We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner”
Review of Quills

Quills
Ranked #9 of 1,461 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Fantastic service throughout our dinner. We had the tuna and the caprese as starters which were both fantastic. We then both had the beef fillet which was very good but not 5 stars... the cut of the beef was quite thin and we got to cuts each instead of one thick cut each (also didn't get the medium rare right was more medium well...). So all in all 4.5 stars for me but due to the great service I gave them 5.

1  Thank olivervr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Quills, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

ear Oliver v,

Thank you for your most recent review and for the constructiove feedback on our service and some of the dishes offered n our menu. These comments have been note with the chef who will ensure that we rectify our shortfall to offer the best we can on our menu.
We are delighted that despite the taste on some of the dishes, you were satitisfied with the service and the menu option as a whole package at our Quills restaurant.

We look forward to see you again in a not too distant future.

thank you,
Kind regard
Sibo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2016

This restaurant was very good and pretty good service. DO NOT expect American service, you are now in South Africa. We noticed that is moves at a different speed. Similar to Europe where they leave you alone and sitting at a table for 3 - 4 hours is not unexpected. BUT you may have to get people's attention in SA. They have a nice wine list and the food was fresh and well prepared. I got the chicken livers and a roasted veggie salad. We also had breakfast here and they had a great buffet spread.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tigerlilykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Quills, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear tigerlilykelly,

Thank you for your great review on our service and meal offering, I am glad that you enjoyed your time at Quills and we hope to see you again soon.

thank you,

Kind regards,

Sibo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

This restaurant is located in the ground floor of the Intercontinental Hotel at Johannesburg International Airport. I am always pleasantly surprised at the high qualty of food, service and staff. Recommended.

2  Thank Denis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, General Manager at Quills, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Dear Iconicdestinations

Thank you for your review on Quills restaurant. We are pleased that we have always tried to maintain the good quality in our food complemented by our service.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Quills in the near future.

thank you,


Kind regards,

Sibo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We had a very nice dinner after a very long 16+ hour flight. The service was great, the staff very friendly, and the food was very good and we had a very nice bottle of Red Wine. I would recommend this place to anyone. The next morning, the same restaurant served a very nice breakfast buffet. Depending on how you book your room, rate wise, some booking rates include breakfast.

2  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Quills, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Dear Charles M

Thank you for your great review on your meal experience at Quills restaurant. We are delinghted to have managed to serve you great food accompanied by a fantastic service by our team. We do hope to welcome you back to Quills on your next visit to the Country.
We hope you had a safe onward journey.

Thank you,

Kind regards,

Sibo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Wonderfully friendly staff.... Amazing breakfast - both hot and continental.... The chicken curry for dinner was equally delicious.
If you're at the hotel... def a good place to grab dinner and breakfast.

2  Thank ClemsonTiger1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Quills, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Dear ClemensonTiger1996

Thank you for your great review on your experience at our Quills restaurant. I am delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast spread and our new chicken curry.

We look forward to welcome you back at Quills in the near future.

Thank you,

Kind regards,

Sibo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quills also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Quills? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing