We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$1,628
View deal
Priceline$1,741
Vio.com$1,741
eDreams$1,628
Etrip$1,741
StayForLong
Expedia.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveller rating
453
38
14
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
453
38
14
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tented camp colonial decor game drives the river safari experience outdoor shower our honeymoon game driver dry season watching elephants an incredible experience the main lodge special experience watering hole high tea morning drive once in a lifetime
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 517 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2022

We have just returned from five nights at Hamiltons tented camp and to say this was just a tented camp is a massive understatement. The tents are luxury with everything you need, the food is five star and the service is the best, nothing is too much of a problem. The game drives, two a day were excellent, most times going longer than the three hours. We saw everything, including a black Rhino. We returned everynight from the drive to a meal that whould grace a 5 star hotel, with service to match. Hamiltons offer game drives, rooms,service and meals that are more than we expected. Ten out of ten for everything

Room tip: Tents all the same but number 6 is away from the others
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank premierholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hayley Knight, Agency / Consultant at Hamiltons Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2022

Dear premierholidays, thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your full experience at Hamiltons Tented Camp and hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
The Hamiltons Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2022

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hamilton's for 3 night's and it was truly spectacular! From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with warm and friendly staff who were quick to remember our names and treat us as friends. The limited number of tents here (only 6) meant that the hotel was never above a capacity of 12 people which allowed the staff to be attentive and accommodating to our every desire.
Nick was our game driver and he was funny and engaging as well as very informative and knowledgeable with all of the animals and wildlife we saw. Ronaldo and Yan made our meal times fun and enjoyable, providing nice conversation and jokes while we ate the delicious food.
The food was cooked according to your menu choices and was different every day. The choice and amount at each meal time was plentiful; I promise you will never be left hungry while staying here!
The rooms are impeccable; tidy, spacious and well stocked with all of the amenities and beverages (both alcoholic and soft drinks), cleaned twice daily and well maintained.
As well as your game drives, the fact that the lodge is not fenced means you can expect to see wildlife roaming freely in close proximity to your room, the walkways and the restaurant area.
Thank you to all of the staff at Hamilton's for making this stay one we will never forget!

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 376christak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hayley Knight, Agency / Consultant at Hamiltons Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2022

Dear 376christak, thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience at Hamiltons Tented Camp and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
The Hamiltons Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2022

Hamilton’s was a truly special experience, with extremely welcoming and attentive staff - including the best chef we have ever experienced. Our game driver Matt was exceptional, with great knowledge and an even greater companion for the road. We will surely be coming back very soon.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank thomashV3368HI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hayley Knight, Agency / Consultant at Hamiltons Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2022

Dear thomashV3368HI, thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience at Hamiltons Tented Camp and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
The Hamiltons Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2022 via mobile

I don’t write a lot of reviews…but when I do, it is because I was sincerely humbled and amazed by what I experienced.

Our 3 day visit to Hamiltons Tented camp definitely requires writing a raving review.

The accommodation is beautifully decorated, spacious, comfortable, elegant, neat, well kept and is reminiscent of the age of silverware and crystal glasses.

The lodge is nestled alongside a dam that attracts so many interesting animals over and above the game drives. From Elephants swimming with only their trunks sticking out, a herd of waterbuck rushing through to the other side, to baboons and bush bucks playing together, just to name a few. The last night, as we drove back to the lodge, 8 lions came walking towards us!

The food was amazing!!! I promise you won’t ever get hungry and every meal and bite tops the previous! The wine selection is carefully curated and consist of a superior selection of complementing wines.

Last but not least and probably the most important, is the hearts of the management and staff. Never have I experienced such kindness, caring and pride taken before.

I salute Hamiltons tented camp for the beautiful gem it is…

THANK YOU for making these 3 days SO memorable!!!

You have left precious ‘tracks’ in our hearts and minds. We will see you again!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank zantad2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hayley Knight, Agency / Consultant at Hamiltons Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2022

Dear zantad2022, thank you for your glowing review. We love that you enjoyed every moment of your Hamiltons tented Camp safari experience and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Hamiltons Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2022

Our time at Hamiltons Tented Camp was fantastic. Every member of the staff was kind and welcoming. We had genuine conversations with them and it was nice to get to know them. The accommodations were very nice, I could've spent longer there just relaxing in the nice rooms! The food was delicious and plentiful. I enjoyed the break from cell service & wifi.
Transportation from the Skukuza airport was easy and comfortable. We had luggage get lost on our flight to the Skukuza airport, but the driver helped us quickly resolve where it was and it was delivered to us within a few hours from the next flight from Joburg.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank med5063
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hayley Knight, Agency / Consultant at Hamiltons Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2022

Dear Michelle D, thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your safari experience at Hamiltons Tented Camp and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
The Hamiltons Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews