being able to shower outside in the warm air in complete privacy . The communal areas including the restaurant, bar and lounges were comfortable well designed and gave access to some wonderful views over the rivers – in fact on one occasion we sat by the pool and a herd of 17 elephants graced us with their presence, a fantastic sight for us to sit and watch them. Basically the whole lodge was wonderful.
All staff without exception were friendly and helpful, I thought it was a nice touch that the General Manager Loui helped out and greeted everyone from the Safaris and was genuinely interested to hear what you had seen
The Food and wine was consistently excellent - other All inclusive places we have visited previously have compromised on the quality of beverages, this is certainly not the case here.
All the Rangers that we met were lovely and there was always a great camaraderie between them, especially Lazareth, David and Patrick.
Which brings us nicely onto Patrick – he was absolutely amazing, not only did he find us some amazing animals, on one occasion on a night drive he spotted a chameleon on a leaf in a tree, the size of his finger – we were all so shocked at how he could spot such a thing whilst driving ! He was just so informative about everything, he was funny and everyone on our truck thought he was wonderful.
We thought it was a really great idea that the people who shared a safari truck with you also sat with you for breakfast and dinner. So you made some really good friends, and on 2 out of the 4 nights, Patrick sat with us also – so we got to meet him more and had a few laughs.
We had read that taking a safari during the rainy season might disappoint, because the animals would be hidden by long grass and shrubs. This was far from the case we managed to see pretty much every species at close range, including lions, leopards, elephants, Giraffe, wild dogs and Rhino right on the road. ( we have enclosed some phots as proof)
Without going on and on I think that is all we can say really, but if anyone wants to know more please contact us so hopefully be back again one day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed at Jock's for 3 nights for part of our honeymoon. We arrived around lunchtime from Mpumalanga and were greeted with a welcome drink and congratulated on our recent wedding. We were shown around the property and to our lodge where we were surprised with a small bottle of champagne - which was a lovely start to our stay. Our lodge was just how we had envisaged an upmarket safari lodge to be. It was in-keeping with the surroundings, spacious and just beautiful. There were a couple of things that could be fixed - a cracked toilet cistern and leaking air con and then it would have been perfect.
We were in time to catch the early evening drive and were teamed up with our ranger Patrick and two other guests. Patrick is truly an expert at his job and loves it (especially the cats). He's quite a character too! We got to see the Big Five and so much more. On our last day we also tracked down a pack of wild dogs which apparently is a very rare sight indeed.
The food at Jock's was really good and there was always plenty of it - you will certainly not go hungry here!
We went towards the end of Feburary and had some lovely hot weather, but we also got to witness the most impressive thunder storm. It can get chilly in the early mornings (and they are early! 4:30am wake ups!) and in the evening, so I would advise a jacket, or better still, a hoodie. A hood is very useful to stop the bugs getting in your hair and sticking to any remaining suncream on your face/body when driving at a pace following a leopard sighting! Don't let the thought of the bugs deter you though - I am well known for being a big baby when it comes to such things, and by the end of my trip I was sharing the outdoor shower with 2 spiders, a beetle and some ants (until day three I was using the indoor bath with shower attachment!). At this time of year, the bush is quite thick, so sightings are probably more difficult (not that you'd believe it with Patrick on the case!).
Your experience will, in some part, be dependant on those you're teamed up with, as not only are all of your drives together, but also breakfast and dinner. We were lucky and had great company, but this is something to be aware of.
We would recommend Jock safari without hesitation and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nadine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Jocks. Staff were very friendly and helpful, it was also great to see the manager coming to speak to guests and helping out during meal times. As for the food and wine, these were first class, such variety considering the location

The rooms themselves are very comfortable, our only negative was the outside bed which was ant infested (not surprisingly given the location) and there was nowhere to sit in the shade. A large hammock would have got around the ant problem. The rooms themselves were wonderful and very comfortable. A big plus was that this part of the Kruger did not seem to have a mosquito problem thus even though we took our Malarone we probably could have got away without.

As for the drives, they were amazing, the guides are extremely knowlegeable and passionate. We had Lyle for our 8 drives and had a fantastic time, thanks for a great experience. We saw the Big Five and much more. All the rangers are in radio contact and report good sightings to each other. We would definitely consider going back and would like to thank all the staff at Jocks for a wonderful time...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We arrived after 10 days touring the Cape. As we were travelling with children (11 &8) we were concerned about how close the bedrooms would be to each other, when Mumzi the host showed us the first room the concern continued and then as if by magic there was a door at the back of the wardrobe leading into the identical children's bedroom, This was perfect as it gave us privacy but the security of knowing the children could access our room when ever they needed. Within 2 minutes of arriving in our rooms, we saw a rhino on the other side of the river through our bedroom window, then at lunch 9 elephants paraded along the bank.

All the staff made us feel very welcome and made a real fuss over the children, including keeping my son upto date with all the premier league football results.

The game drives were every thing and more than we could have dreamed of. On the second day we saw the Big 5 in one drive. We were told that this meant you had to shave your hair off, at breakfast the next morning our guide came in with a bald head!!

Pete our ranger had only been at the camp for a few weeks but was absolutely superb, his knowledge of the bush was un ending, he was a walking encyclopaedia!
Not only did he tell us about the big things but the little things that are is easy to miss. Naiomi his wife who ran the spa was also wonderful, showing the kids the little squirrel she was hand rearing - also her massages are to be recommended.

The food was wonderful and abundant, as was the wine on the drives and with dinner.

There may be more elegant camps but I would be surprised if any meet the location, warmth and service we received at Jock's.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BEACONSFIELDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
27.3 km away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
390 reviews
313.1 km away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#47 of 175 in Kruger National Park
165 reviews
37.0 km away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 175 in Kruger National Park
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
#18 of 175 in Kruger National Park
421 reviews
103.4 km away
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Elandela Private Game Reserve
#67 of 175 in Kruger National Park
356 reviews
312.9 km away
The Outpost
The Outpost
#28 of 175 in Kruger National Park
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jock Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jock Safari Lodge

Address: Nearest Town Skukuza | Inside Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 2060, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 175 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: ₹ 65,664 - ₹ 84,407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jock Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jock Safari Lodge is nestled where the Mitomeni and Biyamiti rivers flow as one, situated in the South-Western corner of the Kruger National Park. The lodge offers 6,000 hectares of exclusive traversing rights in an area of the park which is celebrated for its big five game viewing. Jock of the Bushveld, the legend that was, served as an inspiration for the aptly namely Jock Safari Lodge. The tale, linked to Sir Percy Fitzpatrick, highlights the canine devotion and stories of African adventures that have excited exploring travellers.Accommodation offered:Main Jock LodgeCarefully screened by lush trees and reed walls, the 12 individual thatched rooms at Jock Safari Lodge, impart a sense of aloneness and oneness with the landscape.Fitzpatrick’s Lodge, offers personal service in an intimate atmosphere. Perfect for small parties and families.The lodge is easily accessible by road, just over 5 hours drive from Johannesburg, or 1 hour Skukuza and 2 hours from Kruger International airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Jock Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jock Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing