We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent food & great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food & great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

The food in this hotel was excellent, worthy of a 5 star hotel. Rob, the Owner's attendance to detail was exceptional. We were made to feel like VIP's by him and the restaurant staff. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had in 40 years of staying in hotels. The reception staff were also very friendly and attentative and courtesy buses, late check outs etc were no issue to them at all.

Pool needed a bit of attention as a tad dirty. Air conditioning struggled a little bit but in fairness it was 30c+ outside. Otherwise I would have given 5 stars to this hotel with no hesitation. These were however minor irritants which were amply compensated for by all the excellent service & food.

Thanks you for a lovely stay. I would defintiedly stay again.

Room Tip: The garden rooms looked very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    105
    32
    8
    4
See reviews for
35
30
18
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

On arrival there was no record of our reservation, even though we booked 4 months in advance.

Room was tired and had not been refurbished for many years. View out of window of some sort of car hire/repair yard.

A/C did not work and the room was very hot and we could not open window as on ground floor and did not feel safe enough during the night and during the day there was some sort of mechanical thumping we could not explain (pile driving or a pump?). I did ask at reception if they had any fans, but no.

After a long flight from UK and a very hot sleepless night we left and treated ourselves to a stay at The Westcliff in Rosebank (which is excellent).

I certainly would not recommed this hotel and certainly would not stay there again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
179 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Not too bad a location but not great - better to stay near to Nelson Mandela Square. Some problems that would make me not come back. No air conditioning and three days of complaints resulted in someone coming up and saying all was well but a/c still didn't work and they said it was too full to move us. Plus we took the key cards for re-keying at least 7 times in three days. Not a place I would choose again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patsychom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namakkal, India
Level Contributor
137 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Enjoyed the stay though it was quite a distance from my office. Good business hotel with a great restaurant. I am vegetarian and the chef was very nice to cook me a good Indian dinner (esp when not on the menu). They had taken the extra effort to please me, speaks really good of them. Concierge organised for the transport and the stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nataraj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

I have been to this hotel like 7 times and each time they are very welcoming,its nice ,the rooms a great though i did notice a bit of wear and tear around that i had not seen in previous years but i would still definately stay agin at the same place

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmkamanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
1.2 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
1.4 km away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
1.1 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.3 km away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#26 of 49 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton

Property: Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Address: 115 Katherine Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,393 - ₹ 10,283
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone from sportsmen to business travelers is attracted to the Southern Sun Katherine Street Hotel in Sandton for its elegance, proximity to Sandton's attractions and welcoming atmosphere. Executive suites have their own kitchenette and dining area, perfect for the traveler staying a bit longer to truly explore the city. The intimate conference facilities are ideal for private business meetings and the restaurant and bar offer a relaxing place to unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing