We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
This is an amazing expereince

Go and experience the vibrancy of South Africa. You are perfectly safe and the tour guides are... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
dhardman2016
,
Ballito, South Africa
Excellent Guide and Tour. A must do for local and overseas visitors

We were lucky to be the only people on the tour plus it was a Friday and so all the stalls... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Kevan T
,
Pretoria
via mobile
Read all 43 reviews
  
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
32
8
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
8
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

Go and experience the vibrancy of South Africa. You are perfectly safe and the tour guides are friendly and knowledgeable. This shows ubuntu in the true sense where people care and look out for one another. It is a sensory tour not to be missed.

Thank dhardman2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile


We were lucky to be the only people on the tour plus it was a Friday and so all the stalls / Markets were in operation.
The parking under the Victoria Market is tricky to locate in the hustle and bustle of the street.
It is at the far end of Dennis Hurley Street and as you approach the Victoria Market Building there is large sign on the right for the Fish Market parking - it is not this one.
Travel a few meters more SLOWLY and before the traffic light there is run in to the underground parking.
We were met on time at the easy to find Queens Cafe by Jabulani.
There is such a lot one could say about the tour but in summary :-
Its a mind boggling area with massive daily trading going on.
Jubulani , a traditional healer, was very knowledgeable about the markets histories ( there are 9 distinct markets), its semi informal operating structure, the social and economic influences the markets have on Durban and surrounding areas( as well as into Africa) and aspects of the various cultures that operate there.
We did not feel threatened at any time and the traders did not harass us into buying.

Its a walking tour inside and outside ,with steps and stairs and often on unstable ground.
There are course a LOT of people about, with many stalls and alleyways which i think would make it unsuitable for toddlers.

Thank Kevan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

I had great emails/organisation from the organiser before I left Australia. Everything seemed in order and we went to the meeting place at the arranged time. Nobody showed up to greet us and we waited for 45mins.
Fair enough if we were advised or there was a mix up but there wasn't even any follow up email afterwards to advise us what happened. Also worse is the organiser knew we were staying and no message was left for us.
We decided to walk around on our own, but its really a place you would feel more safe with someone from the area. Doing it alone feels dodgey in parts and could of potentially been a bit dangerous.

Thank TravelAgentStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TasmiQ, Public Relations Manager at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

We are responding more fully for the public record, to say that we conducted an investigation into the matter and the following was communicated with Stacey via email communication. We hope this clarifies that the tour was not cancelled out of negligence, but rather because of unfortunate circumstances.

-Considering the tours do not normally operate on a Sunday, this particular tour did receive extra attention and the Tour Guide was verified.
- The Tour Guide reported in to us, the day after the scheduled tour date (5 November 2017) and again provided more details telephonically after receiving this TripAdvisor comment (31 Jan 2018).
- The Tour Guide was waiting at the stipulated and regular meeting spot as communicated to Stacey prior to the scheduled tour date, by a Markets of Warwick administrator.
- The Tour Guide reported that he lingered in and around the meeting spot for 4 hours aided by the Victoria Street Market security guard to approach people to try and identify the tourists that had booked the tour.
- After the Tour Guide informed us about the failed event, we in fact, paid him for his lost time.
- Stacey subsequently verified that she was at the correct landmark, however, the two failed to connect at the specific location.
- The Markets of Warwick administrator provided Stacey with the assigned Tour Guide's cell number in an email communication prior to the scheduled tour date.
- What exacerbated the challenge was that the Tour Guide did not have a local number to get hold of Stacey and could not communicate that he was looking for her at the assigned meeting spot.

We welcome feedback of this nature, but are anxious that any unfortunate circumstances are clarified and communicated to not discourage potential visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Just to echo all the positives below. We definitely feel we wouldn't have been able to have such a relaxed and informative time at the markets if we had gone on our own. Aside from the information about the markets, our guide had much of interest to say re. South Africa in general and Zulu culture. One of the best things we have done during our Durban holiday. One point to bear in mind ... our guide said that Friday was definitely the best day to visit the markets as it is when the most stalls etc. are open.

Thank RichardAck1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nonhlanhla N, Markets of Warwick Team at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

We appreciate you taking time to write the review, thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Markets of Warwick and in Durban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Well worth doing when visiting durban. Our guide was outstanding.. Very informative and interesting.

1  Thank benrob2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TasmiQ, Research Officer, Asiye eTafuleni at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Happy to hear that your experience was worthwhile and that your guide impressed! We value your feedback, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Loved my walk (in fact two walks) through the Warwick markets. So good to interact with the people that are there selling their wares. Only hate about the whole walk was the Bovine market. It is smelly and not very clean. However they have their customers that go there to eat. I stood on the road with a few others while the rest went to investigate.

I will go back again as i really enjoyed the walk and the people

Thank Lynncooper_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TasmiQ, Research Officer, Asiye eTafuleni at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Glad you enjoyed the experience and interacting with informal traders. Like many informal market hubs around the world that experience high traffic from consumers, commuters, vehicles and different modes of public transport, there are urban cleanliness challenges that are better or worse in different parts of the markets. However as you noticed, many locals still value these markets for providing culturally important goods and services. You are welcome again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

What a great tour! Such an eye opener to how much trade is taking place at these markets. So well organised and very informative. I would recommend this tour to anyone both local and foreign.

Thank you to Toe and the TAC representative.

Thank Bryden N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phumzie1818, Manager at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed the tour and that you are recommending it to others. We are looking forward to your visiting us again in the future. Best regards, The Markets of Warwick Tour Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

There are 9 markets in central Durban, and you will be fascinated--everything from bead jewelry to traditional medicinal herbs, and lots of surprises in between. Our guide was friendly and helpful and made it lots of fun. This is a tour that shows you something of Durban that you really wouldn't find on your own. I felt I knew and appreciated the city better and was not just a tourist. Highly recommended!

Thank KLFinTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nonhlanhla N, Tour Coordinator at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. We are very glad that you enjoyed the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Led by a local, one can gain deep insights into the (mostly black) community's trading business and living circumstances. One cannot but perceive the stark contrasts in Southafrica's society. Definetely a must do to understand a bit about the country and its people!

Thank IAmABerliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nonhlanhla N, Tour Coordinator at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Thank you for the review and sharing your great photos. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the experience. Markets of Warwick Tour Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

It was a very interesting and eye-opening experience! Great guide, felt very safe at all times. I would go back for sure...

Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nonhlanhla N, Tour Coordinator at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

We appreciate the review, thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews