We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (828)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
259
302
180
48
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
302
180
48
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews conference venue conference facilities reception area the grill east rand mall hourly shuttle or tambo international airport enjoyed my stay close to the airport every hour rooms are spacious excellent service shopping mall shuttle service keep up the good work friends and family home away from home
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 829 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a mess up with Agoda and another hotel we were refered to Birchwood.What a pleasure to deal with your staff, friendly, polite and efficient.Can't wait for our next visit there, now we have another reason to visit Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: November 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stay50613497844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Stay50613497844,

We were certainly very pleased to accommodate you in your time of crisis and are incredibly happy that your standard experienced, met your approval and exceeded expectations. We too looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The function was not set up at expected. The flowers used was of a very poor quality and the hall was not completed as requested. The personnel was friendly but you had to speak to different people every time that you wanted something to be done. There should be one function co-ordinator who can assist you with everything but even that was a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank izaks2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear izaks2016,

We would like to express our apologies for the lack of service delivery, and inefficiency experienced during your time spent with us. We naturally, understand how one would be frustrated when arriving at the venue and not having it set-up to specifications, and incomplete. Further, to have to speak to too many individuals for one task, is also not acceptable. We will certainly address this internally, and would like to assure you that this is not our standard. We further, hope that this will not deter you from future stays with us, whereby, we'd like to show you our true standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

Outstanding service and facilities. We were treated with a high level of service from reception, catering and especially the shuttle on site staff. The range of eateries close by made dining easy and catered for all sorts of tastes.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carl774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear carl774,

Thank you for your feedback!

We were incredibly proud to host you during the PURCO event last week, and we are very pleased that your experience met your approval. We naturally, hope that this means that we can welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

The shuttle service to and from OR Tambo was very convenient and was right on time according to schedule. Rooms are spacious, neat and clean but bathrooms outdated. Food during workshop was average but provided a good variety. Conference venue was of high standard and the availability of coffee machines during tea breaks, saved a lot of time for conference attendees who did not have to queue for coffee/tea.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eleanorvdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Dear Eleanorvdw,

Thank you for your feedback! It's great to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary shuttle service, as well as your accommodation room. We have noted the comment regarding the bathroom, and continue to renovate and improve our facilities and rooms. We are sorry to hear that you felt that the food during your conference was 'average'. We'd like to invite you to elaborate on the disappointment by emailing me on gregh@birchwoodhotel.co.za. Kindly inform as to the venue used, and date of use. We apologise for the lack of quality experienced and appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

Generally my stay was satisfactory. Reception and services were excellent. There is one area that I would like to request that the management addresses and this is in the restaurant. You mainly serve buffet, however, I felt that it was not fair for a strict vegetarian to bare the full cost of a buffet when only served with a plate vegetables. Arrangement should be done only to charge what has been consumed if the customer is not for buffet.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank akweyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear akweyun,

Thank you for your feedback, and while we are pleased that your stay with us was positive, we have noted your comments regarding the buffet. Naturally, we strive to be as all-inclusive and accommodating as possible, and we appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. We express our apologies for your lack of enjoyment at the dining venue due to this reason and would be happy to recommend one of our a la carte restaurants such as BC Café, Hotspot Bar or The Grill at OneTwenty to enjoy upon your return. We hope that this experience will not deter you from future stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews