We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New on the block”
Review of Butcher Block

Butcher Block
Ranked #35 of 131 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Very big restaurant but I can not fault the service or willingness to please! The 200g sirloin was delicious and served medium as requested! The chateaubriand was excellent. A superb meal. The only gripe is the cloakroom which is not situated in the restaurant and needs a lot of attention!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Butcher Block
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2017

I love this place, it's a really good steakhouse and has decent seafood options too. Nice fresh design and atmosphere, not your typical hotel restaurant at all. Always had a nice group of people without being crowded.

Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savanah S, Marketing ManagerT at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Finally got a table without reservation. We really cant complain about anything except keep improving the standards that you have set. Our food was good and service really good thank you.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

My husband and I recently visited the Butcher Block for dinner based on raving reviews from our friends. We arrived at 9:00 pm and we were rushed through the menu, told that the kitchen is closing although the restaurant closes at 10:30 pm and asked to place the order as we sat down. Not having looked through the menu properly, we just picked the grilled chicken and prawns and some quick drinks. We ordered two starters to share as well. I was hungry and had been looking forward to this dinner all day. The starter arrived about 20 minutes after the order was placed and it was not what we ordered, and they had forgotten the second starter, our main course then arrived, also missing items on the plate, we were irritated by that time, we complained about the items missing from the plate and the waiter brought an additional two prawns to make up for the items but he was very distracted and trying to clear up his tables and finish up for the evening and rush us to finish up as well. It was definitely our first and last visit. It was a very unpleasant and disappointing experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathysheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Hi there, we are so sorry you had an unpleasant experience. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Dear Desly (Manageress on duty, 12 January 2017 @ 21:00)

Your "quick, brush it off" attitude stinks. Your menu states that you serve baked cheese cake. However, after a piece of tasteless fridges cheese cake landed on my table & questioned the waitress, your response was "We never served baked cheese cake! ". Update your menu!!!! This was my fifth visit.... never again!

Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Hi there, we are so sorry you had an unpleasant experience. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butcher Block also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Butcher Block? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing