We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveller rating
323
171
38
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
171
38
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tsogo sun excellent service indian restaurant cape town exceeded my expectations two oceans go the extra mile room service pleasant stay enjoyed my stay close proximity lovely view breakfast buffet south africa excellent stay table mountain home away from home
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 549 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2015 via mobile

Hotel was lovely. No turn down service which is a bit of a disappointment when you get back after a long day. Breakfast also ended at 10 which means I missed it most of the time as a result of having a baby to see to first. Aircons were a bit ancient. The staff were awesome and very friendly and accommodating.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank laila1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2015

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.

During Season our breakfast ends at 11h00 due to the bigger numbers of guests. (On a "normal" day the breakfast closes at 10h30) Apologies that you were not made aware of this fact.

I may have discussed this with you but our air conditioners were recently installed.

I am pleased that you found the staff friendly.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2015

On Vacation in Cape Town we stayed at this hotel that exceeded my expectations. Very clean, well air conditioned, and unbeatable view of the mountain. The stuff was very efficient and friendly. It was definitely a pleasant experience. Although a little further than down town and water front, it only takes 10-15 min by car to get there and the hotel offers shuttle service to anywhere in town

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank israelr91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2015

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your detailed feedback.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff friendly and efficient.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2015

Perfect location for SA Schools National Waterpolo Tournament.
Have stayed at Hotel on numerous occasions never disapointed.
Excelent service and value all round.
Room equiped with refrigerator and top quality linen.
Definatly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank yolandeb589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2015

Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely feedback.

As always, the team and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2015

I'm not going back there. Dusty rooms, slow to drain shower smells like hospital in room. Was just not too pleased with hotel. Rooms not inviting. Been to many SS's but this one is a huge no for me...

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank dimakatsom864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2015

Thank for staying with us and for your feedback.
I am the lady that you informed about your discomforts and you can be rest assured that I have taken this up with the relevant department heads.

Again, my most sincerest apologies for the inconvenience we caused by supplying you with a room which smelt like a hospital and the slow draining shower. My General Manager and I really appreciate your comments.

This has been discussed with the team in order to improve our delivery in the areas highlighted by yourself. As a gesture of goodwill my General Manager has offered you a complimentary night at our hotel. If you accept the offer please email me at nabila.cassim@tsogosun.com and I shall ensure that I forward you the necessary documentation. Wishing you a wonderful 2016.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2015

An old hotel with updated charm. Rooms are clean and neat. Staff are courteous. Bed is very comfortable. Aircon a bit antiquated, but works. Breakfast is of a good standard. The Indian Restaurant attached is a winner. Avoid rooms close to the lift and service room.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Konrad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2015

Thank you for staying with us and for your detailed feedback.

I am most pleased to know that you enjoyed most of the comforts of the hotel.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews