We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent insight into interesting part of Durban life”

Markets of Warwick Tour
Ranked #19 of 83 Tours in Durban
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Markets of Warwick Tour is a 2.5 hours walking tour through the 9 informal markets in Warwick Junction. Warwick Junction lies on the edge of the Durban's inner-city and is the primary public transport interchange in the city. On an average day the area accommodates 460 000 commuters, and at least 6000 street vendors. Given the confluence of rail, taxi and bus transport, this area has always been a natural market for street vendors. The Markets of Warwick includes between 5000 and 8000 vendors trading in 9 distinct markets. Currently this is the only informally structured market in a public space of this magnitude, and thus establishes itself as the single most authentic African market that South Africa has to offer. The products available vary from beadwork, traditional arts and crafts, traditional cuisine, fresh produce, music and entertainment merchandise, clothing, accessories and traditional medicine. We run tours everyday between 9:30 - 12:00 and 13:00 - 15:30.
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Just to echo all the positives below. We definitely feel we wouldn't have been able to have such a relaxed and informative time at the markets if we had gone on our own. Aside from the information about the markets, our guide had much of interest to say re. South Africa in general and Zulu culture. One of the best things we have done during our Durban holiday. One point to bear in mind ... our guide said that Friday was definitely the best day to visit the markets as it is when the most stalls etc. are open.

Thank RichardAck1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nonhlanhla N, Markets of Warwick Team at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

We appreciate you taking time to write the review, thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Markets of Warwick and in Durban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"traditional healer"
in 2 reviews
"victoria market"
in 2 reviews
"traders"
in 7 reviews
"bovine"
in 9 reviews
"trading"
in 4 reviews
"stories"
in 4 reviews
"stalls"
in 5 reviews
"culture"
in 4 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2017

Well worth doing when visiting durban. Our guide was outstanding.. Very informative and interesting.

1  Thank benrob2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TasmiQ, Research Officer, Asiye eTafuleni at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Happy to hear that your experience was worthwhile and that your guide impressed! We value your feedback, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Loved my walk (in fact two walks) through the Warwick markets. So good to interact with the people that are there selling their wares. Only hate about the whole walk was the Bovine market. It is smelly and not very clean. However they have their customers that go there to eat. I stood on the road with a few others while the rest went to investigate.

I will go back again as i really enjoyed the walk and the people

Thank Lynncooper_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TasmiQ, Research Officer, Asiye eTafuleni at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Glad you enjoyed the experience and interacting with informal traders. Like many informal market hubs around the world that experience high traffic from consumers, commuters, vehicles and different modes of public transport, there are urban cleanliness challenges that are better or worse in different parts of the markets. However as you noticed, many locals still value these markets for providing culturally important goods and services. You are welcome again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

What a great tour! Such an eye opener to how much trade is taking place at these markets. So well organised and very informative. I would recommend this tour to anyone both local and foreign.

Thank you to Toe and the TAC representative.

Thank Bryden N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phumzie1818, Manager at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed the tour and that you are recommending it to others. We are looking forward to your visiting us again in the future. Best regards, The Markets of Warwick Tour Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2017

There are 9 markets in central Durban, and you will be fascinated--everything from bead jewelry to traditional medicinal herbs, and lots of surprises in between. Our guide was friendly and helpful and made it lots of fun. This is a tour that shows you something of Durban that you really wouldn't find on your own. I felt I knew and appreciated the city better and was not just a tourist. Highly recommended!

Thank KLFinTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nonhlanhla N, Tour Coordinator at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. We are very glad that you enjoyed the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Markets of Warwick Tour also viewed

 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Markets of Warwick Tour? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing