We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
833 results
Traveller rating
259
303
182
49
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
303
182
49
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews conference venue conference facilities reception area the grill east rand mall hourly shuttle enjoyed my stay or tambo international airport close to the airport every hour rooms are spacious excellent service shopping mall shuttle service keep up the good work friends and family home away from home
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 833 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were put up in this hotel unexpectedly due to flight cancellation, they took us from airport, quick check in, arrived in room, huge room, slightly odd, nice bathroom.
Went to the grill restaurant for super, very expensive and disappointing, only really three options for mains, pasta, chicken or steak , we chose steak , I asked for well done, it arrived, totally raw, blood all over, sent it back, again it returns raw, again sent back and unbelievably again returned with blood inside, I gave up, the only thing that you get with the steak was either a vegetable or a starch, and by that I mean 1... I chose chips, they are served in a tiny ramekin.. so that was my only super , the Chips, they still had the cheek to charge full price for that farce...
Restaurant manager rude, in fact very rude, we almost left on ordering,
Booked wake up call for 5 am never happened they forgot... however did really like the packed breakfast pack they give to early departures.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank dcummi193995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear dcummi193995,

Thank you for your feedback - and firstly, please accept our sincerest apologies for your disappointment and frustration experienced at The Grill, as well as the lack of wake-up call, after requesting it. These issues will be addressed with the relevant personnel, and the necessary actions taken. This is below our standard and hence once again apologise. We hope that this will not deter you from returning to us .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I experienced an excellent and pleasant stay at Birchwood Hotel Johannesburg. The OR Tambo airport shuttle was on time and comfortable. The hotel staff was helpful and kind. I recommend the nice breakfast .

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Curious36548002033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Curious36548002033,

Thank you for your rating and review, and while it is exceptionally pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your time spent with us, including the staff and breakfast, we have noted the rating of 4/5. This indicates that potentially, there was an area of your experience that you felt could have been better. You are invited to inform me by emailing gregh@birchwoodhotel.co.za. We hope to hear from you as we value the feedback, as well as look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018

After a mess up with Agoda and another hotel we were refered to Birchwood.What a pleasure to deal with your staff, friendly, polite and efficient.Can't wait for our next visit there, now we have another reason to visit Johannesburg.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stay50613497844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Stay50613497844,

We were certainly very pleased to accommodate you in your time of crisis and are incredibly happy that your standard experienced, met your approval and exceeded expectations. We too looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018

The function was not set up at expected. The flowers used was of a very poor quality and the hall was not completed as requested. The personnel was friendly but you had to speak to different people every time that you wanted something to be done. There should be one function co-ordinator who can assist you with everything but even that was a problem.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank izaks2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear izaks2016,

We would like to express our apologies for the lack of service delivery, and inefficiency experienced during your time spent with us. We naturally, understand how one would be frustrated when arriving at the venue and not having it set-up to specifications, and incomplete. Further, to have to speak to too many individuals for one task, is also not acceptable. We will certainly address this internally, and would like to assure you that this is not our standard. We further, hope that this will not deter you from future stays with us, whereby, we'd like to show you our true standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

Outstanding service and facilities. We were treated with a high level of service from reception, catering and especially the shuttle on site staff. The range of eateries close by made dining easy and catered for all sorts of tastes.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carl774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear carl774,

Thank you for your feedback!

We were incredibly proud to host you during the PURCO event last week, and we are very pleased that your experience met your approval. We naturally, hope that this means that we can welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews