We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel 224(Pretoria)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Don Arcadia I(Pretoria)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveller rating
155
217
112
47
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
217
112
47
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion buildingsclub floorthe executive loungeblue trainroom rateexcellent hotelroom serviceroom was largechecking incape townrovos railexcellent servicesouth africaone night stayspggymcapital
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
383 - 388 of 552 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We went to the Sheraton over the weekend (4 August 2012) with a couple of friends for pre-drinks before a formal function and were truely disappointed with the lack of service at the Sheraton. We picked this hotel because of its great location and star rating. We requested reception a week prior to our own function to make a booking for 12 people, after which we were advised that we don't need to book as they won't be too busy. We ordered drinks upon our arrival, but after had to ask three times for it and after waiting more than an hour, our drinks were still nowhere to be seen. Some of our friends who arrived early ordered drinks and received theirs but also only after having had to wait for quite some time. The staff was unfriendly and not helpful at all. We visit hotels quite often for a night's stay but this is one hotel that we will not return to or consider as our choice of stay due to this poor service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LeanieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.
I would like to take this opportunity to offer my most sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced

We do appreciate the fact that you elected to ring your experiences to our attention. We assure you that the Management of the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel will action and address the points raised with the relevant departments, in order to provide our guests with the service and products they deserve and rightly expect from the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel.

Once again, please accept our apology for the inconvenience experienced.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Once one of the best hotels in the area, this place is now sinking. I returned this week after enjoying this hotel as recently as a year ago. The physical facility, location, rooftop pool remain nice. BUT:
-- Club floor hardly functions. Wine -and all beverages-- were locked up during happy hour and receptionist had to hunt for keys upon my request. To my surprise in the morning there was no breakfast in the lounge. When I complained reception offered me free breakfast in the dining room, which was awful. And the coffee was undrinkable -- just brown water.
-- Overall restaurant food is inedible, a major problem for a hotel where you can't walk to other places at night. I checked out the dinner buffet on Indian food night and I (who love Indian food) was appalled. Everything looked old, greasy and smelled off.
-- Transportation desk is undependable. I booked an early morning car and it arrived 20 minutes late.

Meanwhile the Sandton and Melrose areas now offer world-class hotels. So no reason to stay at the Pretoria Sheraton.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raherold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, we are appreciate the fact that your that you concern was brought to our attention.

We reviewed your comments regarding you stay with us at the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We do take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues outlined in your review. Your detailing of the problems experienced will contribute greatly in investigating the cause of such issues and taking corrective action. I would like to offer my most sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us.

We most certainly value your business as a client of the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel and will continue to strive to deliver the product and associated services, which you as our guest expects from us.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton Hotel in Pretoria last July 21 as the beggining of our honeymoon trip through South Africa, Zambia and Botswana.

We had no time for sightseeing in the city but our short stay in this hotel was a pleasant beginning of our honeymoon.

The classic-style hotel was ideal for the occasion. The highlight of our stay was during the dinner time when we were asked by Mr. Bruno the reason of our stay and some time later we were surprised with a piece of cake with the phrase "Happy honeymoon" written in our language.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinezc999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. It was nice to hear that Bruno was able to exceed you expectation. The Hotel staff work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the hopefully not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

still gobsmacked by the attitude and poor service i received from 1 of the staff members when checking in. i got the impression that he was doing me a favour after 20min of arguing - he FINALLY checked me in.

added to this, the over-priced breakfast buffet was a surprise: i expected way more variety for the price that i paid.

even though this was a business trip (paid for by my company) - i do not feel that i would return anytime soon

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brad_capetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Pretoria Hotel as your preferred accommodation when visiting Pretoria. I would like to take this opportunity to offer our most sincere apology for the inconveniences you experienced at check-in. We do appreciate the fact that you chose to bring your experiences to our attention.

We most certainly value your business as a client of the Sheraton Pretoria hotel and will continue to strive to deliver the product and associated services, which you as a guest expect from us.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The Sheraton Hotel in Pretoria was everything it should have been, clean, pleasant, with charming and helpful staff.
They were updating the gym when I stayed there (new paint) and seemed to be doing proactive maintenance, which is not the norm for hotels in Africa.
Room service was prompt and very well priced.
The contractual car service that the hotel uses was professional and attentive.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tennismomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel.

Please to hear that you had a “Great Stay” with us. At Sheraton Pretoria Hotel we are constantly striving to improve and deliver the product and associated services, which you as our guest expect from us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Pretoria

Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews