We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
240
68
17
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
68
17
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private boma picnic basket self catering fish eagles the cottages spent one night enjoyed our stay short drive a wonderful stay william dams accommodation port tranquility braai maitland honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Myself and my Girlfriend stayed for the night, we were so looked after with friendly professional service!! Our picnic was the best we've had in our lives and the lodges were warm and cozy! We will be back soon!!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank keegan2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calkyva, Owner at Thunzi Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you Keegan for writing a review about Thunzi Bush Lodge. Our staff do their best to make you feel welcome and at home so I am so pleased to read that you did! Our picnics are very popular for their private locations and freshness so it's great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your picnic and that the food was "the best!" We look forward to welcoming you back to Thunzi in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Had a overnight get away with my husband and it was a great experience. Great relaxing atmosphere with lovely cabin and facilities. Will definately recommend and do another weekend trip in the summer.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nessabarnard1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calkyva, Owner at Thunzi Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

So pleased to hear that you had a great experience at Thunzi Bush Lodge and enjoyed all the facilities on offer. Our cabins are lovely and cosy in winter but a summer stay is always something special with all the extra bird life and balmy summer evenings around the boma fire. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

This is such a lovely place to stay at, with beautiful scenery, nature walks, peace & tranquility, and close to Maitlands beach too. The Kingfisher chalet was really lovely & comfortable, and very well equipped.This is truly value for money. Wifi not available in the chalet, but there is Wifi at reception, if needed. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MandyKirkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calkyva, Owner at Thunzi Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you Mandy for your kind review. It is always lovely to know that our guests enjoyed their stay and all the facilities that Thunzi Bush Lodge has to offer.
We are looking at offering WIFI in the chalets in the near future but do offer free WIFI at reception.
We hope to welcome you to Thunzi in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We had a lovely overnight stay at Thunzi Bush Lodge! Even though it was cold outside, our cottage was warm and cozy and we could take refreshing walks to take in the surrounding beauty. Waking up to birdsong and being amongst the trees was the cherry on top!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ShaniTerblanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calkyva, Owner at Thunzi Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for your review about Thunzi Bush Lodge. We try and make the chalets as comfy and cosy as possible so we are so pleased that you enjoyed it. The surroundings are really something special and the even though it is winter we still have birds singing a happy tune!
We hope to see you back soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Very nice place the Kingfisher unit. We had a wonderfull and peacefull stay, still need to do the Babaans walk though. Would have loved to have a big Boma infont of the unit as it has such beatifull view (maybe a thought to do). Unit is modern, but still got that bush feel to it which was great. Thankyou for the picnic basket it was delicious with such quality products. The best way to always put it is, no words can justify the place you stay only to do it and then give word out of you memories.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vivian230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calkyva, Owner at Thunzi Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Vivian

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Thunzi Bush Lodge. We are always eager to hear about our guests stay.

The Kingfisher Chalet has two braai areas, one in the front with a view of the forest and one at the back of the unit, boma style, this one is mainly used for windy days/evenings hence the latta wall around it. If you'd prefer a boma feel with a view then the Nguni and Hornbill chalets will suit you nicely.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your picnic and the quality ingredients provided.

Babaans walk is a must do so we hope to see you back sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews