We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
67
51
20
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
51
20
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamelot spaconference areabathroom floorbustling cityrooms are spaciousbusiness conferencetwo night staygo the extra milemandela squarelovely roomboutique hotelroom servicestayed here for nightsapartmentjohannesburgcomfortproximity
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Our experience at the Capital Moloko was so desapointing as we had various issues.
In overall, staff is very cortejous and try to solve the guests requests, but seems that are issues with overall maintenance of the hotel. I will list a few of the issues we faced since our check in:
- while checking in, we asked for a glass of water and the answer was that water would be found in the room
- we were allocated to room 303 and the room wasn’t properly cleaned, the lift key was not given to us, the air conditioning were not working, one of the rooms was so small that the door was touching the bed when opening, the curtains were falling apart, the walls were dirty, the sofa had some halls. The maintenance manager did come, but overall room condition wasn’t good as he didn’t manage to fix the air conditioning problem.
- We were later moved to room 126 and wasn’t that much better. The air conditioning of the sitting room had water running from it, the cleaning service was awful as we came back and the room was looking messy and were informed by the General Manager that guests clothes are not touched as hotel policy. The garbage collected during cleaning was left in front of our room, the aircon problem wasn’t fixed. After so many problems, we informed that wanted to leave the hotel as the standard was really low and we were transferred to the Capital Empire and we couldn’t believe that both hotels belong to the same group as there is a huge difference between them.
There is lot of work to be done at this hotel and definitely, the 5 stars should be removed.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vercelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

This place privies comfort and tranquillity at its best. A good place for a weekend away. The place is easily accessible from the N3 and M1 freeways. I will surely come back again for a longer stay. Ee you again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RannoiSedumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Outstanding service with good and friendly staff.Keep it up!!!The reception staff and on duty manager present a world class attention to client requests and first sight impression with their welcoming smiles.They deserve a promotion!!

Room Tip: Over head lights too dim.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank O4374QAjulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

When we woke up from our first night,we put the “tidy up room” sign on our door & called concierge to alert house keeping that we were ready for our room to be cleaned. Went out for lunch, AND dinner..when we got back at 8:30pm our room was still not done?! Spoke to the manager Shaun, and he apologized and sent someone to clean up our room. Almost two hours later, were sitting outside our room in the cold waiting for the housekeeper to finish cleaning (poor guy doesn’t even look like housekeeping staff, they never gave him clean towels or cleaning equipment to clean our room). Appalling for a 5 star hotel. Wouldn’t recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Curiosity741807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

This was a brief business stay with an early departure the next morning.

The welcome was friendly and efficient and the room was spacious with a pleasing decor.The aircon was efficient and the bed very comfortable. It was well appointed with all the features one would expect of a 5 star hotel room. There were enough plugs for the charging of computers and phones.

The restaurant was fairly small and the decor wasn't quite up to the same standard as the rooms. The menu was varied although I was disappointed with the pizza I ordered. The cheese was baked hard on to the crust and additional mozzarella was then melted on top - the base was similar to those bought at the supermarket. Dinner was a bit of a disappointment. The cappuccino, however, was great.

The only other negative was that the plug in the bathroom was faulty.

It was a pleasant stay and I would recommend The Capital Moloko

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre_P_DeJager, General Manager at The Capital Moloko, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Andre H,

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at The Capital Hotel Moloko.

We truly appreciate the kind word and the positive feedback, thank you so much for this.
We will be taking the feedback with regards to the pizza that you ordered into review and will ensure that we improve on the offering that you provide.

I hope we will have another opportunity in the near future to welcome you back and provide you with another even more exceptional experience.

Kind Regards,

Andre de Jager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews