We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great renovation in colonial style no comparison to any other hotel near Durban”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
1,334 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“Great renovation in colonial style no comparison to any other hotel near Durban”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Obviously quite pricey, but if you want to have a splash and indulge yourself, no doubt that this is the place to stay . beautiful rooms attentive service , great food , lovely pool , magnificent view

Room Tip: ask for sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment.

I am delighted you enjoyed the New Hotel, and found the Decor and service outstanding.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,519
    145
    40
    15
    5
See reviews for
424
791
51
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We didn't stay here (although it looks a great place!) - but just called in for "High tea" This is available after 1430 daily and for 150 Rand per person you get a serve-yourself selection of freshly prepared savouries and cakes, as well as juices and good tea selection. Really good value and delicious. Ambience great - complete with a live pianist in the background, and very helpful and knowledgable waiter. Great sea-views from terrace if you have a bar snack or drink instead of high tea.

Room Tip: We only called in for high tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petercot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about your fantastic experience at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted you enjoyed our High Tea, aswell as the ambiance of this beautiful Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
184 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Spent 3 days here after a hectic weeks travelling and was welcomed by very attentive staff in this refurbished traditional style hotel right on the Indian Ocean in the chic northern Durban suburb of Umhlanga. A mix of eclectic period and modern decoration and furniture the hotel public rooms bombard your senses.
The rooms- we were in a luxury ocean front- are a tad small but no different from any other international hotel in my opinion.and equipped with all mod cons including free WIFI and uninterrupted views onto the ocean.
The 2 pools are very good indeed with an excellent bar by the main pool.While not used the spa and gym looked very good
Food is good , well presented and plentiful with the inclusive breakfast a gourmet treat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanCLOndonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a comment.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and will advise the staff of your comments.

Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONTEFRACT
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We had stayed in the Cape Grace earlier on our trip and thought nothing could beat that....well we're not so sure now!
The location here is stunning over looking the ocean crashing in on the rocks and watching the sea freight going into Durban port.
The front desk team were excellent..arranging early check in and late check out..trips to the races, local advice etc.
The breakfasts are amazing with a huge selection. However, the Grill room for dinner is a 'must do'. Excellent service and great food.
We can't decide whether we like this property more than the Cape Grace-so we must return to visit both again next January. Wonderful!!
(i can't believe wildchild's report...)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david1960uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a comment about your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, in particular the great service.

Our staff pride themselves on service delivery and I will be sure to advise them of your comments.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

To be fair, I stayed at this lovely property for the grand total of 14 hours - 8 of which was tucked in bed sleeping! So, given that I was on a business trip, this review simply reflects my overall delight at staying at this classy and superbly renovated landmark in the upmarket and equally rejuvenated Umhlanga Rocks just north of Durban. Was met at the airport by the hotel's brand new Mercedes, was greeted by name by the doorman on arrival and was personally escorted into my room after a long day of travel. The room was a haven for relaxation - beautifully appointed and with a balcony overlooking the sea front & Indian Ocean. But, don't expect a massive room. It was relatively small.....but oh so lovely with super linens and a bed I actually wanted to sleep in. Perhaps some areas of the hotel need a little improvement like the patchy (but free) internet service and the faulty tv channels on the lovely new flat screen. For a hotel of this calibre, both hi-tech areas need sprucing. But, all was forgiven after the super evening curry buffet which ar R220 was pricy (no dessert) but was memorable - and for the right reasons. Public rooms are wonderful. The restaurant fittings and fixtures are out of an interiors magazine. It's an older hotel - and it shows....but it adds to the wonderful charm and sophistication. A free shuttle service is provided to the amazing Gateway Shopping Mall (one of SA's largest malls with endless food & entertainment choices) less than 10 minutes up the road which makes this a 'no-brainer' for the luxury-seeking traveler visiting Durban. My only real distress was leaving....but then again, having been exposed to this grand dame for less than a day, it was no surprise!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polanalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.

I am delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of the Hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.0 km away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.9 km away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.9 km away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Property: The Oyster Box
Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,606 - ₹ 60,203
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing