We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Emdoneni Lodge(Hluhluwe)
US$ 191
US$ 171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ama Zulu Guesthouse(Hluhluwe)(Great Value!)
US$ 67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Leopard Walk Lodge(Hluhluwe)(Great Value!)
US$ 124
US$ 119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 165
US$ 134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Fever Tree Guest House(Hluhluwe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
26
47
17
3
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
47
17
3
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsviewing deckthe reservebuffet dinnerbird lifethoroughly enjoyed our staybuckzebrawildlifenaturelodgeaccommodationgameafricawaterholebomatreesbush
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We were part of a Grand Circle tour with 41 people, we staying here for two nights in room 24. It was at the end of the boardwalk, the last room before needing to take a shuttle. It was a pleasant unit with living room and bedroom, a refrigerator, and front and side porch. Morning and night two Red Duikers ran around in front of our unit, and one early evening we were surprised to see 3 adult giraffes, 15 feet from the boardwalk path right near our room.

Meals were buffets with an excellent variety and all staff were friendly and helpful. There is a nice viewing deck, with roof, and chairs and tables overlooking a water hole. It is truly an oasis in the bush!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushGM, General Manager at Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Thank you for your positive comments, really glad you enjoyed your stay at Bushlands and had a great "Wildlife" experience. We hope you enjoy the rest of your vacation in our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

An oasis in the bush. What a pleasant surprise. The Lodge was unfortunately fully booked at the time of our reservation with a large group. The management (Courtney and Tracey) were fantastic and assisted us with a self catering unit, but arranged to include us in the breakfasts and dinners. Although they were catering for the group we were discretely settled so that we did not feel swamped, but were included in the activities which were arranged for the group at dinner. The service was attentive and the food (buffet dinner on first night and 3 course on second) was most enjoyable. Tracey ensured that we experienced all that the Lodge had to offer. We had thought that the wooden walkways only led to the accommodation units, but lucky for us we were taken down one of them and what a treat awaits at the end. An upmarket hide, overlooking a water hole which provides a never ending display of game and birdlife. So special. Thank you for the attention to detail and a most fantastic stay. The Lodge is within easy driving distance to the Hluhluwe Game Reserve and Bushlands offers game drives if one does not wish to self drive.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank afroconf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushGM, General Manager at Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate your positive comments and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We were a combined family of 9: 4 adults, and 5 kids ranging from 7 to 15. 4 of our party had never been to Africa before. The lodge's guide, the amiable Siyabonga, drove us on two afternoons to Hluhluwe (half an hour's drive away) on a guided tour, and he did a fantastic job of it. The American cousins were enthralled. We also were able to wander in the extensive grounds of the game lodge, where giraffe and nyala came quite close to our accommodation. We stayed in a large house, which meant we didn't have to worry about the kids disturbing other guests. The atmosphere of the lodge is relaxed and friendly, and the food is delicious, plentiful and varied. Excellent value all round.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank alisonandfamily23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushGM, General Manager at Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your family holiday and hope that your memories of Bushlands will be remembered in years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Great place to be, very friendly staff really taking care of you. Had some nice observations on the viewing deck. Good food around the camp fire. 2 nights enough though, moving on now to St. Lucia. Good place !

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank Robbert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodersonLeisure, Guest Relations Manager at Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Hi Robbert E,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself and got to experience our local wildlife from our viewing deck.

We hope you visit us again!

Regards,
Gooderson Leisurea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

The neighorbood of the Hluhluwe valley is full of lodges from very basic to very high level.

We specifically enjoyed the Gooderson Game lodge due to its authenticity, quiet atmosphere and relaxing environment. Although not specifically suited to see the big five it still heaven for the many birds one can spot. The small bedrooms are located in the reserve on walking distance from the main building. Don’t expect a high level of comfort, nonetheless it is quite an experience to see the wildlife passing by in the early morning. A special experience are the wooden walking stretches you need to take to go from the lodges to the main building.

Meals are probably not the most abundant but still prepared with love and of good quality. The same accounts for the breakfast. After a meal you can enjoy a last drink at the camp fire.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Philip3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews