We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
73
90
21
9
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
90
21
9
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature reserveself cateringbathroom unitwarmly welcomed at receptionsparkling cleanwater polonaughty monkeysputt putthave stayed at severaltaxi farenature trailspent weekshair salonsecurity gatesplash poolla lucia mallserviced daily
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2017

I've just come back from a week long break in Durban. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Breakers resort. The general facilities were great especially for the kids. Our room was also very well specced. We couldnt have asked for a better place to stay. We loved the braai facility.

What we missed though was wi-fi. Though not a top priority for us during our stay, an establishment of their standard should have wi-fi as standard.

Will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KabiK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the private residence in unit 127 that I booked through the breakers resort. The drains were clogged every time someone showered, the room floors were grimy, the cleaning staff rude, no remote for a tv, room infested with mozzies, doors squeaked, windows were unable to close. And although advertised as a 6-sleeper self catering unit - there were 2 cereal bowls and 1 glass. More disturbing was the management staff of the private residence who never followed up with us despite our complaints and seemed lethargic. I will NEVER recommend anyone staying there! Very disappointing! Way overpriced!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Kay271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

Dirty rooms, drains blocked twice in a day - actually had hair coming up from the drain while using the bath...UGGGG.

Two great TVs but one remote. Everytime you change the channel in one room, it changes in the other room. So we all watch Disney together.

Mosquito infested.

Don't stay here. Enough other places on the same road.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Essack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Once again our stay was joyfull, and exellent as allways, with a clean well looked after facility, with all services necessary for a enjoyable holiday. Thank you Breakers for a nice breakaway. The apartment and facilities was allways serviced on time and to our liking. The entertainment for guests was suitable for all ages.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Flipd24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We spent a week at the Breakers resort in Umhlanga Rocks during May 2017. The resort has been refurbished and looks stunning.
We had a 2-bedroomed unit on the 11th floor that had an amazing view of the ocean and especially of the brilliant sunrises.
With the long walkway that stretches all the way to the Lighthouse, it is a real pleasure to take long walks along the waterfront.
The Breakers also has complimentary transport from the resort to various Malls.
You can arrange a trip to The Gateway for some shopping or movies or just a visit to La Lucia mall for a bit of variety.
There was entertainment arranged every day for the whole week and at night the restaurant offered a variety of meals at very competitive prices.
Overall a very lovely place to spent some "me"-time.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea-view, the higher, the better
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Johnny_Enslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews