We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option in Pretoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good option in Pretoria”
Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

I don't travel to Pretoria often but have stayed here twice and will stay here again when next in town. The hotel is well situated to the road networks both north and south and to the city's centre. The hotel offers traditional charm and the rooms are lovely (I always book a deluxe room) with a great view across to the Union Buildings. I would happily recommend this hotel for business travelers.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LesRuhrmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy the traditional charm and the great views the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel has to offer. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you for your next stay in Pretoria.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    190
    95
    42
    17
See reviews for
41
154
40
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We went to the Sheraton over the weekend (4 August 2012) with a couple of friends for pre-drinks before a formal function and were truely disappointed with the lack of service at the Sheraton. We picked this hotel because of its great location and star rating. We requested reception a week prior to our own function to make a booking for 12 people, after which we were advised that we don't need to book as they won't be too busy. We ordered drinks upon our arrival, but after had to ask three times for it and after waiting more than an hour, our drinks were still nowhere to be seen. Some of our friends who arrived early ordered drinks and received theirs but also only after having had to wait for quite some time. The staff was unfriendly and not helpful at all. We visit hotels quite often for a night's stay but this is one hotel that we will not return to or consider as our choice of stay due to this poor service.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeanieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.
I would like to take this opportunity to offer my most sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced

We do appreciate the fact that you elected to ring your experiences to our attention. We assure you that the Management of the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel will action and address the points raised with the relevant departments, in order to provide our guests with the service and products they deserve and rightly expect from the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel.

Once again, please accept our apology for the inconvenience experienced.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Once one of the best hotels in the area, this place is now sinking. I returned this week after enjoying this hotel as recently as a year ago. The physical facility, location, rooftop pool remain nice. BUT:
-- Club floor hardly functions. Wine -and all beverages-- were locked up during happy hour and receptionist had to hunt for keys upon my request. To my surprise in the morning there was no breakfast in the lounge. When I complained reception offered me free breakfast in the dining room, which was awful. And the coffee was undrinkable -- just brown water.
-- Overall restaurant food is inedible, a major problem for a hotel where you can't walk to other places at night. I checked out the dinner buffet on Indian food night and I (who love Indian food) was appalled. Everything looked old, greasy and smelled off.
-- Transportation desk is undependable. I booked an early morning car and it arrived 20 minutes late.

Meanwhile the Sandton and Melrose areas now offer world-class hotels. So no reason to stay at the Pretoria Sheraton.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raherold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, we are appreciate the fact that your that you concern was brought to our attention.

We reviewed your comments regarding you stay with us at the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We do take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues outlined in your review. Your detailing of the problems experienced will contribute greatly in investigating the cause of such issues and taking corrective action. I would like to offer my most sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us.

We most certainly value your business as a client of the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel and will continue to strive to deliver the product and associated services, which you as our guest expects from us.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton Hotel in Pretoria last July 21 as the beggining of our honeymoon trip through South Africa, Zambia and Botswana.

We had no time for sightseeing in the city but our short stay in this hotel was a pleasant beginning of our honeymoon.

The classic-style hotel was ideal for the occasion. The highlight of our stay was during the dinner time when we were asked by Mr. Bruno the reason of our stay and some time later we were surprised with a piece of cake with the phrase "Happy honeymoon" written in our language.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinezc999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. It was nice to hear that Bruno was able to exceed you expectation. The Hotel staff work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the hopefully not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

still gobsmacked by the attitude and poor service i received from 1 of the staff members when checking in. i got the impression that he was doing me a favour after 20min of arguing - he FINALLY checked me in.

added to this, the over-priced breakfast buffet was a surprise: i expected way more variety for the price that i paid.

even though this was a business trip (paid for by my company) - i do not feel that i would return anytime soon

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad_capetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Pretoria Hotel as your preferred accommodation when visiting Pretoria. I would like to take this opportunity to offer our most sincere apology for the inconveniences you experienced at check-in. We do appreciate the fact that you chose to bring your experiences to our attention.

We most certainly value your business as a client of the Sheraton Pretoria hotel and will continue to strive to deliver the product and associated services, which you as a guest expect from us.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
2.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
7.5 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
7.1 km away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#3 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#22 of 72 in Pretoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
2.2 km away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#4 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Pretoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Property: Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Address: 643 Corner of Church and Wessels Streets, Pretoria 0007, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pretoria
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#9 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,495 - ₹ 10,343
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Pretoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, situated within the heart of South Africa's dazzling capital city. With sweeping views that command all of Pretoria, exquisite marble flooring, and custom-designed furnishings, our hotel exemplifies beauty and service excellence in the Jacaranda City. After a busy day, return to the comfort of our 175 guest rooms and suites. Bring your friends, colleagues, or loved ones along for a mouth-watering buffet meal at Magnolia restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Pretoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Pretoria
Pretoria Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing