We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Met Our Needs for a Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Met Our Needs for a Short Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two weekend nights on our return from Victoria Falls as we wanted to explore the city before going to Kruger. The main attraction is that one can access Rosebank Shopping Centre for restaurants, drinks and lunch supplies easily. The room was very modern and we liked the lighting, with adjustable night lights for reading. Pillow choice was new to us and appreciated. Great flat-screen TV, too! We did not take the breakfast buffet as it was much cheaper to eat in the mall. The staff were very helpful and friendly. When our friends did not like being assigned a room overlooking the mall roof, they were immediately moved to a street-side room. The free Wi-Fi was also a reason that we selected this hotel. It was easy for our pick ups for tours at the front door of the property. We wish that we could have stayed longer both at the hotel and in Johannesburg..

Room Tip: The rooms on the street side have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadakate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Many thanks for your wonderful review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. It was pleasing to note that you found all our services useful and convenieint. Our location is one of the features that many of our coproprate and leisure guests mention as their primary reason for staying in our hotel. The access to The Zone shopping centre is well used by our guests as it is private and available for 24 hours per day. Access to the Gautrain Station is also convenient with access within close walking distance of our hotel. The WIFI offering is also an added bonus for uor guests.
We do hope we can be of service to you in future and we look forward to your future visits.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    178
    50
    12
    11
See reviews for
36
69
30
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The good points: this hotel is in an excellent location, just minutes from the Gautrain which we got from OR Tambo airport. It is by two large malls which have a good range of shops, restaurants and a great African market so a good place to stay in Joburg in order to see things. The room was clean and a good size for a city centre hotel. There is nice seating around the pool. The door staff downstairs were very helpful.
The negatives: at 7.45am on a Sunday morning, the housekeeping staff went along our corridor opening and letting slam shut every room door which disturbed my sleep after a long flight. It was not made clear by staff when checking in that our reservation did not include breakfast. The TV reception was intermittent (and not just when it was stormy). The pool is tiny.
Overall it felt more like a business hotel than somewhere to stay on holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel and I was pleased to note that you found our location favourable and that our team was helpful during your stay. My sincere apologies that you experienced some noise on Sunday morning and this matter has already been addressed with the person concerned so that this does not occur in the future. Our hotel generally caters to the corporate market with Johannesburg being the commercial city of South Africa, although some our guests do stop off for a night stay en route to leisure destinations.
We do hope we can be of service to you in the future and look forward to welcoming you bac t ouor hotel.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
Geberal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Location is pretty good, in a quiet area and adjacent to a shopping mall.
I couldn't help feeling that the building felt like a loft conversation - reception merges into the bar, which in turn merges into the restaurant and business section.
In truth it is a rather bland experience with nothing too bad but nothing to recommend either. Reception staff are ok but I found the restaurant staff (particularly at breakfast) pretty indifferent and made not effort to interact with guests. To be fair, the evening staff were a big improvement.
Food was average throughout my stay.
Rooms were clean and practical.
Overall, nothing to get too excited about - it's just a functional hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sprayco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for the review of our hotel during your recent stay. I was pleased to note that overall you found our hotel acceptable and your commendations regarding our team and location are well noted. My sincere apologies for the inadequate interaction with our breakfast team, which we will be adressing immediately.
We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Excellent location and very reasonably priced compared to other 4* hotels in the area. The Gautrain from OR Tambo International Airport stops just outside the hotel (around 30 minutes travel time including one change of train, cost approx. £10 single fare per person). Hotel is adjacent to a large shopping mall with many shops and restaurants. A lift from the hotel takes you straight down to the mall. The hotel appears to be new and has an outside pool area with a few loungers and also a gym. Good breakfast and helpful Reception staff. We only stayed one night on our return journey but wish we could have stayed a further night. We booked a half day Soweto Tour direct through a local company but the hotel can arrange tours on your behalf. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShiresUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Grateful thanks for your very positive review of our hotel during your recent stay. Location and the proximity to many convenient shopping and tourist related opportunities is what our guests find most appealing about our hotel. The convenience of The Gautrain for International and domestic visitors is a drawcard in a very busy city with traffic. Thank you also for the great compliment about our team and facilities.
We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel but were very disappointed. It has a wonderful location, no doubt about it. But other than that we could find something wrong with almost everything. The breakfast was very average, considering the reputation of Holiday inn. The rooms were nice but the bathroom was very impractical. The cleaners were reluctant to replace shampoos/bath wash and the moisturiser was almost impossible to squeeze out of the container. The beds were made in two instalments and the carpets were not vacuumed everyday. Our stay was pleasant but for very unrelated and different reasons.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Needysingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel duing your recent stay. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations in some of the aspects of your stay and I can assure you that immedaite remedial action has already been taken to remedy the areas of disappointment.
I was please to note that you found our location favourable and I do hope that we can improve on the areas that require attention during your next stay with us.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
2.7 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
0.3 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
#32 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
5.6 km away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Property: Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Address: Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#20 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#21 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,677 - ₹ 13,030
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the stylish Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank hotel in the heart of commercial Rosebank and next to the city's top malls. You can't miss the contemporary, grey-striped facade of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, next to the futuristic Zone shopping centre. Relax on our sunny pool deck when you arrive from O.R. Tambo International Airport, 25 km away. It's easy to get to meetings in the surrounding Rosebank business suburb and in downtown Johannesburg, which is a 15-minute taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing