We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic safari”
Review of Jock Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jock Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My family and I travelled to Kruger in the Spring of 2011. It was our first safari in South Africa. Having stayed in a couple of Mantis properties before, I was anxious to stay at Jock. I wasn't disappointed.

The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. They prepared vegetarian dishes for us whenever we asked them (and so much that we couldn't finish it). Delicious. Our ranger (Lazarus) was very knowledgeable and could even spot a chameleon in the darkness.

The views from the room were great. Since the lodge is located close to a watering hole, you could see animals all the time (making it a perfect wildlife experience), especially around 10 in the morning. The rooms themselves were spotless.

The highlight of our stay was probably the African style dinner where we eat delicious food and Lazarus shared his experiences with us. If I can, I'm definitely coming here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (572)
There are newer reviews for Jock Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 411 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

Jocks provides the perfect combination for your safari experience. From the moment you arrive to the time you leave you are really looked after.The staff are warm friendly and efficient creating a very comfortable relaxing atmosphere. The game drives are superb, with very good vehicles compared to others we saw. Our ranger Lazarus was so knowledgable , a great driver and found us all the animals and birds we were hoping to see ( the big 5 on our first drive!)
The rooms have a private terrace, small plunge pool and overlook the river where Buffalo and Elephants graze. We were all inclusive ! Food was good as was the generous supply of wine , we even had alcoholic drinks for our sun downers on the afternoon drive.
In the Kruger I cannot imagine a better safari experience or  reserve to stay at unless you want to pay double just to get a bit more glitz and luxury, but you won' t see any more animals

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TodgeProvence_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My wife and I, and our three grown sons, spent 3 nights at Jock Safari Lodge in January and it simply could not have been better. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable and each had its own private deck, plunge pool and lapa which made hanging out in mid day very comfortable. The food was very good and plentiful and is served outdoors, under the stars, or around a fire pit in their bama area. There is a small gym which is perfectly adequate as well.

What really made Jock stand out to us however was the staff who, first of all, could not do enough for us but who, more importantly, had a wonderful enthusiasm for the safari drives which, after all, is what you are there for. We have stayed at other safari lodges that had nicer accomodations than Jock but we would return to Jock in a heartbeat simply because of how wonderful the safari drives were. Our ranger, Dave, was like an encyclopedia of knowledge about the animals, birds, insects and plant life and made our drives fascinating journeys of discovery. It was like listening to the best college professor you ever had and we learned a tremendous amount from him. He is an avid photographer as well and even taught us a few tips and helped us get better pictures on our trip.

Jock was a great experience and I recommend it highly to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BruceSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband and I went to Jock Safari Lodge this past weekend for my birthday and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The lodge is jaw droppingly beautiful with a personalised and intimate atmosphere, the staff are extremely welcoming and friendly, the food is delicious, the attention to detail and service are excellent. And everyone made me feel really special on my birthday. Our expectations were well exceeded and we would loved to have stayed longer. Added to the wonderful lodge experience we also saw all the Big 5 and plenty of other animals, and Dave our ranger made each game drive interesting and special.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed with a view of the river and into the bush. We saw plenty of anima...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We have recently returned from a two night safari at Jock which was our first stop on a 2 week holiday. The lodge was delightful and very romantic, we truly felt spoilt by all the space we had. The staff were very friendly and helpful and always attentive. Our ranger Dumi was very accomodating on safaris and made every effort to ensure we had the full Big 5 experience. On our last morning we had an earlier than usual transfer and so Dumi arranged our game drive for 90 minutes earlier than usual. The meals and were delightful. If I had a very small negative it was just that there were gaps in our mosquito nets (the nets were better attached at our other accomodations).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SushmaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
27.3 km away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
387 reviews
313.1 km away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#50 of 175 in Kruger National Park
163 reviews
37.0 km away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 175 in Kruger National Park
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
#18 of 175 in Kruger National Park
421 reviews
103.4 km away
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Elandela Private Game Reserve
#65 of 175 in Kruger National Park
351 reviews
312.9 km away
The Outpost
The Outpost
#31 of 175 in Kruger National Park
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jock Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jock Safari Lodge

Address: Nearest Town Skukuza | Inside Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 2060, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 175 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: ₹ 65,184 - ₹ 83,440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jock Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jock Safari Lodge is nestled where the Mitomeni and Biyamiti rivers flow as one, situated in the South-Western corner of the Kruger National Park. The lodge offers 6,000 hectares of exclusive traversing rights in an area of the park which is celebrated for its big five game viewing. Jock of the Bushveld, the legend that was, served as an inspiration for the aptly namely Jock Safari Lodge. The tale, linked to Sir Percy Fitzpatrick, highlights the canine devotion and stories of African adventures that have excited exploring travellers.Accommodation offered:Main Jock LodgeCarefully screened by lush trees and reed walls, the 12 individual thatched rooms at Jock Safari Lodge, impart a sense of aloneness and oneness with the landscape.Fitzpatrick’s Lodge, offers personal service in an intimate atmosphere. Perfect for small parties and families.The lodge is easily accessible by road, just over 5 hours drive from Johannesburg, or 1 hour Skukuza and 2 hours from Kruger International airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jock Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jock Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing