We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Total comfort”
other travellers have booked this property
Open plan Dining, Kitchen & Lounge Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan Dining, Kitchen & Lounge Area
The modern fully equipped Kitchen The Comfortable Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Open plan Dining, Kitchen & Lounge Area
The modern fully equipped Kitchen
The Comfortable Lounge
The dining area
The Main Bedroom with En-suite Bathroom
Second Bedroom
Main En-suite Bathroom (One of Two Bathrooms)
Main Bedroom with En-suite Bathroom
The Living area leading out onto the patio with wonderful sea views
Sea View from the apartment
Views from the Apartment at Night
Views of Umhlanga Rocks taken from the Apartment
Umhlanga Beach which is located 200 meters from the Apartment
The Main Bathing Beach
The Umhlanga Lighthouse at Sunrise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elisabeth...
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
“Total comfort”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I spent a week here hosting two elderly ladies from Australia and the UK. Everything was at our fingertips and we did not have to drive anywhere. The apartment was everything we expected and the cleaning service was excellent.My guests were delighted and impressed by our accommodation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a favourable review. We are delighted to hear that your overseas visitors were so impressed with the standards of the accommodation provided at 506 Lighthouse Mall. I will most certainly share your compliments with the housekeeper regarding your delight with the cleaning service.

It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope that you will be back for a return visit in the near future.

Warm regards,
Jack, Mark, Hermann and Gus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda M
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Romantic and ideally situated”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in 304 which is a smaller unit with just one bedroom and it was perfect for us.

So affordable and much better than being stuck in a small hotel room.

The flat was beautifully decorated with high spec appliances.

Comfortable and clean, serviced daily.

So conveniently located above a super market and a huge selection of restaurants and bars.

Gorgeous sea views and a little balcony for alfresco dining.

I definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sea views
Liked least: The slow lifts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We hope to have you to stay again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Gus and Hermann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
42Maureen
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Apartment & location”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice apartment, spotless clean with everything you need at your disposal. We arrived very late at night but it was no bother for the owner who came and showed us around and gave us all the information we needed.
I could highly reccomend this as a perfect base to see the whole area.
Thank you once again for a lovely stay.
Mary.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thank you for staying at 506 Lighthouse Mall and taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased to receive your positive comments and glad we could assist you. We trust you enjoyed exploring the area and invite you to stay with us again in the future.

Take care

Gus and Herman
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinnie201...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic feel with stunning sea views!”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I for a couple of nights whilst we were waiting for family to join us before moving into the other property D3 Sea Lodge. It was our romantic retreat for a couple of nights, we enjoyed the views from the lounge, bedrooms, balcony.

The apartment is beautifully decorated, high spec appliances and everything works well. It is situated in a lovely shopping mall, near all the best places to eat and drink, a short walk to one of the best beaches in Durban..you do not need to drive. It's very secure and secure parking for 2 cars. Hubby and I will stay there again when it's just me and him and then go the D3 when the family joins us.

Hermann was a darling when we arrived and made sure we were settled in; and he checked on us the following morning to make sure we were okay and had everything we needed. No complaints whatsoever. It was very clean and everything we needed was there. Our only tip is that you turn off the air con whilst sitting on the balcony....as it blows out hot air onto the balcony.....but otherwise its so very lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thanks yet again for posting another excellent review. It was my absolute pleasure in meeting you at the unit and getting you comfortable and settled. Unfortunately the condenser unit for the air conditioner has to be fitted on the balcony as per the Body Corporate rules. I am delighted that you enjoyed your short stay before transferring over to D3 Sea Lodge! Thank you.

Regards

Hermann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline L
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location, very clean”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Situated on the 5th floor right in the centre of Umhlanga with supermarket directly under, and various shops and restaurants a few minutes walk in any direction. Unit however is very quiet as it faces the ocean not the shopping area, so lovely views from small balcony, lounge and bedrooms. Very clean and comfortable with secure parking. Management (Gus) extremely helpful when we arrived fairly late at night due to overseas flight time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - closeness to shops and restaurants
Liked least: Minor difficulty finding car park entrance
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
It was great to meet you and I am glad you found the unit to your liking. We take late arrivals in our stride and being able to make you more at home after a (very!) long flight, my absolute pleasure. Hope the return trip still left you relaxed arriving down under!!! Please do visit us again in time to come.

Best wishes
Gus and Hermann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing