We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SLOW service!”
Review of Panarottis Gateway

Panarottis Gateway
Ranked #300 of 645 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery
Description: At Panarottis Pizza Pasta Gateway in Umhlanga, quality comes first - it is a key cornerstone of our brand, along with our magnifico Italian-style menu packed full of the best food made from only the finest ingredients. We are well-known for our generous portions, handmade pizzas, delicious pastas and of course our warm, family-friendly atmosphere. Get ready to talk with your hands, because at Panarottis Restaurants, our mouths are always full!
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Delicious pizza's as always but VERY SLOW service. We waited more than 20 minutes for our drinks (1 still water and 1 cream soda). Customers at table next to us eventually got up and left after they received no service for 15 minutes. Really need to do something about the service. Luckily the food was excellent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rofti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panarottis, Guest Relations Manager at Panarottis Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Rofti,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Panarottis Gateway Restaurant. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of service we pride ourselves on.

If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@panarottis.com. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and hopefully turn it around.

Kind regards,
Panarottis Pizza Pasta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2017

From great food to outstanding service, this place offers excellence in both avenues.
Although every dish on offer is amazing, my favourite is the Al Capone pizza and Peri peri chicken livers. Flavours are balanced and served at a perfect temperature. The vibe is perfect for family and friends. I highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CliveNaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panarottis, Guest Relations Manager at Panarottis Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear CliveNaidoo,

Grazie for the magnifico review and rating! Delivering excellent food and service is what we live for - glad you experienced just that.

We hope to offer you many more good experiences with us in the future.

Kind regards,
Panarottis Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

It was my first time at Panarottis after listening to adverts for years on the radio. This review is based only on the vegetarian pizza and flat bread items.

The vegetarian pizza's are bland and lack flavour. I would compare them in taste to the frozen pizza variety you would find in a supermarket. The "flat bread" is essentially a pizza with very thin dough sprinkled with some cheese. Both items were disappointing and poor value for money.

Rather stick to more established outlets like Romans or Dominos which have far better tasting vegetarian options. Give it miss.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Desigan321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panarottis, Guest Relations Manager at Panarottis Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Dear D P,

Thank you for taking the time to review Panarottis Gateway. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of food quality we pride ourselves on.

We would appreciate the opportunity to get in touch with both you and the store's management team. Please email us your contact details along with a copy of this review to customer-care@panarottis.com.

Kind regards,
Panarottis Famiglia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

The Al Capone pizza in crispy base, is out of this world and in my view the best pizza I have ever eaten.
The Service by the waitress ,probably the longest serving employee there, was top notch. She carried out her duties cheerfully and pleasantly. Nothing was a problem for her. Every request to her was eagerly carried out as if she was extremely happy to do so. She was exceptional. The food was tasty and well prepared and served piping hot. I have been there numerous times and will always go back there. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kogan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panarottis, Guest Relations Manager at Panarottis Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Dear kogan m,

Grazie for your amazing review of Panarottis Gateway Family Restaurant. Delivering excellent food and service is what we live for - glad you experienced just that! We hope to offer you many more good experiences with us in the future!

Kind regards,
Panarottis Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Good selection of pizzas with lots of toppings Quick service and staff are friendly. Used them also via the Mr Delivery app and service was outstanding

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mr_MJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panarottis, Guest Relations Manager at Panarottis Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear Mr_MJO,

Thank you for taking the time to review our family restaurant. We're thrilled to hear that the food and service was a hit!

We hope to see you again soon for another good dash of Mediterranean flair.

Ciao,
Panarottis Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panarottis Gateway also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Panarottis Gateway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing