We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Intercontinental Hotel, Sandton Johannesburg, South Africa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Intercontinental Hotel, Sandton Johannesburg, South Africa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Flew into Joburg from the States. Just a mere 16 our nonstop flight. Actually wasn't so bad as it was overnight which does make it easier But this review is about the hotel. Arrived in Joburg at the beginning of their winter. Don't let the travel books fool you, when the sun goes down it is COLD!!! And in the early morning. Their winter albeit are mild but just the same have a jacket you can depend on.

On to the hotel, it is a 5 star hotel and the staff is VERY VERY friendly. They will go out of their way to get it, finer it, fetch it. What ever you need. Fortunately, Sandton Mall is right next door and has fabulouse restaurants of if you tire of the hotel fare which is superb. Breakfast is either off the menu or their is this fabulous bat from everything to meats , sushi to the regular breakfast things. I tried purposefully to eat light so I had the nonfat yogurt with fruit and the most wonderful coffee.

We did not do dinner at the hotel. We ventured to the mall and most of the restaurants concentrate on an array of meats like beef, ostrich . My husband found the ostrich wonderfull. I stuck with a white fish that I didn't care for too much. I do have to say that everyplace I ate had the the most tender calamari I have ever had. Flavorful, not tough. It was great.

The rooms are beautiful with spectacular granite bathrooms, the bed are incredibly comfortable. Just make sure you bring enough converters as S.A. Is either 215? Or 220 but we just didn't have enough. You get the morning news delivered to your door each morning. There is a shoe shine fellow in the lobby that really can come in handy,

Security is tight and there is not a problem in Sandton.

Now for my negatives and why I gave it only 4 stars. The Internet voucher you receive seems to constantly go out. It was very annoying. Upon departure I mentioned how the voucher system didn't work so well. She replied,there was an IT guy always there and all I had to do was call him. Shame on me. So....I will,let you be the judge of the Internet.


All in all I would not hesitate to stay there again, nice hotel. I'm just not quite sure it belongs in that special class of 5 star hotels. But still nice.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kkenn4153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Kindly accept my sincere apologies for the late response. I would like to express my sincere thank you for taking your most prestigous time, writting to us and sharing your stay experience with us. We really value your feedback and business support and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the near future

Kind regards,

Josiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    210
    59
    23
    5
See reviews for
48
107
41
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

My stay at the Sandton Towers in August 2010-September 2010 was wonderful. My rooms were on the 23rd and 26th floors. The rooms had modern decor very bright and colorful, marble bathrooms with both Shower and Soaking Tubs. A large (56") Flat Screen TV and Bose Sound System provided plenty of entertainment..The closet area is very roomy with drawers for your clothes and plenty of hanging space and room for luggage (6 lrg pcs). The staff was very accommodating and friendly. We used the laundry service and our clothes were cleaned and ready within hours of drop off. The restaurant had fresh tasty breakfast daily and great dinner choices. I found the Salmon with spinach wonderful. I will stay at the Sandton Towers again on my next visit to Johannesburg South Africa.

Room Tip: All rooms provide wonderful views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorraineLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Apologies for the delay in responding, however, thank you for your positive feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Towers, kind regards, Josiah Montsho, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed here for one night and used their connected business complex the next day. This is an excellant hotel in a good location close to Nelson Mandela square. The staff are attentive and professional. The room I had was clean, well appointed and quite spacious. There is even an ipod dock in the room.The bathroom was pretty large as well. Check in was fast and effiecient. The bar is a nice place though is a touch small but thats down to the relatively small footprint of the hotel. The breakfast in the morning was excellant with a good spread of food and drinks.

The hotel is within walking distance of nelson Mandela square which has a shopping mall and loads of bars and resturants.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stupreece75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed your one night's stay, Best wishes, Josiah Montsho, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is a very nice hotel connected to the Sandton shopping mall and eateries at Nelson Mandela Square. The rooms are spacious, wonderfully done, and very comfortable. There was a large closet in my room and the bathroom was really big. There was also a large working table, which was very comfortable to use. The staff are very warm and welcoming!
The breakfast was very nice. Did not get to try the hotel room service though since there are many good eating options next door at Nelson Mandela Square. All in all, a very nice stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank varunfrnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your kind feedback and for taking your precious time wrting to us and sharing your stay experience. I am realy pleased that the hotel team exceeded your expectations and I look forward to meeting you next time when you are staying at our hotel.

Kind regards,

Josiah Montsho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed at this property for 3 nights. The location was perfect, my room was impeccable. Upon check-in I was upgraded to a Club Room since I am a Six Continents Royal Ambassador. I was informed that I could have breakfast either at the Club or in the coffee shop.

When I was checking out, I was billed for Breakfast. I told the Reception staff that I had been told that breakfast was included in my stay. They were adamant that it was not. I then asked to speak to a Manager. The Manager came and insisted that I had to pay for my Breakfasts. I asked him to check with the lady in the Club Floor who had checked me in. He replied that she was not in that day.

The Manager kept on insisting that I had to pay for the Breakfast. He said that if I didn't pay for the Breakfast the lady who had told me that Breakfast was included in my room would have it deducted from her salary; and he asked me if that is what I wanted to happen!

I said "No". He then said, "Okay let us make a deal. I will split the cost of the Breakfast between you and her salary!".

So that is what happened. I must say that it left a VERY poor taste in my mouth, and tainted the enjoyment of my short visit to South Africa....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisAlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.1 km away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.1 km away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers

Property: InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Address: Corner Maude & Fifth Streets, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandton
#3 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,619 - ₹ 21,349
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the safe hub of Sandton, Johannesburg with direct access to: shopping malls, Sandton Convention Centre, Food, Wine and excursions. Perfect for business of leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers Hotel Sandton
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Hotel
Intercontinental Sandton
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing