We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best seaviews!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Suncoast Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Suncoast Towers
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
East London
Level Contributor
158 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best seaviews!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

This hotel is wonderful, the design is interesting! The view!! Please ask for sea view room! The shower arrangement is a bit tricky though, there are no walls between the shower, toilet and the bedroom, just doors! Overall, the spot is within walking distance to the casino, so there is an opportunity to blow some money away as well!

There is this lounge area, for cocktails and whatnot, right on the beach that is reserved for guests! I mean what else can you ask for, the staff is efficient and professional. The food is good!

They have this business lounge area (for free!!) which I use all the time for meetings, you feel as if you have access to a business room without paying for it, pretty cool!! Also, you have someone at your door to provide refreshment, it works for me when I am on business in Durban!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, you will be amazed at the
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We appreciate your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    127
    56
    22
    20
See reviews for
84
142
26
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We were on honeymoon in Durban for a week (7 days); I was so sad to leave just because of this Hotel & its Fantastic staff members! The service is great, the rooms are great and the staff were awesome! A Very big thank you for each and every person at the Hotel & Towers for making this an experience to remember and tell friends about. We will most definitely be visiting again soon... A special thanks to Hazel for her friendly assistance and efficient service!

Warm Regards
Rehande Duvenhage

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rehandé S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We appreciate your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

The Suncoast Hotel in Durban is excellent. Service is friendly and efficient, rooms are clean and functional . . . almost too functional . . . my only question mark is that the room is a bit small, with the shower, wash-basin and toilet all integrated into one. I'm not saying I dont like it . . . perhaps just that the Jury is still out . . . .
But everything else is brilliant. Location is wonderful . . . espeacialy the new (well new-ish) Durban beach front esplinade . . . you can walk for miles.
All the amenities you could want are on the complex . . . casino, great restaurants, bars, etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quentin_Sargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We appreciate your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

After staying in this hotel, we went to Europe for a holiday! Well, there is no comparison - this hotel is a cut above the rest when compared to the same star rating in Europe! We had a great stay, with delicious food and a view to kill. Situated perfectly for beach walks (clean, neat and safe!), bike rides, access to sport venues (athletics, swimming, rugby, soccer, etc)! Indeed a wonderful experience with friendly staff and clean, comfortable rooms! the weather was superb too!

Room Tip: Sea facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamDeJager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We appreciate your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We were a group going to see the Tri-nations rugby game. The location is excellent for this as not to far from the stadium. Our guest loved the hotel. Unfortunately we had noisy neighbours that got in at around 3am. The phone in our room also didn't work so we couldn't get room service or complain about our neighbours. The rooms are modern and great for couple staying a night or two, not so sure I would enjoy a long stay there. The restaurant seemed to battle with the mid-morning breakfast run. However the buffet was great. Location tothe beach is also great

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrowthPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We appreciate your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.9 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
1.1 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
2.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.6 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.6 km away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncoast Towers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncoast Towers

Property: Suncoast Towers
Address: 20 Battery Beach Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durban
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#4 Business Hotel in Durban
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,233 - ₹ 20,679
Hotel Class:5 star — Suncoast Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the pulse of Durban’s Golden Mile, the SunCoast Hotel and Towers offers everything a discerning traveller could need: beach views, a casino, excellent service and every modern convenience possible. Unwind on the private pool deck, get a facial at the spa or enjoy a private meal overlooking in the ocean in a luxurious room. This contemporary hotel is Durban’ s ideal getaway spot for all types of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suncoast Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncoast Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing