We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
James Hall Museum of Transport
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience James Hall Museum of Transport
from US$ 15.70
More Info
from US$ 17.80
More Info
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
13
33
13
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
33
13
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse drawn vintage cars fire engine trolley buses run by volunteers double decker buses amazing collection red bus worth a visit city tour donation enthusiasts motor model display tractor exhibits
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

If you are interested in transport then then you’ll enjoy this museum. The exhibits are not restored but in very original condition and there is a good selection of cars, bike, buses and agricultural machinery from around the world. There is some quite unusual and rare stuff there - I even found a Sunbeam S7 motorcycle very similar to the one I own.

Thank Freedom14572334327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Dont expect a "flashy" European Motor Museums but its a veritable treasure trove of old horse drawn carriages, cars, trolley buses , motor buses , fire engines , and associated paraphernalia
Gave us new insight into South Africa's transport through the ages.
For instance never realised we had "wild west" stage coaches in operation in the late 1800's.

Run by volunteers entrance is free! So please make a donation. Even if its only so they can afford a pen to write comments in the comment book!

Thank Kevan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very little known, this place offers amazing examples of bygone methods of transport, from cars and trains to horse-drawn carriages, great experience for engineering aficionados

Thank KenH2549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We made our way here as one of the stops on a bachelors as he is an avid classic car fan, as am I (but not to the same extent as he is). The place is quite out of the way from most attractions so it definitely is a place you choose to see as opposed to popping by on the spur of the moment. The layout of the place tries to keep things chronological starting from horse drawn vehicles through to cars through various decades and the last hall having buses and trams. There is little be seen in the effort of the actual presentation and storage of the vehicles aside from basically using the halls as a warehouse of these vehicles and it could have added to the enjoyment if the vehicles were surrounded by theme appropriate decorations and such. A few gems can be found but you have to view them at arms length as you may not take a look inside most of the vehicles. Also I was left wondering on a few occasions why some of the cars haven't been repaired in terms of the few dings and scratches I've seen. All in all it was worthwhile to have seen once but I probably won't make the effort to see again.

Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

We try to do the ‘tourist in your own city’ thing on long weekends. Have driven past many times. Finally went in today. Looks like a bit of a throwback to the 70’s but what a pleasure. The staff is friendly and helpful. The exhibits better than expected. The ingenuity of the pre-microchip age fascinating. Look out for the ambulance for working horses, used up to the 1960’s

Thank Jacques W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

The museum has some really good displays and it was wonderful to see them. Entrance is free and the place seems to run on donations. The sad part is that the museum is not properly maintained. Upstairs all the display cases had dust on them and the seat cushions had split with stuffing coming out. The indoor car displays were good with most of the vehicles still in running condition. Fire engine displays were well laid out and it was good to see the trams and busses. The vehicles in the sheds outside were unfortunately being left to the elements. What really annoyed me was the fact that people left their empty food packets and drink tins inside 2 of the busses.

Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

If you are at all interested in transport of the history of transport then this excellent museum is worth a visit, Take the Red tourist bus tour and allow an hour ... A good collection of trans and cars - and a couple of steam locos out the back I think.
Free - just make a donation.

1  Thank StevieCCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

My wife found this museum after a Google search..we wanted to take our 3 year old vehicle enthusiast to someplace other than a park or the zoo. We took a chance on this place especially since its located in a not so happening part of town but our gamble paid off !

The museum does not charge an entry fee but they work on donations. Keeping that in mind, the exhibits are in excellent condition and there is a lot of variety. Our son was thrilled to see all the vintage fire engines, cars, trams, double decker buses, trucks, bicycles, motorcycles, tractors, steam engines, locomotives carriages and an early model Otis elevator ! They also have a double decker bus that you can enter and explore. My boy had a whale of a time exploring the bus to his heart's content !

It was not very busy when we visited and we were there for 2 hours simply because our son couldn't get enough of the place ! The premises are neat,tidy, well lit and airy but basic. It is well covered so you can explore the place in comfort irrespective of the weather outside. The staff is friendly.

The museum is a stop on the Johannesburg red bus city tour but not a lot of people choose to get off which is a shame. The museum is open from 9.30 am - 4.30 pm.

I would highly recommend a visit to the museum and while you're there, do make a kind donation so that the good folks at the museum can maintain their amazing collection !

Thank Love_Beaches007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

Lots of vintage cars, bicycles, motorbikes, trams, buses, fire engines, carriages. Well laid out with plenty of walking space. Although some is up some stairs, those who are physically disabled could still see plenty of the museum without going up stairs. Ground floor areas are wheel chair friendly.It is a free museum, one of the stops on the hop on/off bus. Have a camera! My friend and I toured the museum in under an hour at a leisurely walking pace.

Thank HelenChristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Wasn't aware of the museum until passing it on the Hop on/Hop off bus and stopped on our second day. It was one man's collection and contains types of transport including a london bus. It's run by volunteers and they were extremely helpful and very passionate about what they do. Worth a visit.

1  Thank amanda2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews