We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Fish”

Ocean Basket Marine Parade
Ranked #183 of 734 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: At Ocean Basket Marine Parade you'll find friendly people, a home-from-home feeling and great value for your hard-earned bucks.
Restaurant details
Description: At Ocean Basket Marine Parade you'll find friendly people, a home-from-home feeling and great value for your hard-earned bucks.
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

A really great experience!

Took my family to Ocean Basket including my mom in her wheelchair...unfortunately there was no ramp for the wheelchair but the staff made up for it by sending out four staff members to carry her up the 6 steps leading to the entrance.

Once inside we were served quickly and our order was all correct despite our large table!

The fish, both fried and grilled was excellent! Cooked to perfection!
Definitely ask for an extra portion of lemon butter to drizzle over the meal!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank wendyhR4696WW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Stopped off at the Ocean Basket in Durban after a long day of driving. Service was fast, staff were friendly and the food was fresh and tasty.
We ordered the family platter for 3 of us, and struggled to finish it, so it could easily feed two adults and two young children.
Our waiter was very helpful and great with our over-tired 6 year old. Deserts were also a hit, but found them to be on the small side.
Good place to eat with a young family.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank 298louisew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

freshly prepared, lovely location, good service, lovely waiters/waitresses, good beverage selection, fully halaal

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Hoosains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Love ocean basket, always the freshest fish and a great vibe! Will definitely return and check out their special

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank DylBridger12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

The calamari appetizer was a huge disappointment. It does not compare to that served in the Ocean Baskets in the Cape Town area that I had frequented previously and was hoping to experience again. This Ocean Basket does NOT serve alcohol. They are imposing their religious beliefs on their patrons. This is their prerogative, but as a business owner, I would think they would want to cater to their customers and put their personal religious beliefs aside.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank soling_sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Basket Marine Parade also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Ocean Basket Marine Parade? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing