We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WATCH OUT FOR THE MENU AND THE SPA”
Review of The Capital Moloko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Capital Moloko
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Items were wrongly priced on menu. There was a discrepancy between the menu and what we were charged. Spa staff were atrocious resulting the the cancelling of spa treatment. Lazy, rude and sarcastic. Book somewhere else.

Room Tip: Check the prices on your bill if you order room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paullI8324RH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Capital Moloko in early Feb 2017. And it appeared we were the only ones! We didn't see a single guest other than ourselves. But we are not surprised.

The hotel itself is lovely. Our room (216) was huge with a small kitchen, open bathroom (separate toilet) and the bed was really comfy.

But that the only good thing about this hotel which for me is not good enough. This hotel would be so much better if the staff looked like they cared. The receptionists, waiters, etc all looked like they were there to do as little as possible. This is a 5 star hotel by the way.

The second problem which for us is a massive problem is the fact they openly have a rat infestation. We had dinner at the hotel and again we were the only ones dining. We sat by the little pond and it was a lovely spot until we saw a rat run past us. We then turned around from where it came from and saw more and more just openly running around in clear view. We told our waiter and his response was "that's nature"... this is a 5 star hotel...

We complained at the reception and asked for the manager - we were told they had gone home but would call the next day. We had no call and no response at all. But the general attitude was "so what if we have rats..."

We paid £1900 rand and we expected so so so much more.

The only factor stopping this review being a 1 star is the rooms. Other than that I would say stay away.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnedette, General Manager at The Capital Moloko, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Dear "Mr. MattC",

As per my communication with your wife, I would like to apologise once again for the unfortunate incident and reassure you that this is a complete isolated incident.

We have dealt with this situation by getting our pest control out to investigate as well as add an additional 40 traps all over our garden and especially by the river as we determined that they came from the river side due to the heavy rains we have had the last couple of weeks. Our pest control company is also currently coming out weekly to make sure that the problem is completely resolved.

Since we have taken the above action we have not seen a single rat again.

We have truly taken every effort possible to resolve this completely, this I can assure you.

I would also like to apologise about the poor attitude yourself and your husband experienced from the staff.
This is not how they have been trained and also not the level on which we run our establishment. I have taken all necessary action to correct this and avoid any future reoccurances going forward.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention and giving us the opportunity to take the necessary corrective action.

I do hope that we will have another opportunity again in future to welcome you back to The Capital Moloko Hotel and provide you with the high level of hospitality and service we strive for.

Kind Regards,

Burnedette Jordaan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Just eaten here and was lucky enough to be joined by several rats. We have pet rats and as such didn't completely freak out but we did tell both our waiter and reception and they couldn't have cared less. Very disappointed as otherwise it is a really nice hotel but I don't expect a 5 star hotel to have a rat infestation and be unbothered by it. We're now just hoping they've kept them out of the kitchen!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LisaJCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnedette, General Manager at The Capital Moloko, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Dear "Ms. LisaJCarter",

I would like to apologise once again for the unfortunate incident and reassure you that this is a complete isolated incident.

We have dealt with this situation by getting our pest control out to investigate as well as add an additional 40 traps all over our garden and especially by the river as we determined that they came from the river side due to the heavy rains we have had the last couple of weeks. Our pest control company is also currently coming out weekly to make sure that the problem is completely resolved.

Since we have taken the above action we have not seen a single rat again.

We have truly taken every effort possible to resolve this completely, this I can assure you.

I would also like to apologise about the poor attitude yourself and your husband experienced from the staff.
This is not how they have been trained and also not the level on which we run our establishment. I have taken all necessary action to correct this and avoid any future reoccurances going forward.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention and giving us the opportunity to take the necessary corrective action.

I do hope that we will have another opportunity again in future to welcome you back to The Capital Moloko Hotel and provide you with the high level of hospitality and service we strive for.

Kind Regards,

Burnedette Jordaan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night at this wonderful place.
The appartment had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Very stylish decorated.
Lovely breakfast at the hotels patio surrounded by a beautiful landscaped garden.
We also enjoyed the free transfer to Nelson Mandela Square.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank TNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnedette, General Manager at The Capital Moloko, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Dear "TNorway",

Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at The Capital Moloko Hotel.

It is wonderful for me to know that we lived up to your expectations and could provide you with a stay to remember, thank you for all the kind words.

I hope that we will have another opportunity in the near future to welcome you back to The Capital Moloko Hotel, it will be a pleasure to have you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Burnedette Jordaan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Having stayed at different Capital hotels over the past few years, my first visit to the Capital Moloko was a refreshing experience. While my go to Hotel chain has been the Capital Group, the Moloko proved to be value for money.

Most imoressive was the size and cleaniless of the rooms. If you are looking for a comfortable, clean room which allows you to relax while doing some work then the Moloko is a greater contender for the general Sandton area. The quiet envinronment is as advertised though occupancy did seem low during my two night stay. I woul however hope managemenr mantains the same quality of service with more guests.

It was refreshing to receive room service within 15 or so minutes of ordering. Though my desert had been ommited from the order in error, the meal was well preoared enough to forgive this.

Pleasent stay with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tnyuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnedette, General Manager at The Capital Moloko, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Dear "tnyuke",

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at The Capital Moloko Hotel.

We truly appreciate the kind word and the positive feedback, thank you so much for this.
You are correct that during your stay our occupancy was a little lower than usual due to it being over the festive holidays and most people visiting coastal areas.

I hope we will have another opportunity in the near future to welcome you back and provide you with another unforgettable experience.

Kind Regards,

Burnedette Jordaan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
2.4 km away
The Capital Empire
The Capital Empire
#20 of 47 in Sandton
221 reviews
1.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
1.1 km away
The Maslow
The Maslow
#12 of 47 in Sandton
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
#22 of 47 in Sandton
163 reviews
1.3 km away
Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
1 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Moloko? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Moloko

Address: 160 Helen Road | Strathavon, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly Moloko Executive Apartments and Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: ₹ 10,638 - ₹ 21,857 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Capital Moloko 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay serene. Stay where you count. All our guests at The Capital Moloko, enjoy complimentary parking, complimentary scheduled transfers to Sandton and complimentary Wi-Fi access. In fact, there is every modern convenience you would imagine - all with the surprise of a hidden garden of tranquillity; calm amid the noise and haste. The Capital Moloko is sublime - especially when it comes to our particularly personal service; quietly attentive; reassuringly exclusive; excellence in supreme hospitality. In fact, while The Capital Moloko is miles apart from any other experience, it's perfectly positioned close to thriving centre of Sandton - the premier 'capital' of South Africa for shopping, business and commerce. For those crucial conferences when business need smaller rooms for important matters to be discussed or the details of big deals to be thrashed out in detail, The Capital Moloko provides the ideal environment - including 3 meeting rooms (that can also used as private dining rooms), a lounge and a restaurant perfect for cocktails. It's a venue perfect for smaller, more intimate celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Capital Moloko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capital Moloko Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing