We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Arriving at Hamilton's was a truly magical experience. I had booked for my Mothers 60th Birthday and it exceeded my expectations in every way. From the beautiful colonial decor, to the impromptu Zulu Birthday song and cake the attention to detail and quality of service ensured that we had the best possible time. Intimate, middle of nowhere magic that has to be experienced first hand. I cannot recommend this place more strongly!

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms. and they were all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SPainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 235 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

I was amazed in every respect. What an incredible experience. The management and staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was memorable. From bush lunches to dinner in the room. I highly recommend this lodge to anyone. We loved it.
Ask for Joe as a game ranger/guide. He turns every game drive into an open air class room. Best we have had.
Sean Roelofsz

Room Tip: Book either Room number one or two for the best views of the watering hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

After reading several reviews about the great service with tired decor I wasn't expecting much. However, when we arrived and were shown our tent, our expectations were exceeded. The rooms were clean, up to date, and quite unique. We did find out the camp was flooded and closed for 2 months in January 2012. It reopened in March 2012. This may be why everything seemed to be new and up to date.

Our safari guide, Joe, was a pleasure to have showing us everything there was to see. Unfortunately, we didn't see any leopards, but we saw enough lions and other wildlife to last a lifetime. The camp is quite a drive from Open Gate but well worth the experience.

If I traveled back to Kruger I would not hesitate to stay at Hamilton Lodge.

Room Tip: When booking at Hamilton ask to stay in Tent 1. You will have a great view of the hippo. He is mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mike_H0ust0n_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

stayed for 3nights in january 2012. friendly staff ben,harold,ludrick and the best chef abel..food delicious & if you have a big appetite then hamilton tented camp will sure satisfy it..rooms are spacious although tents 5 & 6 are quiet a walk from the reception but plenty of game around those rooms, if you want privacy & just want to hear the sound of the bush get tent 4-6 as for room 1-2 offer best the best view,you will be kept awake by the cars and people talking from the dining area. we heard some noise(roars) one night around 10:30 pm..,in the morning our butler asked if heard or saw the two leopards that were next to our tent>its only then that we knew what was outside as we thought of lions,hyena or leopard and the baboons giving an alarm call the whole night..we were blessed to have denis as our guide/ ranger and wow the man knows and loves his job..we saw 3 lionesses killing an impala in one of the sunset drives less than a kilometre from the camp,in 8 minutes there was nothing left of it(shame impala) ..truly this camp has the best of game.. it never disappoint. we saw leopard in both morning & sunset drives..
WANT TO BE ADVENTOUROUS AND GET CLOSE TO NATURE> DO THE BUSH WALK & NO FAINTING..ENJOY THE BEST OF KRUGER!!

Room Tip: for privacy,tent 4,5 & 6..for best view of the dam and dry riverbed try tent 1 & 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chicco881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is now our 4th visit to the camp. We were wary as there were a few negative reviews we had read, but these were unfounded. THe camp is still wonderful, from Ben who welcomes you and settles you into your rooms, to the Butlers who alsways give you excellent service, including Ronnie's "terrible" stories that had all the tables in laughter. And the ranger, Werner, was very knowlegable and found us some really wonderful sightings, including 2 Honey Badgers, African Wild Dog and Eagles and Raptors in abundance, a special treat was the disply twice of a Red Crested Korhaan, requested and received, well done. Food, brilliant, we were there News Years Eve and we had a special display of African dancing, snacks and drinks in the Bush.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 or 2, best view of the dam, room 6 is about a 10 minute walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
3.3 km away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#54 of 175 in Kruger National Park
312 reviews
0.0 km away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#60 of 175 in Kruger National Park
412 reviews
23.9 km away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 km away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
454 reviews
246.2 km away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#48 of 175 in Kruger National Park
169 reviews
68.8 km away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#32 of 175 in Kruger National Park
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp

Address: Mluwati Concession, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 175 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: ₹ 47,241 - ₹ 62,618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after Colonel Stephenson Hamilton, who was instrumental in establishing the world famous Kruger National Park, Hamilton's Tented Camp reflects a safari adventure of the early twentieth century, where grace and style were the epitome of luxurious living. Historically themed along the lines of a big game hunter’s camp encompassing the bygone era of the early 1900’s, Hamiltons Tented Camp allows indulgence in pure luxury, combined with the sounds and smells of the African bush. Six magnificent canvas tents, complete with teak floorboards, dreamy mosquito nets and a superb view of the seasonal river, are linked to the main lodge area by raised timber walkways amongst ancient Jackalberry trees. Uncompromising elegance and breathtaking beauty identifies Hamiltons Tented Camp with open tented lounge, butler service and personalised cuisine.All tented suites have a romantic slipper bath and outdoor shower overlooking the Ngwenyeni Dam, private veranda, air conditioning and an intercom service.Spa treatments are available in the privacy of your room. Safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, self drive in the Kruger National Park and guided safari walks by prior arrangement.Children over the age of 8 years are welcome and are accommodated in their own room. The camp is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and charged per person per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing