We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (831)
Filter reviews
832 results
Traveller rating
259
303
182
48
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
303
182
48
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews conference venue conference facilities reception area the grill east rand mall hourly shuttle or tambo international airport enjoyed my stay close to the airport every hour rooms are spacious excellent service shopping mall shuttle service keep up the good work friends and family home away from home
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 832 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017

From whichever part of the world you are coming from, Landing at O.R Tambo; this is the closest Hotel with several Conference halls.
Complementary shuttle to-n- fro the Airport and Eastrand mall.
Great service too.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tulumbe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Tulumbe C,

Thank you for the rating and the comments made - glad to hear that you found us to be convenient to your requirements and approve of our location as well as service levels and free shuttle services. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

the room was spacious, the bed was big and nice. the hotel was very close to the airport so it was convenient to catch my flight. the shuttle to the mall is a good idea and a safer way for clients to go to the shops. however the tv is quite far from the bed hence difficult to watch programmes properly. the wifi data finished too soon and was not always efficient.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank susantracym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear susantracym,

Thank you for the feedback received - and we are happy that you managed to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service from OR Tambo and the East Rand Mall.

Regarding the WiFi - we certainly apologise for any frustrations caused and would like to inform that we are currently in the process of upgrading our service and will be installing a new, faster and more efficient WiFi service which we hope to welcome you back to experience for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

To be able to stay so close to a conference venue is always great! The conference venue is beautiful and the catering was amazing! Friendly staff that went out of their way to assist! Reception staff at the hotel is very helpful and very friendly!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nadine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Nadine K,

Thank you for your comments made as well as the rating received -

That being said however, we have noted that your stay was clearly a positive one, however, we only received a score of 3/5 hence if there are any aspects that perhaps, did not meet your expectations, we invite you to inform us by emailing me directly on gregh@birchwoodhotel.co.za. We hope to hear from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

I had a good stay room was nice clean and bathroom was good. Wi-Fi was not working the first 3 days also the TV was not working and maintenance could not help me with it. supper was bit boring as it was the same mostly every night

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ceciliaj242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear ceciliaj242,

Thank you very much for the feedback regarding your experience with us - and we do apologise for the frustrations encountered in terms of the WiFi, and television problems, as well as the lack of variety felt with regard to dinner.

We would like to inform however, that we are currently in the process of upgrading our WiFi service to ensure a more reliable, efficient and fast service for every guest to experience.

The issue regarding the repairing of the television was largely due to an outage in the area which affected many devices in the accommodation rooms however, we do hope that this will not deter you from future stays with us - as the incident was isolated and down to unforeseen circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

The service was very excellent. We got value for our money. All the staff members were very welcoming and conducted themselves with a great degree of professionalism. Such a very great experience and i will greatly recommend this place to others as well.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 233albertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear 233albertz,

The recommendations are appreciated! We are so pleased that you felt the sense of value-for-money that we aim our guests to have during their time with us.

We do look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews