We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise exist, we've been there....”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Tripodocu...
Nice France
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Paradise exist, we've been there....”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
4
people found this review helpful

The road to Ximongwe may be a little bumpy, but the road to paradise is not always smooth. We stayed six nights in the Hippo cottage, a home away even better than home, thanks to Johan. He did provide us with a service worth of a 5 star hotel. The house is superb, spotless, the breakfast and dinner were out of this world. Everything managed with efficiency and a big smile. You can spend the all day sitting on the deck facing the Elephant river, watching the always present wildlife, all kinds of antelopes, elephants, giraffes, crocodiles, hippos, and much more. All that in total privacy and quietness. Johan will always be ready for game drives or walks, and to give you all the details needed on the wild animal world.
Thanks again Johan, we really hope to come back next year.

Date of stay: September 2017
Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: En couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Bush treat ”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful and relaxing stay at Ximongwe River lodge with a wonderful view of the Olifantsrivier River. We had Bush buck, warthog, monkey's and baboons across the front lawns. Egyptian geese, crocodile in the river. Very informative game walk we went on, no kids allowed on the walk. We had the Hippo cottage to ourselves which we self catered but catered option is available. Game drives can be arranged. Nothing better than sitting around a crackling fire in the evening, listening to the sounds of nature around you. Great hosts in Ronell and Johan.

Date of stay: July 2017
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zagrys201...
Louis Trichardt, South Africa
1 review
“Awesome weekend away with family”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We booked the Hippo cottage(fully catered) for the weekend,it is a very lovely and spacious cottage,the food was excellent,the friendly staff is note worthy,the professionalism of Ronel and Johan is outstanding ,I recommend this place to anyone with kids,will definitely visit again

Date of stay: April 2017
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotty070
High Wycombe, Bucks
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for a catered or self catering safari”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We flew to Heodesprit from London via Johannesburg and were met by our hosts Johan & Ronell. We had booked five nights at Ximongwe on a half board basis. Once we left the main road and entered the park we had a drive of about an hour along a very bumpy road before reaching the lodge. This was the start of a very interesting and informative few days. Johan has an excellent knowledge of the flora and fauna in the park. We have safaried a lot but we learned so much more in those five days. We arrived at the lodge which is situated right on the Oliphants river. We stayed in Hippo Cottage, there are two cottages,Hippo comprises of five bedrooms and can accommodate up to ten people and Crocodile Cottage which has three bedrooms and can accommodate up to six people. There was a huge fully equipped kitchen if you are self catering, a larder containing a fridge and freezer, an enormous lounge/dining room with a dining table that can easily seat ten, two bathrooms with bath and shower, two huge viewing decks and a plunge pool. Everything was very clean and well kept. As I said we were on a half board basis, Ronell does most of the catering and we were treated to some delicious food for both breakfast and dinner during our visit. I have asked for several of her recipes. Wine and beer can be purchased on site very reasonably. We booked several game drives with Johan and thoroughly enjoyed them all and came back having learned something new every time. We were introduced to Amurula coffee on our morning drive, and Amarula Gold for our sundowners, we have bought both to bring home with us but I am guessing it probably won't taste quite the same in England!! We were made to feel very much part of the family and will definitely return. Johan and Ronell are in the process of completing another luxury tented tree top camp which Johan took us to see. It is going to be fantastic and we would like to visit this too when it is completed. The decks overlooking the river were amazing, we spent hours watching the wildlife coming down to the water. We were also treated to a chorus of nine hippos wallowing in the river grunting their good byes as we left. We had a fantastic time thank you Johan and Ronell, we will be back soon

Date of stay: March 2017
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomasfro...
Laage, Germany
1 review
“A great lodge”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a great stay at Ximongwe River Camp, our hosts Ronell and Johan were very friendly, Johan has a great knowledge of the Bush which brout over with great enthusiasm during our Sundowner game drive and the the next mornings game walk. We had a great stay and will definitely come again.

Date of stay: January 2017
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.