We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moruti”
Review of Breakers Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakers Resort
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Excellent place, good for families, church groups and other groups! Ideal for vacations, weddings,celebrations,graduations. It is a holiday destination, a hideout place with lots of pleasanties, Breaker Resort is actually the best place I have seen so far and I will make it my destination place every time I holiday to KZN

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Odirile Cosmus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Breakers gets better with every visit. We have been on three occasions, and every time we go, we find something else to like about it. On this most recent last occasion, despite it being the middle of June, we went for slightly longer than a two-day weekend. This gave us more time to explore. Staying in a ground floor unit is definitely a recommendation. It allows you to access the facilities so much easier, and the additional cost is well worth it. We took a walk to the beach which is really nearby. The swimming pools were also open, although the water was a little chilly. The restaurant is convenient, and the facilities for children really makes Breakers a hit. I can't wait to return in December for what I expect will be a really good festive atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ground floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

I've just come back from a week long break in Durban. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Breakers resort. The general facilities were great especially for the kids. Our room was also very well specced. We couldnt have asked for a better place to stay. We loved the braai facility.

What we missed though was wi-fi. Though not a top priority for us during our stay, an establishment of their standard should have wi-fi as standard.

Will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kabi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the private residence in unit 127 that I booked through the breakers resort. The drains were clogged every time someone showered, the room floors were grimy, the cleaning staff rude, no remote for a tv, room infested with mozzies, doors squeaked, windows were unable to close. And although advertised as a 6-sleeper self catering unit - there were 2 cereal bowls and 1 glass. More disturbing was the management staff of the private residence who never followed up with us despite our complaints and seemed lethargic. I will NEVER recommend anyone staying there! Very disappointing! Way overpriced!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Kay271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

Dirty rooms, drains blocked twice in a day - actually had hair coming up from the drain while using the bath...UGGGG.

Two great TVs but one remote. Everytime you change the channel in one room, it changes in the other room. So we all watch Disney together.

Mosquito infested.

Don't stay here. Enough other places on the same road.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Essack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
423 reviews
1.7 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
378 reviews
1.6 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,152 reviews
2.6 km away
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhl...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Resort

Address: 88 Lagoon Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#7 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: ₹ 6,934 - ₹ 11,643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Expedia so you can book your Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing