We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend - BEST choice to stay :) !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crooked Tree Cottage
Ranked #4 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Girls weekend - BEST choice to stay :) !!”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The best guest house .. clean .. spacious and off course a view of the ocean from your balcony !! It should get a 5 star as that is the treatment you receive there .. We can agree the hosts are lovely, warm, generous and so helpful. They do care about their guests .. and don't forget about Helen's delicious breakfasts :) !!! We fell in love with Umhlanga and the guest house is situated near ALL the hotspots and the beach .. you will definitely be seeing the bachelorettes again :) !! Thanks again Reinhardt and Helen !!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartiHolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    45
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
22
38
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Can't fault this B&B. Owners were lovely and very helpful.

Loved the mini kitchen for guests, very handy.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjduthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This B&B is amazing. Just a few minutes from the airport, in an upscale area (it feels safer than a lot of Durban), and very close to the beach. My wife and I spent several days there in September 2011 and found the hosts to be gracious, knowledgeable and accomodating (thank you Reinhart and Helen). We never had the time to take them up on their b/fast and/or drinks offer but we have no reason to think it was anything less than great. The location is within walking distance to the beach (especially for us lazy Americans) but we drove since it only took about a minute to get there. Parking is challenging for larger vehicles but we never
had a problem since we had a tiny VW Polo (but watching this guy trying to fit his jeep Grand Cherokee in his spot was hilarious). The patio, view, room size, and amenities were awesome. My thanks to the hosts for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorRabbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. It was great to meet you both and host you. I hope you were not too exhausted to enjoy the rest of your SA trip after all the family visits!!! Hopefully we will see you again when you are in Umhlanga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This place is located at a walkable distance from the sea-shore and got some nice view of the sea from some of the rooms. The breakfast served is quite interesting and the owner of the hotel takes special care to make you feel comfortable. The rooms are neatly done and the staff takes care to maintain the place well. I would recommend this place for a short business or a leisure trip.

Room Tip: There are rooms available with the sea view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kannandgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Excellent Views, Good food and great hosts. The Location is close to some of the best shopping centres and restuarants in the Durban Area. The rooms are clean and well serviced.

Room Tip: Room 5 or 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.9 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
1.4 km away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.8 km away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Tree Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Tree Cottage

Property: Crooked Tree Cottage
Address: 39 Hilken Drive | Umhlanga, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,459 - ₹ 6,075
Hotel Class:3 star — Crooked Tree Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in November 2005, Crooked Tree Cottage is a 6 room accommodation establishment located in Umhlanga, Durban, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa. Umhlanga is a premier holiday destination and has the added advantage of being close to some of the business giants located at La Lucia Office Park, Ridgeside (a new development), Gateway and Mount Edgecombe. So we can cater to both the Holiday visitor and Business person alike. There is plenty to do in the area for both types of visitors – beaches, conference centers, restaurants, township tours, kite surfing, mountain biking and most importantly, King Shaka Airport is only 15 min away. Crooked Tree is run by Reinhard and Helen Oehler, both of whom like to take a personal approach to running things. Reinhard is Chief Cook as the breakfasts are his specialty, and Helen runs things in the background, managing bookings, marketing and accounts etc. They both however like to interact with as many of their guests as possible and are often found chatting away at breakfast time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Crooked Tree Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing