We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A remote gem”
other travellers have booked this property
View from kitchen onto pool deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from kitchen onto pool deck
Outside kitchen Loft chalet stoep
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
View from kitchen onto pool deck
Outside kitchen
Loft chalet stoep
Loft chalet
Loft chalet inside
Loft chalet kitchen
Rondavel
Pool deck seating area
Pool and pool deck
Pool and pool deck
View from pool deck
View of pool deck from river
View of pool deck from river
Potholes in island in front of Little Carthage
Waterfall in island in front of Little Carthage
Part of river in island in front of Little Carthage
Part of river in island in front of Little Carthage
Part of river in island in front of Little Carthage
Driveway to Little Carthage (65)
Giraffes
Arrow pointing to Little Carthage
Aerial view. Loft chalet and Rondavel are set behind pool, big roof is garage / storage / staff.
View of river from pool deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Traveller...
Valby, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A remote gem”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a lovely time, and everything was great. The house is inside a nature reserve with resident impalas, wildebeests, giraffes and much more - you see these when driving up or going for a walk. We saw hippos and crocs in the river after scrambling over the rocks to the main arm of the river, and baboons and vervet monkeys roam on the banks.

The house and annex worked well, and it was a nice touch that there was a fire ready to light every evening. Don't forget to take you sun downers to the platform behind the house.

The kitchen was well equipped, and even had spices etc so we didn't have to buy everything for cooking.

Heather was very helpful in arranging safaris and recommending activities in the area, and she let us use her phone as the roaming charges on a danish mobile phone in SA are fairly outrageous. The wifi was......temperamental - we got the best signal outside the rondavel, but then again - one of attractions and pleasures of this house being off the grid.

On thing to take into consideration is that it is a fair drive to Hoedspruit. The drive from the house to the main road is appx. 30 minutes on a dirt road, and then another 20 km to the town, so when you go out, you go out for the day, and you don't just pop out for a pint of milk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rustic charm - and the pool and deck
Liked least: The long, unanticipated drive to get to the main road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmain1...
Hoedspruit, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most amazing bush experience!”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third stay, and from the first time we entered Little Carthage, we felt at home, a holiday like no other. Heather, You and your family and staff are so warm and friendly, you are so sensitive to everybodys needs and our stays are always so comfortable and xtra special. The chalet is so neat and cosy, everything one needs, we love the open lapa kithen. We enjoyed the evenings at the braai with kids swimming in the pool behind us. You have a beautifull place on the river, with amazing views. We loved the lookout on stilts with beautifull sunsets. To us, its xtra special having all the wonderfull facilities to ourselves, we enjoy the privacy of not sharing with strangers like at other holiday places....enjoyed quality family time together. My kids enjoyed the rock hopping, bush walks, swimming in river and in the pool, building sand castles along the river, game driving, and playing at fhe waterfalls. My dogs loved the nature and walks. On our walks and gamedrives we saw hippos, a crocodile, a big python, giraffes, duikers, impalas, a warthhog, kudus and lots of birds. Your place always charges our batteries like no other place, so we will definitely keep coming back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifull bush experience and peace
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo...
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

There are very few places that you can still go to in South Africa that feel this remote. The accommodation is modest which adds to the charm of the destination. The manageress is extremely friendly and helpful and the same goes for the staff.

If you want a complete break from modern day hassles, this is the place and I look forward to coming back in the winter months when its a bit cooler.

The location is something very special

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karel V
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful, Authentic experience of Africa”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Within moments of arriving at Little Carthage, I was overwhelmed by an overwhelming sensation that this is magical place. The accommodation is very comfortable and clean, without being pretentious. The staff is helpful, warm and friendly. Everything is as it should be and better, but there is something more. Something intangible. Something I have never experienced in another hotel or resort.
Little Carthage uplifts your soul and refreshes you unlike any other place I have ever been to.
You feel at one with the earth and nature in a way that is not contrived - unlike some many other private game reserves that I have visited.
My stay at Little Carthage iwas an authentic yet very comfortable luxurious communion with nature that we shall never forget and will always treasure. My only regret is that we only spent one week of our two week visit to South Africa there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I was impressed with the non- commercial feel of this small resort. We immediately felt at home. There was so much to see and experience that we could never find elsewhere in the world.
Liked least: Some little monkeys raided our snacks while we were out viewing animals. We should have put them away better.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenevS
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little Carthage with the best free entertainment”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Little Carthage has everything a family with children need: a great pool, an outdoor kitchen/dining area, air-conditioning in the bed room. All basic things for a unforgettable family holiday. And basic, but who needs 5 stars anyway? We give the entertainment 5 stars though. It is 20 meters from the deck, it is full gigantic boulders, rock pools, hidden kloofs and potholes. It is called Olifants River and Little Carthage is definitely at the most exciting section. All entertainment is within 500 meters of the deck!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;