We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk with the giraffes before dinner by the fire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2016

A non-pretentious, peaceful lodge amidst a gentle game park with zebras, nyalas, giraffes... Suitable for those who want to spend a day or two or more in African nature, in a comfortable log cabin, sit by the fire in the evening ... and conveniently located close to Dumazulu Zulu cultural village and Hluhluwe game park... Book a game drive with them; their guides are amazing...

Room Tip: ask for a room further away from the restaurant if you want giraffes walking past your lodge or clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Skebenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2016

We were part of a Grand Circle tour with 41 people, we staying here for two nights in room 24. It was at the end of the boardwalk, the last room before needing to take a shuttle. It was a pleasant unit with living room and bedroom, a refrigerator, and front and side porch. Morning and night two Red Duikers ran around in front of our unit, and one early evening we were surprised to see 3 adult giraffes, 15 feet from the boardwalk path right near our room.

Meals were buffets with an excellent variety and all staff were friendly and helpful. There is a nice viewing deck, with roof, and chairs and tables overlooking a water hole. It is truly an oasis in the bush!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushGM, General Manager at Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Thank you for your positive comments, really glad you enjoyed your stay at Bushlands and had a great "Wildlife" experience. We hope you enjoy the rest of your vacation in our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

An oasis in the bush. What a pleasant surprise. The Lodge was unfortunately fully booked at the time of our reservation with a large group. The management (Courtney and Tracey) were fantastic and assisted us with a self catering unit, but arranged to include us in the breakfasts and dinners. Although they were catering for the group we were discretely settled so that we did not feel swamped, but were included in the activities which were arranged for the group at dinner. The service was attentive and the food (buffet dinner on first night and 3 course on second) was most enjoyable. Tracey ensured that we experienced all that the Lodge had to offer. We had thought that the wooden walkways only led to the accommodation units, but lucky for us we were taken down one of them and what a treat awaits at the end. An upmarket hide, overlooking a water hole which provides a never ending display of game and birdlife. So special. Thank you for the attention to detail and a most fantastic stay. The Lodge is within easy driving distance to the Hluhluwe Game Reserve and Bushlands offers game drives if one does not wish to self drive.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank afroconf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushGM, General Manager at Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate your positive comments and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We were a combined family of 9: 4 adults, and 5 kids ranging from 7 to 15. 4 of our party had never been to Africa before. The lodge's guide, the amiable Siyabonga, drove us on two afternoons to Hluhluwe (half an hour's drive away) on a guided tour, and he did a fantastic job of it. The American cousins were enthralled. We also were able to wander in the extensive grounds of the game lodge, where giraffe and nyala came quite close to our accommodation. We stayed in a large house, which meant we didn't have to worry about the kids disturbing other guests. The atmosphere of the lodge is relaxed and friendly, and the food is delicious, plentiful and varied. Excellent value all round.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank alisonandfamily23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushGM, General Manager at Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your family holiday and hope that your memories of Bushlands will be remembered in years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Great place to be, very friendly staff really taking care of you. Had some nice observations on the viewing deck. Good food around the camp fire. 2 nights enough though, moving on now to St. Lucia. Good place !

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank Robbert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodersonLeisure, Guest Relations Manager at Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Hi Robbert E,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself and got to experience our local wildlife from our viewing deck.

We hope you visit us again!

Regards,
Gooderson Leisurea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
8.7 km away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
11.2 km away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
135 reviews
3.0 km away
Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 km away
Bayala Game Lodge
Bayala Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
30 reviews
11.7 km away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#6 of 7 in Hluhluwe
73 reviews
24.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge

Address: Lot H99, Bushlands Road, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Price Range: ₹ 6,209 - ₹ 8,214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushlands Game Hotel Hluhluwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing