We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”
Review of The Green Mango

The Green Mango
Ranked #50 of 736 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Five of us has lunch last Sunday at the Green Mango. The food was simply fantastic and good value for money. All of us enjoyed our meals and definitely going back soon. One drawback, no pudding menu!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wacky999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

I stopped there for lunch before heading to tge airport. I tried crispy duck with fried noodles which was very delicious. Fried calamari with sauce was also good. Love to be back if I go back to Durban again.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Dounghatai D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

I am not a sushi fan, so I always take a bit of persuading to go to Green Mango, but I'm never disappointed when I get there. The sushi fans loved it- they say that Green Mango sushi is the real deal, lots of variety and not just the same ingredients in different shapes with fancy names. Following an excellent tempura courgette starter, my crispy chili chicken was a revelation. A whole baby chicken quartered in a crisp coating and a delicate sweet chili sauce- beautifully done. Deep fried ice cream was good but not to quite the same standard. A competent wine list and friendly service rounded off the experience. I wish we lived closer.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

If you want fresh and tasty food look no further....devine sushi and lots more to choose from (Thai / Japanese ). Friendly staff, awesome food - what else is left to say! Go ahead and give it a try when you are in the area. Safe parking right outside..

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FoodTrav786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

i am a resident of Durban and a huge fan of what the suburbs of Morningside, Essenwood & Windermere have to offer BUT i wasnt aware of this gem of a place until i came across it on the Shot' Left website....Wow. It is an amazing little restaurant.

the first night was on the 30th June 2017 on Friday where i bought sushi take-aways and these were amazing and i will definitely come back for more.

on saturday the 1st July 2017 amongst the hussle and bustle of the Durban July myself and the mam went for an early lunch at this establishment. she ordered Thai angry duck dish and i am proud to note that after many many attempts she was a fan of Thai food....great going there Green MAngo. we will be coming back. i enjoyed a japanase chicken and noodles dish thoroughly...

great ambience to suit
excellent service
good food
tried and tested. according to Shot' Left it is the longest serving sushi establishment

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mfundom2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Mango also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The Green Mango? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing