We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food but slow service”
Review of Old Town Italy

Old Town Italy
Ranked #14 of 140 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

The first time I went to this restaurant I knew I had to come back for more. Absolutely delicious food, freshly made and has loads of vegetarian and even vegan options. Has a lovely ‘old town ‘ feel and you can even do a bit of shopping and select a delicious dessert from the amazing cake selection. Ice cream to die for with the most delicious vegan chocolate gelato.
My only suggestion is to not be in a rush when you come here as the food is freshly prepared and can take a little longer than normal.

Thank suerivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA-to-Operations, Operations Manager at Old Town Italy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thanks so much for your positive review @suerivet, we always like to hear about our customers experiences.

The Old Town Italy team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

I highly recommend Old Town Italy for authentic Italian food, from gelatos to pizza and pasta to other Italian street food.

Thank Andre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA-to-Operations, Operations Manager at Old Town Italy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thank you for your great review @Andre G. We hope to see you again soon.

The Old Town Italy team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

I used to visit this place at least 3 times a week as the food is really good, but today a had a really bad experience as the quality of food was not the great and did not taste well, I said to them just bring me the bill as the food was not tasting right , instead of asking to make a new one he asked would you like that take away...pathetic !!!
If you continue to treat loyal customers this way soon you will have none!!!
Just because your food is great this does not mean you can lack on your service,
I will be not coming back to this establishment nor will I be telling any of my clients to schedule any meetings and I will be advising everyone I know do not go to this establishment.
As to me this is all about principal which is what I explained to your gentlemen at your place , he just looked and smiled and said hope to see you again ....ABSOLUTELY PATHETIC

I really hope for your sake your service levels improve as eventually you will jot have enough customers to be SUSTAINABLE !!!

2  Thank avi_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA-to-Operations, Operations Manager at Old Town Italy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Hi @avi_red

Thank you for your review. We are sincerely sorry to hear about your experience with us. We take all feedback very seriously, and it will be dealt with accordingly on store level.

The Old Town Italy team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Im not sure what has happened to the service at old town italy. The quality of the staff (manager & waiter) has deteriorated. With all the new exciting food places opening up, i definitely wont be back!

1  Thank Vanessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA-to-Operations, Operations at Old Town Italy, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hi @Vanessa N

Thank you for your review. We are sincerely sorry to hear about your experience with us. We take all feedback very seriously, and it will be dealt with accordingly on store level.

The Old Town Italy team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

I could spend the entire day in this quaint Italian-style deli/restaurant! The setting is gorgeous, you truly feel like you've been transported to another country. The deli/shop sells everything from hummus to cheeses, meat and many goods imported from Italy. The bakery has a delicious selection of pastries and cakes, including their famous cronut, which is just a little piece of heaven. There is also an ice-cream stand selling gelato...the amarena cherry flavour is a must-try. The restaurant has a small menu, but everything is delicious and well presented. It can get very busy at times, so a reservation for larger groups is recommended.

Thank AshiraRheeders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA-to-Operations, Operations at Old Town Italy, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thank you for your positive review @AshiraRheeders. Please do visit us again.

The Old Town Italy team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Town Italy also viewed

Umhlanga, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Old Town Italy? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing