We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice chic vibey hotel!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice chic vibey hotel!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I spent one night with my husband at this hotel. When we arrived we were greeted by professional and friendly staff. The decor is modern, chic and beautiful. It was a bit chilly as winter is setting in, we were offered hot chocolate while we waited for our check in forms. A friendly genetleman escorted us to our room, which was very clean and tastefully decorated. The bed is nice and big (king size), towels provided and tea making stuff. We went downstairs to the restuarant and bar area to have some lunch. The food is good and and their milkshakes are a must have!!
We came back to the restuarant aread in teh evening and the vibe was completely different. It was buzzing as they have a local dj playing some good dance music until very late. It was a bit chilly outside, they had heaters and a fire on the patio deck to warm us up.From our side of the room, the loud music was not an issue as we did not hear it. We were in room 350.
We enjoyed the house beats, ordered dinner and had some drinks. We headed back to our room just before midnight.
Breakfast is a buffet with anything you can think of, from cakes to biscuits to cereals the options are endless and they serve a good cup of cappuccino;-)
The hotel also has free Wifi - 150 Mb to use.
Location is great, very central if you are visiting Johannesburg. The hotel is in a Mall, Melrose Arch with lots of restuarants around to chose from and other stores.
I will be staying at this hotel again.
The only negative thing i have to say is that they charge you for parking. You pay a hotel rate of R50 over weekends or the Mall flat rate of R8 over weekends.

Room Tip: If you stay over the weekend and you do not want any noise, ssk for rooms that do not face the restu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nols76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesireBotha, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Nols76

Thank you for posting your great comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

It is really rewarding to receive such high praise from ambassadors such as yourself who will always be appreciative of the energy and passion our TEAM have dedicated towards their work. We are absolutely thrilled to be commending our TEAM for a job well done as your kind words make all the effort worthwhile.

As you aware, we have been hosting DJ evenings and we were very pleased that you enjoyed the beats that were played. The buzzing vibe is most definitely addictive and we hope to be seeing you soon again to soak up the uber cool vibes.

Being part of a precinct environment, the parking for our hotel GUESTS is owned by Melrose Arch and unfortunately the pricing is a pre-determined rate which is the same from Monday-Sunday. Thank you for highlighting your concern and we will definitely encourage our GUESTS to use this facility over the weekend.

It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back so that you can enjoy our hospitality to its best

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    394
    112
    48
    42
See reviews for
81
234
54
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

the hotel is really nice and the area is very well secured a protected.
an ideal location is you do not want to go out at night for partying... has a small bar with good burgers and beer.

area is safe for evening walks where there are a goo dnumeb of restuarants.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadz1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesireBotha, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear shadz1976

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

We were most pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and that the great location and security was a complementing element. As you might be aware, Protea Hotels prides itself in delivering the best GUEST service and strives to get the basics right consistently and for that reason I would like to thank you for your kind words.

It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back so that you can enjoy our hospitality to its best.

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hotel was recommended by a friend who lives near by in this beautiful Johannesburg suburb. It is new, modern and in line with the "W" hotel chain of Starwood. We were annoyed as the telephones were out as was the wifi running in & out - mostly out. The rate included a Great(!) buffet breakfast which made up for a few "just missed" issues. We flew in from Botswana after a week of safari and took showers before going to dinner at our friends. When leaving I asked for turn down service and was told "Each room is only serviced once a day" - Huh, Really!?! Is that your final answer!?! I asked to change some Rand for smaller bills and they couldn't accommodate a reasonable amount. The service employees are pleasant and smile but not in control and do not go above and beyond to make a customer happy. They are in desperate need of good Hotel School training like the famous one mentioned in the title.

Next time I'll try a different property in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nesorttocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesireBotha, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Nesorttocs

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate that you have provided us with an in depth outline as to what transpired during your recent stay with us.

As you might be aware, The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch is not officially graded as a four or five star property and therefore it is not required to facilitate an evening turndown service; however we are able to and should have obliged to fulfil this service when requested.

Please accept our sincerest apologies that we were not able to assist with change as this was a reasonable request. Only for security reasons, the hotel does not keep large sums of money. We can assure you that this concern highlighted has been addressed.

We value your patronage and we assure you that your experience in no way represents the standard we're constantly striving to achieve and therefore assisting us in continually improving our standards. That is why Protea Hotels is in a continuous process of improving skills development as we know that such issues are not always solved overnight; however we are very positive that with our continuous training and the mentoring structure that we have in place, this will only yield great results.

Our TEAM is as committed as ever to provide each GUEST with a most memorable and magnificent Protea Hotel’s service experience, therefore we want to thank you so much for taking the time to address these concerns with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights on business and was very impressed. Room is large, tastefully decorated, flat screen TV, TV guide provided, clean. 150Mb free WiFi is provided. There is also a wall socket which can hold international plugs. Service from arrival to check out was good. Staff friendly throughout and the food in the restaurant very good. I seldom award top marks but this hotel certainly deserves it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZARDelft_Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesireBotha, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear ZARdelft_Netherlands

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

It really is so rewarding to receive such an exemplary review regarding your impressive stay with us. We are really pleased that we could make your stay a great one. One of our Protea Principles, “In Search of Excellence” appears to be very fitting at this moment and that is why GUEST feedback is so important to us so that we may ensure we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS expectations. Your comments are much appreciated and truly invaluable to us and it will be a true pleasure to convey to the TEAM who made it all possible.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back so that you can enjoy our hospitality to its best

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Everything is done Hollywood style with luxurious finishes. Something different and a definate romantic getaway. On entering the room we found rose leaves leading your way to the bed and a cold bottle of champagne on ice welcomed us! What can I say more........WOW!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquesdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesireBotha, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Jdip76

Thank you for your words of appreciation posted on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch. Your comments are truly invaluable to us.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and that we made your romantic getaway a memorable one. As for the champagne on ice, exceeding GUEST expectations is definitely among many of our fortes and we are glad that it added value to your stay.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back so that we can continue delivering the service you so rightfully deserve.

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
3.7 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
3.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.8 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
3.6 km away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Property: Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#21 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,997 - ₹ 14,081
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic 'out-of-office' experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it's too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing