We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Stay Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Business Stay Superb”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I travel globally and this is by far the best hotel I have stayed at.
I travel in Africa and this was by far my best stay.
The food and the service is superb and nothing is too much trouble.

The rooms are spacious and well appointed.

The hotel is secure with plenty of security although I saw no evidence it was required to be used.

The staff are attentive but not pushy.

Can't recommend enough. I will be back.

Room Tip: If you are a Starwood member , they have a special floor on the 5th. Excellent. The hotel has sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 514paulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

We are delighted to hear that you consider your stay at Sheraton Pretoria hotel your “best stay”. Glad that you enjoyed the food and service provided by the hotel, we work exceptionally hard to ensure our guests are safe & happy.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Pretoria

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    191
    95
    42
    17
See reviews for
41
155
40
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Lots of hints of a grand past: the fountains, the marble, the frescos, the cupolas. Less salubrious tones too: security men standing in dark corners silently watching the hotel premises, separate entrance doors for staff. The question is: how does a fabled hotel, accustomed to hosting diplomats and grandees, define itself for the technological age? It's not just about wi-fi (available throughout the hotel; it was fun to skype by the pool) and room temperature control. I mean more in terms of a democratic age, where anyone who can pay is welcome to be a guest at the hotel. A kind of consistency in respect, kindness and hospitality. Not quite there, I don't think.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singhy_the_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Pretoria Hotel as you preferred accommodation when visiting Pretoria, and for taking the time to post your comments.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get, to ensure consistency in the product and associated services, which you as our guest expects from us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the hopefully not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
137 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This has to be one of the more beautiful hotels I've ever stayed at (and I've stayed at a lot). The marble, wood, fountains....just stunning. Staff was exceptional. Service and amenities excellent.
I think a complimentary shuttle to the Gautrain Station would be helpful, but other than that, it is a flawless property.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the legislative building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milklady58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your stay with us at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel We are absolutely delighted to hear that you consider the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel as one of the more beautiful hotel you ever stayed at. Pleased to hear that our staff offered exceptional service, they go out of their way to ensure that our guests are happy.

We look forward to welcoming you back for you next visit to Pretoria

Warm regards,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Typical Sheraton Property that needs some work. Hot water is nonexistent after 0700 hrs. Rooms were clean, but needed some work. Pool is unseated so is useless in June, July, and August. Location is so,so--nothing to do after dark as hotel is in unsafe part of town.

Worse part, is staff is dishonest. In traveling the world on business for over 30 years, this was the only hotel I ever had anything stolen from my room. When brought to the attention of management nothing was done and not even an apology offered.

Would avoid if possible.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDRjhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I first stayed here not long after it opened in a suite that HM The Queen had just vacated the day before - every left me some Malvern water in the fridge. Stayed a few times since and not that special, you could be in any Shearton anywhere. Food very average and the service also, but not a great deal of choice in Pretoria so probably the best option. Great views of the Union Buildings so get a front room.

I think is HM had to return, it would no doubt be refurbished !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted to hear that you stayed with us a few times since the hotel first opened, it’s always nice to have guests return to the hotel. The look of the hotel has not changed much, but we are constantly striving to improve on our services to ensure that our guests are happy and will take your comments into consideration.

Look forward to having you for your next stay in Pretoria

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
2.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
7.5 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
7.1 km away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#22 of 72 in Pretoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
2.2 km away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#3 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Pretoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Property: Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Address: 643 Corner of Church and Wessels Streets, Pretoria 0007, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pretoria
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#9 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,560 - ₹ 9,761
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Pretoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, situated within the heart of South Africa's dazzling capital city. With sweeping views that command all of Pretoria, exquisite marble flooring, and custom-designed furnishings, our hotel exemplifies beauty and service excellence in the Jacaranda City. After a busy day, return to the comfort of our 175 guest rooms and suites. Bring your friends, colleagues, or loved ones along for a mouth-watering buffet meal at Magnolia restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Pretoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Pretoria
Pretoria Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing