We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food”

Mo-Zam-Bik Linksfield
Ranked #6 of 1,460 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A group of 6 of us visited Mozambik last night and I was honestly blown away. Our wonderful waitress Lerato took good care of us and made sure our drinks were full, our food was there and we were well looked after. At the same time our manager Frank checked in on us and made sure our night was perfect. The food was also incredible!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyB2873, Social Media Manager at Mo-Zam-Bik Linksfield, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Scott H

Thank you for your super 5 star review, we are so happy to hear that you had a fantastic evening with us from the food right though to the service. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2018

amazing food though there's room for improvement on the service. We sat for quite a while before our order was taken.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank evemafupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyB2873, Social Media Manager at Mo-Zam-Bik Linksfield, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Hi evemafupa

Thank you for your review and the feedback on the slow service. We are very happy to hear that your meal was delicious. We will definitely be ensuring the service is speedier from now as well

Thank you and kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Love the peri peri livers and chicken and the outside area and the staff amazing. Inside section just need a bit of warmth and ambience but we go for the food a lot

Thank shaunb7208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyB2873, Social Media Manager at Mo-Zam-Bik Linksfield, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Hi shaunb7208

Thank you so much for your 5 star review, we are very happy to hear that you always enjoy your food and receive great service while visiting us!

Thank you for the feedback on our inside dining area, we will most definitely look into it!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

we've been there a couple of times. The staff are amazing but the food wasn't great. I had prawns the first time and wasn't impressed and then I happened to be invited there again and then tried their chicken . Not great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank twiggy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyB2873, Social Media Manager at Mo-Zam-Bik Linksfield, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Hi twiggy555

Thank you for the review and your feedback, kindly send your contact details to vicky@mozambik.co.za we would like to give you a call regarding your experience

Thank you and kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Let me just say that I knew it was a waste of time when I tried to book the first time via e-mail because the website says you should book a day before and this was several days before...maybe over a week before, but we were planning a special trip to Johannesburg. You always hope, you see? So it was no surprise that nobody replied to my e-mail. I called to book a few days before the time again and spoke to a friendly guy who said our booking is made and I don't have to call in again. They would call us on the Saturday morning to confirm. Nobody did. I called around 4 that afternoon to confirm and they had our booking and confirmed it. Phew! We got hopelessly lost and I had to call your restaurant, confirm our reservation, ask for directions and try again. We called 10 minutes later and realized we were driving past your restaurant the whole time but it is so badly lit and surrounded by a parking area that we couldn't see it from the road. Right! In we go and there we are told that you have our booking but you don't have a table for us because there is a private function in one half of the restaurant and the only space available is if we go and sit outside. Nobody bothered to go and wipe a table down for us or set it for us, many tables open outside, not one of them set???!!! Really???!!! Even when we called for directions twice, nobody bothered to start making a plan for us???? I want to say....don't bother to plan anything special at Mozambik Linksfield, but they had a huge party there on the same evening, which totally contradicts that statement.
So after I asked the waitress to wipe down the table (because we were just left to sit there at the dirty dusty table outside)....at this point I might have appeared that I would be a handful for the remainder of the evening....a new waitress appeared....Busi who turned the evening around. Certainly nobody of any managerial distinction was alerted of booking mishap....nobody came to check on us or offer an apology....the staff that welcomed us obviously thought...."Meh!"

The food was amazing. We had your prawns with the cheesy grilled sauce over and the crispy warm Portuguese roll.....wow! My sister had an amazing steak and I had fishcakes. We shared a lovely creme caramel and had cappuccinos. It all was flawless.Busi's service was outstanding! Me and my sis usually have a fun evening together when we are settled down.

Throw your bookings book in the dustbin like Spur and be the casual steakhouse that you were born to be.....

There is a certain expectation created when an establishment takes reservations....and you're not it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vastiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyB2873, Social Media Manager at Mo-Zam-Bik Linksfield, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Hi vastiw

Thank you for the review and your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the huge mess that was your booking, the poor help while preparing you a table and finding our store experience, that is not acceptable at all. Rest assured, this matter will be dealt with, we have the booking option for our customers for piece of mind and forward planning and clearly it is not being managed at all.

We are happy to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your meal however and that Busi made your evening a happy one! I would like to request that you send your contact details to vicky@mozambik.co.za we would like to give you a call regarding your visit.

Thank you and kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mo-Zam-Bik Linksfield also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Mo-Zam-Bik Linksfield? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing