We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, bistro, grounds, etc”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Peech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Peech Hotel
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great staff, bistro, grounds, etc”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

This was our first stay when arriving to SA and it was great. The front desk helped us arrange a private tour of Soweto and Aparteid Museum which was outstanding--Thanks to Kirin who was our guide for the day. The meals at the bistro were very good also--the patio is nice to have a cocktail or bottle of wine at sundown. The hotel is located in a Residential area but is a quick ride to Melrose Arch. If you're looking for somewhere to stay where you can walk to shops, restaurants, Peech isn't what you want, you'd prefer African Pride in Melrose Arch. However, the quiet and quaint Peech grounds and nice size room was great for us. I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy, you may want a room upstairs, but we had one on ground level and enjoyed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyesmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I will be sure to share your comments with my team. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    106
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
96
282
39
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Peech for five days in March. The location is fantastic - close to Melrose Arch. The rooms circle the garden which is lush and peaceful. Our room (top/second floor) was simple but impeccably clean, spacious and with high ceilings. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also delicious. I'm thrilled that we stayed here instead of a concrete high rise. It was perfect for a relatively short stay, and would be an even more obvious choice if I had to stay longer. The Peech also arranged a fantastic tour of Joburg with Kearan, which made my time in Joburg so much richer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I will make sure the whole team read your comments. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We spent 2 weeks in South Africa, starting off with a wedding in Jo'Burg, where we stayed at the Peech Hotel. It is a cracking hotel - with very smart, comfortable apartment/bungalow rooms set in pretty grounds.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel just had a really lovely feel and atmosphere. The food was excellent and we had some lovely cocktails each night to either start an evening off, or as a night cap.

It was like an oasis in Jo'Burg and if/when I head back to S Africa, I would certainly include 2-3 days at the Peech Hotel. I receive occasional emails from the Peech Hotel with updates and events, and it brings a smile to my face remembering such a lovely few days.

Room Tip: We only saw our room - but the apartments all look very similar. It was very peaceful - so there wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve_lansdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thanks for the great comments. The team will be delighted! Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Always stay at the Peech Hotel on business - at least once a month. The staff is very friendly and the location of the hotel great for our needs.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms on the ground floor - lovely little patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The Peech is good for a stop-over or a two/three night mini-break. Breakfasts, waiters, bathrooms...good. Piped music, lack of atmosphere in dining room (candles would help), prawns...not good. Upstairs rooms are best though those not so sure-of-foot might find the steep iron steps a little worrying. Hadeda birds wake you very early...amusing the first time! There is an excellent cafe/bistro - Voodoo Lily Cafe - a safe two minute walk away, which is open all day (pecan tarts are amazing), plus a lovely art gallery, pharmacy, beauty salon. The park is beautiful if you need to stretch your legs as The Peech can feel rather claustrophobic. Access to Planet Fitness is easy.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room as far away from reception as possible. They feel more airy with a small ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. You raise some issues that I will look into - especially those about our bistro - the candles and prawn quality. The hadedas are unfortunately a feature of the joburg landscape - love them or hate them! Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.2 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.9 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.9 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
4.7 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.8 km away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#7 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peech Hotel

Property: The Peech Hotel
Address: 61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,886 - ₹ 17,925
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peech Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the suburb of Melrose, a short stroll from the hustle and bustle of the city, The Peech is an eco-chic boutique hotel with sixteen bedrooms spread across a lush garden and a bistro restaurant. The hotel blends an awareness for the environment and the community with chic surroundings, fresh food and smart design. It has been described as "Contemporary, edgy and Afrocentric" by Conde Nast Traveller and nominated as South Africa's Leading Boutique Hotel for the last five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peech Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing