We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegance in Cape Town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vineyard Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Vineyard Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
551 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Elegance in Cape Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel was marvelous and had comfortable rooms with great views. I enjoyed the restaurant and museum piece displays in the lobby and hallways. The bathrooms could have been a bit more luxurious for the price, but all was comfortable and the staff very helpful and courteous. After a long flight from Dubai, it was a welcome new home.

Room Tip: A ground floor room opens up to lovely gardens and ponds. Excellent place for a night cap and a smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    274
    66
    34
    17
See reviews for
186
477
59
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I, my sister and niece who were on a visit to SA from the US stayed at this hotel for 4 days in February 2012. My niece had a liver transplant a year ago and developed a medical problem in the middle of the night on our last evening there. The night staff were exceptionally helpful: they made contact with a GP at 2am in the morning who spoke to us and advised we go teh nearby casualty. Because we were uncertain of the route one of the night staff fetched a car and we followed him to the casualty rooms. We spent the rest of the night there but on my return and although the hotel was fully booked that night, we were offered a cottage in the garden if we neeeded to extend our stay (at very reasonable rates). We did not in the end take up the offer and decided to fly back to Johannesburg but I wish to commend the staff on their helpfulness and caring attitude.
With regards to our actual experience of the hotel: lovely location, beautiful grounds and fantastic breakfasts. We did have a negative expience when eating dinner on the one evening where we seemed to be forgotten and waited an hour for our second course. We were offered a 'free' meal but when it came to ordering coffee and dessert we were informed that this was not included. We did not mind having to pay for that part ofthe meal but it was done in a very clumsy manner ie the waiter said he advised us not to have dessert and coffee. One further criticism: the standard rooms are quite nice but the carpets are stained and need replacing and the TV was exceptionally old. on the plus side the spa experience was quite exceptional and I had one of the best massages I have ever had.
I feel that overall there is much that this hotel is getting right and would certainly stay there again. I feel almost as if I should not write of the few negatives we experienced given their kindness over the very stressful episode but in the interests of objectivity and on the basis that most people do not have medical emergencies when staying I felt I needed to include these comments. But nevertheless do wish to thank all those involved during that difficult night we had.

Room Tip: If you are wanting something more room wise I suggest going for the deluxe and not the standard suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haywards_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Recently we stayed at the Vineyard Hotel. We found the staff very friendly and the rooms beautifully decorated. The services from the gym to the pool were fantastic. I hate large hotels but this really felt like a samll boutique hotel. .Watch out for their fantastic specials it's a must stay if you visit the Cape!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luketanner6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
395 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed at the Vineyard for four nights, arriving after a 12hr flight from the UK I was pleased to hear I had been upgraded to a ground level suite with a stunning view of the garden and mountains.

The room was very well appointed, complete with two TV's, one in the seated area at the bottom of the room and the usual one opposite the large bed.

Breakfast was good, nothin too fussy with excellent service, I did not eat diner at the hotel but was taken out on each evening.

The only slight downside was a very large conference group who were present during my stay, they seemed to 'swarm' into the bar each evening 'en masse' causing some kind of mayhem simply due to the volume of people present.

The pool and spa were both fantastic, I plan to visit the hotel again in October then again next Feb when it will be lovely and warm!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacmac00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Had visited the Vineyard Hotel and Spa over New Year 11'/12' with my family. We had 2 double rooms with mountain views, which when the weather was good were great. On first glance, the hotel looks very professional and gorgeous. We were welcomed in fornt of the hotel where a valet handled our car and the bellboy took care of our bags. But then it started...with a wit of around 30 minutes to be checked in. While we were waiting, I asked the concierge to book a car from the hotel to Cape town V&A (ca. 30 mins) who told me that this was not possible on NYE as the roads will be closed. Only after discussions with other members of staff and changing our plans 50 times, didi we decide toc all a cab which drove us into town, with a slight delay on the roads of maybe 5 minutes. One would think the concierge would knwo what happens on the roads outside the hotel.

We went into our rooms to find them very run down and old. There was a smell of moistness and smoke int he room, which we were todl was normal and we should turn on the A/C and it would go away. I ahve stayed in better rooms for far less moeny at a holiday inn!

Other than that the main restaurant has a ca. 30-45 min wait in the morning sofr breakfast as it only seats about 30 people (someone wasnt thinking obviously) althought the food was very good, with a large buffet slection. This cannot be said about the room ervice food....we ordered Spaghetti Bolognese, which is harder tog et wrong then correct but they managed to present easily one fo the worst eating experiences on that holiday.

The staff was generally helpfull and kind, although not always spot on. The setting of the hotel is very nice and deserves no complaints. the gardens are beautifull and kept very clean, although the pool area tends tog et very crowded on a sunny day but that is to be expected over NYE. the location of the hotel is also good if youre keen on exploring cape town and the wine areas of stellenbosch etc. as they can both be reached in 30-45 mins drive.

Overall, I dont think i would recommend nor stay in this hotel again if I go back to Cape town. I would rather stay in the variety of small boutique luxury hotels along camps bay, landudno beach etc. I expected more form a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seb06London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Property: Vineyard Hotel
Address: Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,060 - ₹ 28,992
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 207 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue - all set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to airport, city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel Newlands, Cape Town
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town
Vineyard Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing