We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Elandela Private Game Reserve(Kruger National Park)
US$ 589
US$ 532
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge(Kruger National Park)(Great Value!)
US$ 119
US$ 115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 563
US$ 434
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$ 693
US$ 673
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 804/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Motswari Private Game Reserve(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$ 844
US$ 599
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Imbali Safari Lodge(Kruger National Park)
US$ 944
US$ 532
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Africa on Foot Camp(Klaserie Private Game Reserve)
US$ 422
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muweti Bush Lodge(Grietjie Nature Reserve)
US$ 116
US$ 106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Outpost(Kruger National Park)
US$ 1,326
US$ 1,111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$ 2,066
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
341
28
10
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
28
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolonial feelgame drivescolonial decorthe riveroutdoor showerclaw footmain loungeanswered all our questionsluxury experienceamazing experiencebush experiencewarm towelshis enthusiasmtented safaritented roomsstaff went out of their waya special place
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I was amazed in every respect. What an incredible experience. The management and staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was memorable. From bush lunches to dinner in the room. I highly recommend this lodge to anyone. We loved it.
Ask for Joe as a game ranger/guide. He turns every game drive into an open air class room. Best we have had.
Sean Roelofsz

Room Tip: Book either Room number one or two for the best views of the watering hole.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

After reading several reviews about the great service with tired decor I wasn't expecting much. However, when we arrived and were shown our tent, our expectations were exceeded. The rooms were clean, up to date, and quite unique. We did find out the camp was flooded and closed for 2 months in January 2012. It reopened in March 2012. This may be why everything seemed to be new and up to date.

Our safari guide, Joe, was a pleasure to have showing us everything there was to see. Unfortunately, we didn't see any leopards, but we saw enough lions and other wildlife to last a lifetime. The camp is quite a drive from Open Gate but well worth the experience.

If I traveled back to Kruger I would not hesitate to stay at Hamilton Lodge.

Room Tip: When booking at Hamilton ask to stay in Tent 1. You will have a great view of the hippo. He is mean but he is quite amusing to watch.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mike_H0ust0n_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

stayed for 3nights in january 2012. friendly staff ben,harold,ludrick and the best chef abel..food delicious & if you have a big appetite then hamilton tented camp will sure satisfy it..rooms are spacious although tents 5 & 6 are quiet a walk from the reception but plenty of game around those rooms, if you want privacy & just want to hear the sound of the bush get tent 4-6 as for room 1-2 offer best the best view,you will be kept awake by the cars and people talking from the dining area. we heard some noise(roars) one night around 10:30 pm..,in the morning our butler asked if heard or saw the two leopards that were next to our tent>its only then that we knew what was outside as we thought of lions,hyena or leopard and the baboons giving an alarm call the whole night..we were blessed to have denis as our guide/ ranger and wow the man knows and loves his job..we saw 3 lionesses killing an impala in one of the sunset drives less than a kilometre from the camp,in 8 minutes there was nothing left of it(shame impala) ..truly this camp has the best of game.. it never disappoint. we saw leopard in both morning & sunset drives..
WANT TO BE ADVENTOUROUS AND GET CLOSE TO NATURE> DO THE BUSH WALK & NO FAINTING..ENJOY THE BEST OF KRUGER!!

Room Tip: for privacy,tent 4,5 & 6..for best view of the dam and dry riverbed try tent 1 & 2.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chicco881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is now our 4th visit to the camp. We were wary as there were a few negative reviews we had read, but these were unfounded. THe camp is still wonderful, from Ben who welcomes you and settles you into your rooms, to the Butlers who alsways give you excellent service, including Ronnie's "terrible" stories that had all the tables in laughter. And the ranger, Werner, was very knowlegable and found us some really wonderful sightings, including 2 Honey Badgers, African Wild Dog and Eagles and Raptors in abundance, a special treat was the disply twice of a Red Crested Korhaan, requested and received, well done. Food, brilliant, we were there News Years Eve and we had a special display of African dancing, snacks and drinks in the Bush.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 or 2, best view of the dam, room 6 is about a 10 minute walk
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Excellent service in one of the few resorts actually inside Kruger Park. I'm sure it looked absolutely fabulous when it opened 8 years ago, but exposure to the elements has taken its toll and it's becoming a little shabby. Nevertheless, the staff were welcoming and helpful and the tents clean and comfortable.The food was excellent and the guid extremely knowledgeable. Thanks to him we got to see the big five in only 2 days.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcg1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews