We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place in Umhlanga”
Review of Breakers Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakers Resort
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

Dirty rooms, drains blocked twice in a day - actually had hair coming up from the drain while using the bath...UGGGG.

Two great TVs but one remote. Everytime you change the channel in one room, it changes in the other room. So we all watch Disney together.

Mosquito infested.

Don't stay here. Enough other places on the same road.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Essack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017

Once again our stay was joyfull, and exellent as allways, with a clean well looked after facility, with all services necessary for a enjoyable holiday. Thank you Breakers for a nice breakaway. The apartment and facilities was allways serviced on time and to our liking. The entertainment for guests was suitable for all ages.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Flip d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We spent a week at the Breakers resort in Umhlanga Rocks during May 2017. The resort has been refurbished and looks stunning.
We had a 2-bedroomed unit on the 11th floor that had an amazing view of the ocean and especially of the brilliant sunrises.
With the long walkway that stretches all the way to the Lighthouse, it is a real pleasure to take long walks along the waterfront.
The Breakers also has complimentary transport from the resort to various Malls.
You can arrange a trip to The Gateway for some shopping or movies or just a visit to La Lucia mall for a bit of variety.
There was entertainment arranged every day for the whole week and at night the restaurant offered a variety of meals at very competitive prices.
Overall a very lovely place to spent some "me"-time.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea-view, the higher, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Johnny_Enslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

We love staying at The Breakers!! Out of all the main hotels on Lagoon Drive, we think it has the best outdoor area. Lovely swimming pools, water slides for kids and a large grassy area. We use our timeshare points to get a 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom unit for 6 of us (parents, grandparent and 3 young men...21 and two 17 year olds). The space is clean and the beds are comfortable. Sleeper couch is semi-comfortable. Kitchen area is tiny but we manage just fine. We love that they have braai/bbq facilities and a lovely table and chairs area under cover if one chooses to eat downstairs rather than in one's room. The lounge/bar area is very nice and comfortable and perfect to have people over for drinks/coffee. The service at The Breakers is excellent, however, the food is not. Quality of food has definitely gone down since we were there 3 years ago. Note that the food is not managed by The Breakers but is separately owned. Pizza wasn't bad; burgers were not good. Other downside is that the hotel offers very little free wifi...100 megs in a 24-hour period. Over and above that, one has to purchase from a private company. All in all though, still a great place to stay and we hope to return again in a few years.

Room Tip: High up so the monkeys don't get in and so you can get a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank yawellnofine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

My husband and I had the absolute pleasure to stay at the Breakers from Saturday, 8 April- 15 April 2017. We flew from Johannesburg to King Shaka International airport (Kulula). The airport is a mere 30 minutes drive from Breakers Resort. This proved to be a far better alternative than driving down to the coast. We made use of local taxis for lunch and did not have to struggle with parking during the busy holiday season. We used King Shaka airport Transfers for our airport transfers which were reliable.

We were warmly welcomed at reception. Check-in was friendly, quick and hassle- free. Our unit was sparkling clean and equipped with everything we needed. We experienced a problem with our air conditioner which was immediately attended to and sorted.

Day visitors were not allowed during our stay (school holiday). This ensured that the resort, although busy never felt crowded.

Whilst the resort boasted a variety of entertainment during our stay we enjoyed leisurely strolls along the promenade and beach. The heated pool was quiet and a real life saver in the heat.

We ordered pizza from Harry’s on our last evening and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Each and every staff member we encountered was very friendly and made us feel even more at home. The security guard who operate the boom to the parking area deserves a special mention. He welcomed us back like family with warm and friendly smiles.

Breakers resort was once again the perfect place to recharge and rest in a relaxing coastal ambience.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank zerwickrenatevictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
428 reviews
1.7 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,180 reviews
2.7 km away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
388 reviews
2.6 km away
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhl...
#13 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Resort

Address: 88 Lagoon Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#7 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: ₹ 7,114 - ₹ 11,664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing