We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
73
90
21
9
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
90
21
9
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature reserve self catering bathroom unit warmly welcomed at reception sparkling clean water polo naughty monkeys putt putt have stayed at several taxi fare nature trail spent weeks hair salon security gate splash pool la lucia mall serviced daily
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2017

We love staying at The Breakers!! Out of all the main hotels on Lagoon Drive, we think it has the best outdoor area. Lovely swimming pools, water slides for kids and a large grassy area. We use our timeshare points to get a 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom unit for 6 of us (parents, grandparent and 3 young men...21 and two 17 year olds). The space is clean and the beds are comfortable. Sleeper couch is semi-comfortable. Kitchen area is tiny but we manage just fine. We love that they have braai/bbq facilities and a lovely table and chairs area under cover if one chooses to eat downstairs rather than in one's room. The lounge/bar area is very nice and comfortable and perfect to have people over for drinks/coffee. The service at The Breakers is excellent, however, the food is not. Quality of food has definitely gone down since we were there 3 years ago. Note that the food is not managed by The Breakers but is separately owned. Pizza wasn't bad; burgers were not good. Other downside is that the hotel offers very little free wifi...100 megs in a 24-hour period. Over and above that, one has to purchase from a private company. All in all though, still a great place to stay and we hope to return again in a few years.

Room Tip: High up so the monkeys don't get in and so you can get a great view.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank yawellnofine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

My husband and I had the absolute pleasure to stay at the Breakers from Saturday, 8 April- 15 April 2017. We flew from Johannesburg to King Shaka International airport (Kulula). The airport is a mere 30 minutes drive from Breakers Resort. This proved to be a far better alternative than driving down to the coast. We made use of local taxis for lunch and did not have to struggle with parking during the busy holiday season. We used King Shaka airport Transfers for our airport transfers which were reliable.

We were warmly welcomed at reception. Check-in was friendly, quick and hassle- free. Our unit was sparkling clean and equipped with everything we needed. We experienced a problem with our air conditioner which was immediately attended to and sorted.

Day visitors were not allowed during our stay (school holiday). This ensured that the resort, although busy never felt crowded.

Whilst the resort boasted a variety of entertainment during our stay we enjoyed leisurely strolls along the promenade and beach. The heated pool was quiet and a real life saver in the heat.

We ordered pizza from Harry’s on our last evening and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Each and every staff member we encountered was very friendly and made us feel even more at home. The security guard who operate the boom to the parking area deserves a special mention. He welcomed us back like family with warm and friendly smiles.

Breakers resort was once again the perfect place to recharge and rest in a relaxing coastal ambience.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank zerwickrenatevictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

stayed in a 2 bed 2 bat unit. would not recommend using the couch as it is not comfortable for adults. free parking. fantastic pools. hawaan forest right next door and well worth a visit. resort is family friendly and not noisy

Room Tip: 4th and 5th floor have balconies
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haroun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

We order tequilas they don't have shot glasses! They ask if they can serve them in whiskey glasses which we agree to.... 20 mins later the waiter returns to say they didn't have enough whiskey glasses for the tequilas. Bacardi was pre ordered by friends the day before arrival, they ran out after the 1st round of drinks. The bar service became so bad that we eventually brought our own drinks and didn't order from the bar. Spoke with other patrons who agreed that the service gets worse and worse every year.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Daydream707555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

We enjoy the breakers and come here annually for a weeks holiday. Quite a few activities for the kids. The restaurant is slow in busy times and if you would like to go for dinner I suggest the Sands down the road as an alternative. Otherwise pleasant enough to stay

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank IvanL3756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews