We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (669)
Filter reviews
669 results
Traveller rating
322
236
70
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
236
70
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews side trips charity auction zulu nyala game lodge the reserve south africa cape town safari experience indian ocean buffet style richards bay photo safari elephant interaction rented a car water buffalo cheetah rehabilitation center upgraded room
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 669 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We purchased the "package" at a charity auction, as it turns out most guest did as well. To enjoy Zulu Nyala, it is important to understand what it is... and what it is not.
It is not some roadside petting zoo where neglected non-wild animals are housed for your viewing pleasure. It is not a National Park, with miles of open land and more intermittent sightings of widely disbursed animals.

This facility seeks to strike the middle with natural animals in a wild , but constrained (5000 acre) setting, so daily sightings are nearly assured, and repeat sightings of the same animals during the week are highly likely.

We found the experience very entertaining, and enjoyable. It helped that we had a "regular group" of fellow safari guests with whom we shared the week. It also helped to take advantage of some of the various excursions offsite to see and experience different things.

If you're looking for a solid safari experience, that caters to first-timers looking for a lot of sightings, this could be your place.

Room Tip: We like the Game Lodge the best, it is a smaller facility on a nice vista.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank j h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

I had a upgraded room which was fine. It looked sort of like bordello meets safari. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The sculptures and art are very cool.. They provide one large bottle of water a day to make coffee, brush your teeth, and hydrate. It was very hot and so I used all my water every day. They charge extra for additional water. The staff in the dining room and bar were very friendly and hospitable despite the fact that they serve a lot of people every day. The buffet and a la cart meals were pretty darn good. The game drives were good. There is one cheetah and three elephants here and no predators. You can walk around safely at night. The reserve is small. I met a lot of nice people from all over the world.

Room Tip: I had an upgraded room with a nice view near the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank karenmI8457CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

There are some negative reviews, which I don't get. This is a good value for the money. We had a incredible room but we did upgrade so I would recommend that. This is a stunning setting. Nyala deer were fighting in front of our room. We had monkeys jumping around. The game drive is wonderful. Sandiso was the best guide! We stayed at the Heritage Hemingway Tents for 4 nights and they were a lot more livelier but if you want quiet, sitting by the pool, etc. you can't beat this! We felt like we were at Juristic without the drama. Everybody buys this at an auction. It is much less expensive than Phinda, etc. and the private, private reserves but this may be more authentic. We saw TONS of animals. I think if you go to Kruger and some of the other places, you are not going to see as much. Everything was incredibly clean. Food was about a 3 or 4. Lots of food and nice quality but honestly, the rolls were a little dry and the meat a little overcooked (easy to solve). Desserts were great. We did not experience any rude receptionist. Rico at the front desk was great!

Stayed: March 2018
3  Thank Sharpie197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

My fiancee and I just returned from South Africa, where we spent six days at Zulu Nyala, three in the Hemingway tents and three at the game lodge. Like everybody else, we won the trip through a charity auction. Aside from French bus tours, everybody else there is almost certainly an auction winner, too. As somebody else noted in a previous review, this is a good "entry level" safari. Our guide was Jaques and he was a rock star. We also went out one day with Ruan (not sure if that is the correct spelling - it's like Juan but with an R) and he was very good as well. We rented a car and drove there from the Durban airport, which I would recommend doing instead of taking their transfers. It allowed us to do other trips away from ZN for much less than they charge you there to arrange for you. For instance, we did a full day safari at Hluhluwe–iMfolozi Park with Heritage Tours that was wonderful. It's a gorgeous park that is worth seeing just for the scenery, although we saw a lot of great animals there, too. I'd recommend just staying at the Game Lodge and avoiding the Heritage Lodge or the Hemingway Tents. I didn't think they (the tents) were worth it. The Game Lodge is nice, and you might want to consider upgrading your room. The ones that come with the base package are perfectly fine, but it looked like the "upgraded" rooms were much nicer and not too much more. The pool is very nice and has a spectacular view. Monkeys, warthogs and nyala roam around all over the grounds, very cool! They said giraffes occasionally stick their heads up nearby too but we missed that :( Overall a very enjoyable and worthwhile trip!

Room Tip: Consider upgrading from the base package that comes with the auction package.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Zulu Nyala and loved the experiences of looking for the animals. Twice a day safari excursions and occasional off site excursions were a good mix to really be comfortable and cared for in South Africa. Trip was through a fundraiser and many of the other guests were also. Many midwestern USA travelers. A bit rugged but that is what we expected. Almost felt like family. Well cared for. Great photos

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews